Ratings based on 1,495 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Great Location and Hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
The Seaton is on 40th St between Lexington and 3rd Avenues. Convenient to all of Manhattan. The hotel staff was exceptional. They knew my name and room number. Printed documents for me. My room was about 16 x 16. Ideal for one person. Probably too small for two. The only downer was a noisy window air conditioner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very good managers, great help. Excellent location for this trip. Room was bigger than some other hotels I've been in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great no frills boutique hotel, fab location.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location, style.
Cons: More coat hangers please!
Location: Shake shack, Scotty's, Salvation Taco and Mamosan all on the same block. Yum! Few mins walk from Grand Central, midtown and east river.
Loved our stay. We had room 210 and although water usage in both neighbouring rooms was extremely noisy it didn't spoil it. Nice patio opened for the first time this year during our stay in April.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm desert, ca

Nice small hotel closed to Grand Central Station.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We had a wonderful 4 nights stay for our yearly visit to N.Y. city. The room was small but it is functional, clean and cozy. The location is very convenient and the rate was reasonable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in to our room early and was given good recommendation to nice local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with great location.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Room was always very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Shared bathroom was no problem at all-never had to wait for the bathroom and it was always delightfully clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire, UK

Friendly New York Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. I thought the room was good for the price.
Cons: Perhaps some more food options at breakfast.
Location: There are plenty of attractions in reasonable distance (particularly Times Square and the Empire State Building).
This was my first stay in New York and I was pleased with the hotel that we had picked. I found it to be in a decent location and was able to walk to Central Park, Times Square and the Empire State Building from the hotel (if you really don't like walking then maybe Central Park would be a bit far, but it was fine for me). It's also very near to Grand Central Terminal. The hotel room itself was good, an ensuite room with TV and other facilities. I found the room spacious and nicely decorated. The pillows were maybe a little hard. Complimentary drinks were available in the morning (no food, except a vending machine). We had two decent night's sleep in the city that never sleeps! I think the hotel has a parking arrangement with a private car park which is worth checking out before you book elsewhere - I had already booked into a car park that was a short walk up the street. There were various cafes and restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Middle of Manhattan, closed to famous places

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The placement
Cons: Mini fridge and space, rooms are extremely tight
Location: Almost what you can do in Manhattan: Empire State Building, Central Park, Liberty Statue, Ellis Island, Ground Zero etc. Take advantage of the Big Bus
The hotel is well placed close to Central Station and Chrysler Building and stops of Bog Bus for visiting are easily accessible. Several Italian restaurants and fast food in the vicinity. The staff is nice, but the space in the room is very very limited. No mini bar, no water in room and to get a mini bar fridge in the room USD 25 daily is billed. The rooms will fit one person on tourism, meaning getting out the day and back evening for sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Valley area, NH

Quiet and cozy in the city

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Clean, quiet room, super comfortable bed and chairs. No street noise in my room and room darkening drapes. High ceilings and decor that gave a unique feeling rather than predictable hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Pleasant Stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The staff is amazing.
Location: Near the theater district, Times Square, and the Empire State Building. A 5 minute walk from Grand Central, so the rest of NYC is a subway trip away.
An affordable option. I stayed during a snowstorm and we were taken good care of, even with the circumstances. The staff are incredible. While the room was on the smaller side, it was very clean and the bathroom was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely little hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Everything. Great location, lovely clean rooms, lovely staff
Cons: No
Location: great location Grand Central Station Empire State Building Times Square Restaurants, diners, bars, Chrysler Building
We had a fabulous time at the Seaton and felt very welcome, the staff are wonderful and very helpful. Especially Brittany and Sean. The hotel is very clean and newly renovated, its is in a fantastic location close to many attractions, and Grand Central Station. There are many great places outside the hotel to eat and drink. The price of the rooms is very reasonable given its fantastic location. We had a shared bathroom, and it was always clean and tidy, it was not an issue at all that is was shared. Would definatly come back to the Seaton again when we are in New York.