Ratings based on 1,333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful New York Landmark

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The updated look is beautiful while still maintaining the feel of an old hotel.
Cons: The size of the bathroom is a little small.
Location: Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, convenient to restaurants, shows, and other attractions.
Our Algonquin stay was a very pleasurable experience, and their staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Living on its past

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, friendly staff, pleasant public rooms.
Cons: The rooms and comforts are spartan.
Location: Right in the center pf Manhattan.
A small cramped room without a view or decent reading lights (none was supplied when asked for). The bathroom door handle came off and was not properly fixed. The toilet paper fixture fell apart. TV guide did not work. Though recently refurbished, the Algonquin is a mediocre hotel that lives off its former reputation for glamour. And it is very much overpriced for what it offers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, As you know, we are a boutique style hotel and so our rooms are not large in size, however they are comfortable and well appointed. The hotel opened in 1902 and since then taller buildings have blocked the view it once had. Please accept our sincere apology for the faulty fixtures in your guest room, it was a terrible oversight. Thank you for your kind words about our associates, we pride ourselves in excellent customer service and so it is nice to have this confirmed by our guests. We hope this experience does not deter you from visiting us again.Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Loved this hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
We had a fabulous time at this hotel - lovely staff - really friendly and helpful (except the very first lady who checked us in on the Friday late afternoon who was a misery - fortunately all the other staff were wonderful). Perfect position to walk to the sites in the area. Loved the free water too. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear Lotti, We are very sorry you did not have a good experience with one of our associates, we will look into this further and ensure this was an isolated incident. We are glad the rest of our associates upheld the standard of service we pride ourselves in and that you were able to enjoy your stay. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Times Square

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Excellent staff and location. Everyone was helpful. We had a wonderful stay and it was a great place to see a show
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and so it is such a pleasure to learn from our guests that we are performing up to standards. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A New York icon.Nothing I can add...

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Cons: Open up the Oak Room for jazz again
As ever staff courteous and helpful. Shame about the spiced popcorn tho!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks again for your kind words. Best regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel near times square and broadway

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Really enjoyed stay, the hotel staff were very friendly. The room had recently been refurbished, nice decor with a large shower room. Easy to move around new York from subway 10 minutes walk of times square
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our location. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to New York. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Great location in midtown Manhattan.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: I chose it for its history, but the location was great too.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: It's in midtown Manhattan, an easy walk from Times Square and the Theater District. Lots of restaurants and shops all around.
The hotel was very comfortable, staff was helpful and courteous. I give extra points for the cat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, We are glad you were able to enjoy your time with us. Thank you for your kind words! Best regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Avoid room 201. Noisy (next to ventilation engines). No view. Staff not that friendly (apart from Manuel). Room not aligned with pictures. Air conditioning malfunctions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very sorry you did not have a good experience. We would have been happy to accommodate you in a different guest room had the Front Desk known about these problems. We hope you will be able to return so that we may have a chance to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact us to discuss this further. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
2 Blocks from Times Sq. 10 blocks from Penn. St. 2 Blocks from Bryant Pk. 2 Blocks from all the Subways Excellent Location!!! Excellent Hotel!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Gabriela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you were able to enjoy the benefits of our location and our excellent service. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you back to New York. Best regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kleines Hotel in der Nähe vom Times Square

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral und ist mit der Subway gut zu erreichen. Das Personal an der Rezeption ist ausgesprochen freundlich und hilft bei Fragen gerne weiter. Die Zimmer sind geschmackvoll eingerichtet aber klein. Das Badezimmer bietet nur Platz für eine Person. Das Zimmer wird jeden Tag gereinigt und man erhält kostenlos kleine Flaschen Wasser zum trinken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by Gabriela , Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank für Ihre freundlichen Worte und für die Zeit nehmen, eine Rezension für uns zu schreiben. Wir streben nach exzellenten Kundenservice deshalb sind wir froh, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem geliebten Algonquin genossen. Wir hoffen, dass Sie das nächste Mal Ihren Reisen nach New York bringen Sie zu sehen. Freundliche Grüße!