Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good but needs to update breakfast.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very good but needs to update breakfast. We really liked the hotel, staff and location. Not to fancy but well worth the cost. The only disappointment was the continual breakfast. Nothing hot except the toaster. No soy or almond milk. The whole set up the like it was from the 1990s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, quiet hotel in convenient location.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The staff could not have been more kind or helpful. The hotel was wonderfully clean'
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel choice for midtown east

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Cons: Valet parking
This is good hotel choice, especially if you can get a good rate compared to others in the area. Nothing spectacular, but it's clean and comfortable. There is a nice wine bar restaurant next door (you can enter right from the hotel lobby) that has a great breakfast. Parking is a little inconvenient; there was no valet so you had to park a couple of blocks away in a certain garage. The hotel validates the ticket when you check out so you can get a better rate that the garage's posted rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Upgrade room was very nice. Hotel very good, except, a bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: central, spacious rooms (surprising for NYC apparently), friendly and helpful staff, good value, personal approach Cons: as much as you can complain about a free breakfast - very sugar heavy for first thing in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Pleasant and quiet
The staff and amenities were wonderful. We spent a great 3 days enjoying NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very,very nice.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Cons: Breakfast is free, but just OK. A restaurant is attached and McDonald's is nearby.
Got a suite, which was easily the largest hotel "room" I have ever stayed in NYC. Lots of amenities such as a refrigerator and wet bar. Nice gift at check-in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice hotel - convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient, great staff, clean.
Location: We found the location to be very convenient - short walk to Rockefeller Center and surrounding area.
We totally enjoyed our stay at San Carlos. The staff was so friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay nice. The room was nice and very quiet with no hall or adjoining room noise, and housekeeping did a great job. Very pleasant experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Location, location and comfort.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location, size--not too big, staff, housekeeping, size of rooms and amenities.
Cons: Two doors away there is a major construction project which starts up early. Check to see what the status is, or ask for a quiet room.
Location: Grand Central station, MOMA, Chrysler Building, NY Public library at 42nd St., Macy's Thanksgiving parade, Fifth Ave. shops, great architecture, etc.
My husband and I have stayed here, and written reviews, several or more times. We used to live in NYC so when we come to visit we like to stay here. It is walking distance to museums, great shopping, fine and many restaurants, and only a block and a half from the Lex.Ave. (6) subway line which will take you anyplace else you want to go. The staff is friendly and helpful at every turn. We book the exec. suite or one bedroom so our 20-something son can stay with us if it works out. These rooms come with small eating area and kitchenette, perfect for takeout dining or polishing off those doggy bags. These are large hotel rooms by NY standards, including the bathroom. The rooms and public spaces are always perfectly kept. All this and breakfast too! Continental breakfast in the room off the lobby is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Room was surprisingly small, everything else good

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Room was very, very small.
I was expecting a decent-sized room given all the online reviews that I read before booking. Surprisingly, our one-queen-bed room (for two guests) was very small, much smaller than an average queen room we would get based on our extensive travel experience in the past. I should have measured the room, but my guess is that it's about 150 sq ft, not including the bathroom and the entry area. I really don't understand what happened given all the reviews about their big rooms. Were there just a few very small rooms and we happened to get one? The price we paid (booked through expedia) indicated that the room should be 350 sq ft. If this includes all the bathroom space and entry area space, I wouldn't call this room "big" or "roomy", If this doesn't include the bathroom space, etc., I need to contact the hotel and figure out whether I was over-charged. Other than this, everything else was fine. The hotel is at a very convenient location and well appointed. The staff was very friendly.