Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nicosia, Cyprus

Enjoy living in a grand Brooklyn brownstone

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The house has not been insensitively cut up or "modernized". My room had a splendid fireplace with mantel and tile surround.
Cons: It would be nice if gas fires could be installed, but safety rules may preclude that.
Location: I found the neighborhood warm and friendly. A woman who had misdirected me to Macon St. very kindly backtracked to correct the info.
I arrived a bit late after a train trip from Boston and braving holiday crowds to get through Penn Station and onto the subway A train express to Nostrand Avenue, the stop nearest Sankofa Aban. I had neglected to contact the gracious owner, Debbie, and also hadn't noted the 6 p.m. cutoff for checking in. Luckily I was able to phone her and from then on all went smoothly. The house exudes period charms and was also lavishly decked out for the holidays. It was a special privilege to be able to talk with Debbie over coffee about the history of the house and her family. She also recommended an excellent car service (Evelyn) to Newark Airport when I left on the morning of Dec 29 and again had to cope with holiday traffic in rain and fog, plus airport crowds. My two nights in the house were blissfully quiet, comfortable and relaxing. Thank you again, Debbie, and I look forward to returning. As I said before leaving, it really feels like a home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by yutaka from 日本

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
MTAのNOSTRAND AVの駅に近く、マンハッタンに行くにも便利。近くに学校があり、治安は悪くない。落ち着いたインテリアの部屋は広く、天井も高いのでくつろげる。オーナーはとても親切で陽気なで方で、また宿泊したい。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from NWA

Beautiful old Brownstone in Brooklyn.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful old Brownstone in Brooklyn with a excellent host named Debbie. Not for those who are looking for modern amenities but great for those who want to experience the local culture in a historical BB. Great Jazz on site ever Friday and Saturday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide South Australia

Brooklyn diamond in the rough!!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It isa place in a time warp everything apart from the plumbing is original. The Jazz evenings feature features greats of the genre
Cons: Take the place as you find it and just enjoy it.
Location: Close to subway, shops and restaurants.
If you want a 5 star hotel with lifts.....don't bother coming here!! If you want a a genuine experience of life in the borough ,Debbie your hostes s is a bundle of energy and a source of knowledge of al things Brooklyn, especially jazz. She is very protective of her clients preventing them from being ripped off by taxi drivers and telling you the best places for whatever you need!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Toppenbra

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Trevlig ägarinna. Väldigt bra frukost.
Cons: Värmen i duschen kom först efter ett par dagar.
Location: Det ligger i Brooklyn så man får ta tunnelbana om man ska till Manhattan. Bed and breakfast har dock jazzklubb fredag och lördag som verkligen kan rek
Väldigt mysigt område i Brooklyn. Duschen var kall första dagarna men det gjorde inte så mycket eftersom det var 35 grader varmt utomhus. I övrigt väldigt mysigt bed and breakfast. Ägarinnan Debbie är supertrevlig. Det är en annorlunda upplevelse från att bo på något standard scandic-liknande hotell.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MASUMI from 日本

ちょいびっくり。

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
ブルックリンに駅から近いところで寝るだけでよいとこの条件で探して予約しました。 前日まで広い小綺麗な場所にいたもんで、駅に到着した時は、あまりのギャップにえらいとこチョイスしてしまったと。 宿に看板が無いので、番地を頼りに歩いて5分程度で到着。豪快な笑顔で出迎えて頂きました。3階のツインルーム。チェックイン前だったので部屋の前まで荷物を置いて玄関の鍵をもらって出掛け、3時に戻って部屋へ入れてもらい、トイレ、バスを見せてもらい特に名前の記入等もなくチェックイン。部屋は薄暗くテレビは無し。流しはあるものの掃除してんのかなあって思うレベル。夜帰ってゴミが落ちてると思って拾ったら脱いだ後の下着が。 えーっと思いつつ袋に入れて捨てておいたけど、気持ちのいーもんじゃないね。 トイレ、お風呂は共同だけど、同階の人と出くわす事なく。トイレットペーパーの予備がなく困った。次の日、8時に出掛けたけど、食事の準備が出来ておらず、ほんとにここで食べるのかなあって雰囲気。 翌日は、ゆっくり出掛けたので、朝食にありつけました。チェックアウトもこれといって手続きはなく鍵を返して終わり。玄関の鍵がなかなか開かないので悪戦苦闘しました。 メキシコ人の女性二人組とオランダ人夫婦がお泊まりでした。宿のデビィは、憎めないキャラで笑顔がとっても素敵です。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Prima B&B in Brooklyn

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Prima B&B voor een kort verblijf in New York. Metro met goede verbinding naar downtown Manhattan op 300 meter. Op vrijdag/zaterdagavond worden er soms jazz uitvoeringen gegeven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
The Sankofa Aban B&B was a great place to stay. Close to the metro so it was easy to get around. The Jazz on Friday night was a real treat. We were too tired to go to the Jazz on Saturday night; found that we could not hear the music from our room at all so could sleep. The rooms in the 100+ year old building were eclectic and fun; very clean. Debbie was very helpful; we arranged ahead of time to leave our bags early, and again late at checkout. Definitely will be coming back. Thank you Debbie for an enjoyable stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Germany

Tolle Gastgeberin.

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Das Viertel wirkt nicht so einladend. Debbie ist allerdings eine absolut angenehme Gastgeberin. Es war toll auf unserer vierwöchigen Amerikareise gleich zu Beginn einen so nahen Kontakt zur Bevölkerung zu bekommen. Das Frühstück wurde jedes mal zur erfrischenden Gesprächsrunde mit allen Gästen. Das Haus mussten wir allerdings über die Hausnummer identifizieren, da keine Beschriftung auf die B&B-Unterkunft hinwies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Perfect if you are looking for something different

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
I loved my stay at Sankofa Aban, felt like home from home, super relaxed, exactly what I needed, with fabulous live Jazz at the weekend, can only recommend highly.