Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Convenient hotel in central Times Square location.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, friendly staff, fast Wi-Fi.
Cons: Fix AC in room 212, sound proofing to reduce road noise and noise from restaurant, include hot foods in breakfast for free.
Location: 47th between 6th and 7th means everything is walkable (Central Park, Broadway, 5th avenue), and subway to wherever you need to go is walkable as well
Our stay at the Sanctuary Hotel was decided because of it's central location in Times Square, making it walkable to everywhere that we wanted to go, as well as it's reasonable price. Our stay was for our 9th anniversary, and upon check-in and mentioning this, we were immediately upgraded to a Deluxe Queen room which was very kind. Our room was on the 2nd floor however, immediately above Tender restaurant, and the speakers from the restaurant could be heard so loudly in our room that we had to call the front desk and ask them to lower the volume, which improved things slightly. In addition, the AC in our room made an extremely loud buzzing noise which was tolerable so that we didn't complain about it, but really shouldn't have been something we needed to tolerate from a 4 star hotel. Because of noise from the restaurant, AC noise, and general road noise from being so close to ground level, I'd recommend requesting a room on either the 4th floor or 5th floor, as floors above the 5th floor are subject to noise from the roof level restaurant Haven, which plays club music. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. A concierge is available to set up trips for you, though we didn't utilize them. The complimentary breakfast doesn't include hot food such as omelets or waffles, which you have to pay additional for. Also, there is no pool or gym on site, which was disappointing. Overall a slightly less than 4 star experience from a "4 star" hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Amazing staff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Amazing staff good location big rooms. Would stay again Couldn't get any better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

A recommander

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Localisation, personnel
Cons: Climatisation bruyante, l'absence de fenêtre n'est pas un réel handicap
Location: Quartier des théâtres' central parc accessible a pied, Metro très proche.
Très bonne localisation, à deux pas de Broadway, personnel très accueillant, bon petit déjeuner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Super! Leute voll nett! Die waren immer bereit um mir zu helfen. Die waren haben auch immer gemacht was wir wollten. Fitness Studio war auch geil :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location near Times Square and theater

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Room was updated and nice. Included breakfast, free wifi, use of gym with no fee.
Cons: Lighting and seating in the lobby. Should have grab bar or non-slip finish in shower.
Location: Great. Off Times Square. Walk to theaters, library, restaurants, park, small groceries.
Close to many theaters. Close enough to walk to library and Museum of Art and Central Park. Had included wifi, free breakfast included,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Funky Hotel near Times Square New York

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: decor atmosphere and friendly helpful staff
Cons: Tea and Coffee facilities in the rooms
Location: Great Location in New York close to Times Square and Broadway
Great Hotel near Times Square but far enough away so not to be noisy . Great Roof Top Bar and very friendly and helpful Staff .Rooms are on the small side and it would have been great to have Tea And Coffee making in the Rooms.But the decor and atmosphere made up for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Times Square comfort

Posted Jul 31, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel. It is a great location if you want to be in the Times Square/Broadway show area. The continental breakfast is plentiful, the coffee is excellent, and the restaurant is expensive but has great sushi and food. The rooftop bar was fun as well. My only complaint was the room was very small, smaller than the first time I stayed there. Our bed was supposed to be a queen size but also felt smaller, and our shower and sink were literally in our bedroom, with only a pocket door for toilet privacy. I am ready to move on from Times Square, and I think next time I'll check out the Chelsea area to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sanctuary Hotel makes you really feel welcome

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The personal touch, great food, and welcoming approach
Cons: The hotel was noisy due to the popular restaurants, but I think there is little that could be changed about that, and you expect it in a city
Location: It's yards away from Times Square & the Rockefeller Centre plus the subway stations going everywhere else.
The staff were brilliant, really welcoming and helpful, all the way through the hotel from the breakfast staff to the concierge. We ate at both restaurants, and the food was exceptional. The roof restaurant was really busy though. But the food and the cocktails made the crush worthwhile to us. I was at a conference in the giant Marriott around the corner, and the difference with the Sanctuary Hotel couldn't be more marked. I came to know the staff personally and the door staff always greeted you with a warm smile and personal comment, while the reception staff helped us discover the best places to go and things to see. The room was also really spacious and the beds really comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel located very close to Broadway!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great hotel. Staff was incredible. Wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Only steps away from Times Square and Threatre. The staff were brilliant. The roof top bar/restaurant was a perfect place to enjoy the skyline after a show.