Ratings based on 7,048 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Midtown Manhattan

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Close to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. Rooms are badly in need of refurbishment, tiny washrooms and very noisy. Was woken up several times by outside noise like sirens and honking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Great hotel steps from Penn Station

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Have been staying at this location for years and years. Loved the Expedia pricing!
Cons: Bathrooms are looking a little tired (wallpaper, tile floors)
Location: Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Bryant Park, Today Show, Empire state building, tons and tons more!
Business trip. As always, welcoming staff, eagerly upgraded my room. Love this property. The long term Affinia faces I've come to know were all still there, even though the property was sold. Great service! Great hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst customer service

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Forget ever calling this hotel for help. I had to call them for two simple things- getting a credit card authorization form after booking and adding a night/making sure it was paid for for the employee at the company I work for. Each time it took almost an hour. Reservations department told me that had no access to help me pay for the additional room and that they couldn't even transfer me to a department who could. I had to call back and be transfered two more times only to be told to use the form they gave my yesterday. The woman I spoke to wasn't pay attention to what I was asking and was clearly side tracked and being very rude to me. She gave me the wrong information about basic questions. I don't think the employees there even know what day it is. I call hotels all the time for things like this and it takes two minutes. I will never put my candidates and employees up in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Good central location easy to get around

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: Noise level
My biggest complaint is noise level we were on the 19th Floor and you could still hear the traffic as if on street level. Not use to sleeping with all that noise. The did offer ear plugs so I'm assuming this is an on going problem plug to large and uncomfortable. We ate at Niles a few times and the food was excellent I would probably commend Hotel for those reasons location, service & food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hampton, NY

Great Location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
I booked this for the hotel's location to MSG (right across the street), a long islander couple looking to stay in the city overnight after a concert. The hotel was beautiful and clean! The location was amazing! The restaurant at the hotel had wonderful food, and we got 20% off for being guests. The bar looked like a fun crowd. The cons were that the beds were not very comfortable, and there were loud guests in the hallway at night. The queen room had a nice bathroom with a tub, a mini fridge and a TV/couch, overall it was spacious for NYC and very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Location vs quality

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Thia hotel is in a great area next to multiple bus stops metros attractions. But it just needs major renovation, cracked floora in the bathroom squeaky pipes. the employees you interact with and location are great tho and might make up for the shortcomings thats for you to decide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Perfect for shows a t Madison SQ

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Remove resort fee.
Location: Very central to all the Manhattan has to offer.
Easy destination driving into the City. Very welcoming door man and front desk. All employees very sociable. Lots of surrounding option to eat and drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the money in downtown Manhattan.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Great bargain for the price and location.
Cons: The room windows are very leaky which lets in a lot of the outside sound and smells. Suggest requesting a higher floor room.
We booked the Stewart hotel for it's location and good price. It's in a great spot right next to Penn Station, central to midtown. The staff was very friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york,ny

in the middle of the action

Posted Feb 1, 2017
It was close to the shopping and food .room was sound proof so I wasn't bothered by the busy streets .big room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing spectacular at all.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Wanted to stay at a nice hotel for the weekend out in NYC. But this was not at all worth the price or experience. Best part of the hotel was maybe the lobby & complimentary water.