Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Debbie is a great host, very friendly and she even invited me to her Thanksgiving feast. Also on Friday nights they have a live jazz session in their living room, absolutely brilliant!! Only 15 mins to Manhattan via the A train and the station is less than a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

Excellent warm and welcoming BnB in Brooklyn.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the lovely service from the staff, and the great conversations every morning over breakfast and coffee.
Cons: There was an issue with the hot water at the time, but I'm sure that will be fixed by the next time we show up.
Location: The BnB is just 3 blocks from the A and C lines on the subway, and a 15 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens and 20 min walk to Williamsburg.
Staying at the BnB with Denise running the show was an excellent choice. The hotel is an old row house renovated and turned into a multi room BnB. The service is fantastic with great made to order breakfast in the morning, and late night jazz and speakeasy drinks in the parlor at night. The beds are spacious and comfortable, rooms large, and just 3 block to the subway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I would not recommend this place to anybody

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to subway
Cons: All the details that are mentioned in the review
Location: The location has beautiful brown stone homes and is about 15 min walking to shops and restaurants that are typical to the area
The room is dark , dusty and dirty. The carpet was never vacumed. No lock or key to the room door. Noisy area at night. No TV . No reading light. No desk and no chair to sit on. We had to buy our own breakfast since Breakfast preparation started at 9:00AM ,and we came to NY for sightseeing not for breakfast waiting Shared bathroom was dirty Owner is very nice but it did not serve our purpose of staying in a nice clean and comfortable Setting
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel not a B&B

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Owner wasn't there to greet us (only saw her twice very briefly). No breakfast (should remove the word breakfast from the title). Keurig was available with powdered creamer. Communal bathroom ( EVERYONE used the same bathroom/shower, including the owner). Shower was more of a dribble than a spray. Received one bath towel at the beginning of our stay and had to keep using it every day. No was cloths. The only soap available was the same bar that all guests used. Yuck! The bathroom was full of personal toiletries that belonged to the owner. Twice I had to search the house for toilet paper because it was used up in the one and only bathroom. No maid service, I made the bed every morning. Only one working electrical outlet in the room. No lightbulb in the one and only lamp in the room. Very loud window a/c unit. Bad neighborhood and no restaurants. Can't lock your room when you're out for the day and there are people milling about the house at all times. People from the neighborhood can very easily walk into the house without anyone saying anything. I could go on but the bottom line is THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE HOSTEL IN A BAD NEIGHBORHOOD.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne australia

Authentic Brooklyn experience

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Debbie is wonderful lady and so helpful - love her and the jazz concerts are a great bonus
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time and Sankofa Aban was a wonderful place to stay. Very welcoming!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Super nice host and great rooms. Cool furnishings in a historic brownstone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brownstone Heaven in Brooklyn

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We had an incredible time celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The owner is a wonderful Lady who knows the history of the neighborhood and where to go for food and fun. Although the neighborhood has been a bit gentrified it is still a hub of African American cultural life. Sankofa Aban is just 1 of many black owned businesses in the area.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Pittsburgh

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Debbie is very friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by Corey

Debbie makes the place

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
While being barely 5 mins from a very convenient metro stop is nice - Debbie makes everything even more worthwhile with her wit and reliable recommendations for sights and foods in Brooklyn. I hope to stay again!