Ratings based on 4,388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location just outside the hustle & bustle

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Fantastic location within walking distance of most of the main sightseeing places. The hotel was great, and would definitely recommend to anyone else going to NYC
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel off 5th avenue.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Clean hotel with all the amenities needed for a short stay in nyc. Is in a good location, with Times Square just a 15 minute walk away
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel in decent location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Television. Bed, Shower
Cons: New furniture and decoration. Soundproofing (vs earplugs!) Enforced decorum in the lobby area.
Location: Near Grand central so lots to do
Shabby, old rooms. All adjoining, so noisy. Hot, so windows must be open. 5 women clinking beer bottles at the registration desk at 11 am. Next morning lobby filled with guests who looked like they were waiting to enter a homeless shelter sitting on the floor drinking and eating takeout. Not the ambience we were looking for when staying in NYC!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

A great experience

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. Best part is that it was very quiet. I've stayed at many NYC hotels in midtown manhattan and this was my best experience for a good nights sleep. (Located between 38th and 39th) Quiet, comfortable bed and pillows and cozy room. Walkable to all of the NYC desired destinations in midtown. Plus every day they give you a $10 credit to their cupbord to buy drinks, snacks, or other junk foods. (To make up for their $25 daily resort fee). Overall, - great experience. i would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Very good. Lovely people. Happy hour is great...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel, close to midtown New York

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Enjoyed a pre Christmas break, sightseeing & shopping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north yorks, uk

small, a tiny bit shabby but good

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Friendly and good location
Cons: Rooms need re-decorating
Location: Central for all attractions. Grand central very close.
The Shelburne is in a great location and the staff are very friendly. The room furniture is dark brown which has chipped off quite a bit showing the light wood underneath which makes it look a little shabby. The housekeeping is very good and the bed was comfy. Overall this is a good hotel in a great location. Highlight is the chance of a selfie shot off the rooftop with the empire state as a backdrop
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pet Friendly. Be Aware!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Cons: Make very obvious on hotel description that pets may be alone in rooms barking all night....
Nice enough hotel if not a little overpriced for a tired interior. Didn't know it was pet friendly until the dog next door started barking until late into the night. Reception were sorry about the dog but they could help it if guests left their pets alone. I'd remind them that very few pets pay for their rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel near the empire state building

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Nice hotel, with very friendly staff. The restaurant was really good and the roof top bar had a great view of the empire state building (as its winter the roof top bar is closed but you can still go up there). There is free wine every evening at 5 which is a nice touch if you are there at 5. It is really easy walking distance to the ES, Rockefeller, Times Sq, Bryant Park and many more places. Its not the fanciest hotel but it is clean and comfortable and we would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bland hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Only good thing was the awesome bartenders in the restaurant attached, which also had great food. Otherwise, they only had two small elevators which took soooooo long to come, nothing was complimentary (the "wine hour" is included-- as part of your $25/day service fee... **eyeroll**), no breakfast, you even had to pay for wi-fi.