Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markus from espoo

house of jazz

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hieman erilainen majoituskokemus kuin mihin olimme tottuneet. Pienen alkushokin jälkeen tämä osoittautui erittäin hyväksi valinnaksi. Huoneita on vain muutama ja muut vieraat sekä majatalon mukava emäntä tulevat tutuiksi aamukahvipöydässä. Majapaikka on erittäin lähellä metroasemaa joten liikkuminen Manhattanille on kivutonta. Majapaikan ovessa vain ei ole mitään nimikylttiä joten perille löytää kunhan on tarkka osoite ja koputtaa rohkeasti oveen. Jos pitää jazz-musiikista niin tämä on loistava valinta jos satut olemaan paikalla perjantaina tai lauantaina kun talon emäntä järjestää jazz konsertteja talon alakerrassa joihin vieraat saavat osallistua puoleen hintaan. Soittajat olivat erittäin taitavia. Jos sen sijaan et halua tutustua uusiin ihmisiin tai mahdollinen alakerrasta kantautuva musiikki häiritsee tai jos se häiritsee että huoneen ovea ei saa lukkoon kuin sisäpuolelta niin sitten kannattaa katsella toista majapaikkaa. Voin kuitenkin suositella tätä jos edellä mainitut seikat eivät häiritse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MARK from Toronto

Can't wait to return

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Having never visited Brooklyn before, I didn't know what to expect. Our host Debbie made me feel very welcome. The neighbourhood was safe and friendly. Debbie's fantastic weekend jazz nights were wonderful and educational. I had a great stay. Also a great café Le Paris Dakar is only 2 blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Best place and amazing host!

Posted May 17, 2015
First off the house is beautiful with a lot of history on a quiet safe street. You wouldn't believe how close you really are to everything. Public transport a short walk away the A train will quickly wizz you through to Midtown. My room was spacious unlike shoe boxes you would pay a crazy amount to stay in, in Manhattan. I want to specifically highlight how much of a star Debbie is. She was so helpful and friendly! You can tell she is a busy women but she was so easy to contact and I saw her often. I've seen a couple of sour reviews and I really don't understand because I had a great experience and there was even a couple who were there for a second stay. This place deserves all its good reviews! I'm 100 percent suggesting this place to anyone I know visiting NY. Ohh and the Jazz night was so good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elsebeth from Frederiksberg / København Danmark

Ægte New York oplevelsen

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfaster noget helt specielt, en lille perle,som slet ikke kan sammenlignes med andre hoteller e.l.Hvis man vil finde ud af, hvordan man lever i New York, uden for Manhattan, er dette et fund. Huset, et ægte Brown Stone House, som ligger i et meget hyggeligt og fredeligt kvarter. Huset er restaureret nænsomt, så det står, som det stod omkring århundredskiftet, meget fantastisk.Værtinden Debbie er noget af en særlig god oplevelse,. Hun tog kærligt og overvældende imod os, og under alle 6 dage var hun inspirerende, fortællende og en fantastisk værtinde.OVERRASKELSEN var, at der i stedets dagligstue, fredag og lørdag, blev spillet jazz af nogle af Brooklyns store jazznavne, og vi fik områdets jazzhistorie fortalt af Eric.Arrangementet var baseret på gæster ude fra, men vi fik lov til at deltage. Debbie og Erick, og de mennesker vi mødte på stedet var årsagen til at vi fik så mange ekstraordinære oplevelser på vores rejse, som vi aldrig havde drømt om, vi kunne få. Stedet er absolut anbefalelsesværdigt - især, hvis man kan se lidt stort på formalier som morgenmad "til tiden" o.l. Til gengæld får man så meget andet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B let down by Owner

Posted May 11, 2015
When booking we we not aware of any restriction over check-in, but once booked it stated check-in was only available from 3pm until 6pm, our flight did not land until 10.00pm. We therefore email and messaged Debbie the owner to advise, she read both messages but did not reply, we assumed this was ok, as we were not told otherwise. We arrived to find no-one was at home, we then contacted her by phone, and she was out in Manhattan, she said she would be back in hour ? 3 hours later she turned up and left us on the doorstep until 1.00am in the morning Breakfast was never served , she stayed in bed until at least 10.00am everday ???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by TSUTOMU from Shanghai

Home is where I want to be

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
親切で陽気な女将とジャズ演奏&パーティに迎えられ,落ち着いた街並のタウンハウスで,素晴らしい時間を過ごせたことを感謝しています‼︎
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

très bel accueil , belle rencontre

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: le style retro
Cons: pas de télé,lorsque l'on veut s'immerger dans la culture américaine ,une télé est un plus, faut pas camper devant^^
Location: sandwich pastrami tip top ,parc brooklyn
chambres stylées , propriétaire intentionnée et passionnée par le classique jazz
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olavi from Kouvola

Sankofa, vaatimaton mutta ok

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
Saapuessamme illalla 19 aikaan paikalle piti kaivaa puhelin ja soittaa päästämään meidät sisälle. Mukava ja iloinen emäntä, jonka kanssa oli kiva rupatella.Vanha huoneisto, 1800-luvun puolelta. Lämmintä vettä tuli suihkusta satunnaisesti.Alakerrssa jazz-musiikkia pe ja la iltaisin. Aamupala tarjottiin hieman klo 9 jälkeen aamulla ja oli makoisa. Metroasema lähellä ja siitä pääsee kätevästi liikkumaan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

lovely experience outweighs minor drawbacks

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
First, the positives: a great location, and a unique experience. You stay in a private home that is a B&B and you experience authentic jazz the way it used to be (provided you stay Fri/Sat). And, it is on the affordable side compared to most NYC area offerings. Minor drawbacks: you don't get some of the conveniences of a hotel such as daily/frequent room service, own bathroom, and on-time convenience (the breakfast was offered in a very leisurely fashion so I missed it 3 out of 4 mornings). Overall, I loved the place and the location, the nearby Le Paris Dakar cafe and the Nostrand Av Subway stop with A express to Manhattan were fabulous. And the music nights were delightful.