Ratings based on 7,268 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel; ideal for Midtown and Lower Manhattan

Posted May 24, 2017
Allocated room was not up to our expectations; too small for 4 people. However, after speaking to Reception we were upgraded to a more appropriately-sized room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manger, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Sam! We love that our excellent staff at Stewart Hotel NYC was able to make your stay more comfortable. We are always looking for ways to go the extra mile for our guests. Thanks again, and we hope to turn those 4 stars into 5 on your next stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
There is $33 facility fee per day after you book it. Be careful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jackie - We appreciate you taking the time to share your candid feedback about your recent stay with us. I'd like to personally apologize on behalf of the entire team for the communication issues you encountered regarding our facility fee. We are always trying to improve our service, which includes optimizing our communication process between our guests and hotel employees to ensure no future guest has the same experience. Thanks again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caesarea

Same great hotel now with a new name

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms, front desk
Cons: corridors need better care
Location: Just across Penn station. very comfortable
Arrived to Penn station crossed teh street and got to the well known hotel I stayed many times. Fats check in great room easy access to my needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your positive feedback! At the Stewart Hotel, we aim to provide comfortable rooms, a unique stay, and outstanding customer service to all of our valued customers. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Take care and safe travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Gross

Posted May 16, 2017
Gross room with chipping paint and just dirty. The counter was broken near kitchen area, water rings on tables dust in bathroom with cracked dirty tiles. Wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We listen to our valued customers and that is why we are currently undergoing renovations to update our facility and bring it up to our high standards. We hope that one day, you will return so that you can see the wonderful changes that we are making so we can earn that 5-star review. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy AC. No soundproof window. Bathroom is dirty

Posted May 15, 2017
The place is near a fire station and the room has no soundproof windows. The bathroom still has a hair ball from previous guests in the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize if you were not happy. We always welcome feedback from our valued customers so that we can improve upon different aspects of our business. We hope that one day you will revisit our establishment so that we can show you the 5-star treatment that we are so known for. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel. Take care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced!

Posted May 13, 2017
I was a bit skeptical after reading the other reviews but having tried it myself, I was pleasantly surprised with the overall experience. Really nice folks and they make sure that you are happy. It is in the ideal location in manhattan! You are close to all the trains you need (within one or two blocks): 1,2,3, A,C,E, B, D, F, M, N, R, Q, W.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate the 5-star rating and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Stewart Hotel. We absolutely love our location and the value that it brings to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're visiting NYC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great location, very central

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location
stayed at the Stewart for 4 days on business trip. Very central location, easy access to all parts of Manhatten
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Stewart Hotel and that our location made it easier for you to conduct your business trip. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you visit New York!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in midtown. Close to MSG. Good location

Posted May 12, 2017
Wasn't happy with the first night and the night manager arranged to put me in the next room the very next day. It was a much quieter room and not drafty as the night before. The staff were very helpful. The bathrooms were very small. Bed was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manger, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us. We understand the importance of having a relaxing stay, and we would like to apologize on behalf of our entire team for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please be assured we take all guest complaints seriously and actively work to ensure our facilities are in top condition. We hope that despite this inconvenience you give us another chance to welcome you during your next stay in New York City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in Manhattan and Penn Station

Posted May 11, 2017
Quick check-in and check out; very courteous and helpful staff; near many attractions; quick access to Penn Station and subways; very clean room which was upgraded. The one downside is the hotel also charges a $30 hotel facilities fee. That is expensive for wifi and a couple bottles of water.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manger, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience from your recent stay at the Stewart Hotel. We are thrilled to hear your appreciation of our world-class staff, excellent location, and luxurious accommodations, although we would like to apologize on behalf of our team for the issues you experienced regarding our Facility Fee. We've recently optimized our communication process between our guests and team members to ensure that no future guest has the same experience. While we are disappointed that this negatively affected your stay, we invite you to return and give us a second opportunity to show you the strides we have taken to making the Stewart Hotel the ideal choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 10, 2017
Location: Location is diagonally across Madison Square Garden and just a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square. Also a 30minute walk to Central Park.
Went to new york for the first time in april and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Staff are friendly and the hotel is located in a great spot in the city. It is an older hotel, but still a great place to be. And has many different room choices for your needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We also love our location and giving our guests that great New York experience. We're glad that you enjoyed the character and charm of our hotel. Have a great day, and we hope to see you back at the Stewart Hotel again soon!