Ratings based on 1,407 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwood, MA

We love the Benjamin

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The location and the cleanliness.
Cons: The business center computer center is very slow. Breakfast in the National dining room was perfectly terrible and very expensive (even for NY)
This was our second visit to the Benjamin Hotel. Our daughter lives in mid-town so the hotel location is perfect for us. Easy walk to lots of great restaurants and plenty of transportation options to theater, shopping and tourist destinations. The hotel is meticulously clean and the staff are very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Dujuan, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time out post a your comments. Although I pleased to see that you enjoyed your second experience with us, I was disappointed to read about your experience in the National and as well our business center. I assure you that your comments have my full attention and will be addressed. We look forward to having you as a guest again. All the best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super hotel in great location. Lovely staff.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff are really helpful and listen well. They do go the extra mile compared to large chains. Good value larger rooms. Modern and clean. Good food.
Cons: The bathroom is a bit small. Clean but a little small. The kitchen could do with a kettle. Not a lot of meeting area for business.
Location: Spice Symphony opposite 5/5* NY Lunchonette two doors down is great for breakfast Coffee Importer also great for breakfast/coffee
Small private hotel which is much nicer than the big chains I have stayed in. Very good value, we booked through Expedia and got a great rate on a good sized suite. Great location for metro, walking distance for Grand Central, Central Park, 5th & Madison shopping. Several really high quality places to eat if you leave the hotel. see below. The National (in hotel bar/food) is also excellent with friendly staff and good food/drinks. Clean and tidy rooms with modern recently refreshed decor. Very comfy bed which was easy to sleep in. Room service were flexible as we kept odd hours, very easy to deal with. Food service is quick and very good. Typically we do not enjoy hotel food but this was good. We had a suite which was well presented and a great place to stay for the 10 days we were there. We moved from 9th floor to the 21st and had a great view and it was quiet. One block over is 17th Precinct Police and Fire station so you can expect a little noise when they take off but it is New York. The rooms are quiet with no noise from above or next door which is a lot better than other hotels. The air-conditioning was quiet and separately adjustable for bed and lounge. The windows open if you prefer "fresh" air. Reception was really helpful and showed us a couple of rooms as we were there for 10 days. Overall this is a well run hotel with nice staff, good rooms and in a great location. Well worth stepping out of the Hiltons of the world for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel near my office.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room clean. Comy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by G Turkmenoglu, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Superb Experience at The Benjamin

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: They had a dog that was barking for part of the night and we had to call upstairs to ask them to talk to the owner.
Location: Great restaurants, Ezra and Pompano, superb shopping in Saks Fifth Avenue, the Cathedral.
Our stay was extraordinary. The staff were extremely attentive, with the lady that cleaned my room in 1407 being so kind. She offered extra towels and extra coffee. Downstairs, the bellman facilitated getting a cab and giving us directions of where to have breakfast nearby. The food at the National was delicious, great avocado toast with poach eggs. We decided to also eat dinner there. You could not ask for more. It was a small boutique hotel with a cozy feeling, extremely quiet and with the personal touch that makes you feel they really care!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a detailed review from your recent stay at The Benjamin. Its wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience and all of The Benjamin has to offer. From our services to the award winning National Bar and Dining rooms by Iron chef Geoffrey Zakarian. In addition we have a humble team of associates all committed to providing genuine guest service. Thank you for staying at The Benjamin and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Amazing location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Stayed in a king suite with my husband and our one year old. Lots of room. Very comfortable bed. Quiet for midtown New York. Perfect location. You can easily walk to most major attractions. Staff were wonderful especially the door staff. Excellent customer service. Decor is lovely but room is a little tired. Heaters are noisy but the room heats quickly. We spent evenings in our room whilst the baby slept. Really nice to have a separate lounge and kitchen but be aware the bathroom is attached to the bedroom. This didn't cause us any problems but I was conscious about waking the baby. All in all a wonderful stay. The Benjamin offers peace and tranquility in a busy city. You don't compromise on location or comfort and that's very special indeed Would certainly return
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you posting a review from you and your husband's recent stay at The Benjamin. It is wonderful to see that you both enjoyed your experience, particularly the comfort of your spacious suites. . I think you said it well, using the words "peace and tranquility" as our suites are a perfect retreat from the busy streets of the city. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back the next time you travel to New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Great location, great service

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Beautiful upscale hotel in a great location. Staff was excellent and got us everything we needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Dujuan Fryar, Hotel Management
Jerome I'd like to thank you for choosing the Benjamin! I'm happy to see that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to become your choice hotel in NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Best in Manhattan

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not a thing I can think of.
Location: See above.
The Benjamin is situated perfectly just a few blocks from St. Patrick's cathedral and Saks on 5th, on the non-Times Square side of things. There is a Starbucks just across the street and the National serves a killer dinner and the bar is open late if you are hungry. Minutes on foot to MOMA, skating at Rockefeller or Central Park. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable and always willing to help with anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Dujuan Fryar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your recent stay at The Benjamin. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience and all of The Benjamin has to offer. From our spacious suites to the award winning National Bar and Dining Rooms by Iron chef Geoffrey Zakarian all of our outlets and amenities are designed to create the very best experience for our guests. In addition we have a humble team of associates all committed to providing genuine guest service. Thank you for all of the great tips in your review and I am sure other travelers will as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Great location. However it is the little things that make a hotel from good to great. This hotel is good. Good sized rooms but awkward doors between the bedroom and the living room (hard to explain but the doors face each other so they bang into each other constantly). Comfy beds but our room was on the fourth floor. We could hear ther traffic all night! We were early for check in, so we had our bags stored and spent the day enjoying the city. Returned at night, our room was ready, but no luggage in our room, sofa bed was not ready, no cot (as requested) was in the room. Although they quickly fixed this, it should have been ready in the first place. As well, when we arrived we told the front desk that we were having lunch in the hotel restaurant. When we received our hotel key later that night, we received a voucher for the restaurant (why didn't the check in reception give this to us earlier?) Overall it's a good hotel and the staff do try their best. I think they shouldn't charge five star prices for a four star (at best), hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your stay at The Benjamin. Although I'm happy that overall your stay was enjoyable, want to sincerely apologize for the lack of detail in some areas during your stay. Thank you for choosing The Benjamin and we hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm and welcoming staff

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The thing that keeps me coming back to Benjamin is not the great location, or the hotel itself, but the staff. They are attentive, warm and receptive to guest requests. The Benjamin is a wonderful place to stay in the midtown area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your recent stay at The Benjamin. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience and all of The Benjamin has to offer. From our spacious suites to the award winning National Bar and Dining Rooms by Iron chef Geoffrey Zakarian all of our outlets and amenities are designed to create the very best experience for our guests. In addition we have a humble team of associates all committed to providing genuine guest service. Thank you for all of the great tips in your review and I am sure other travelers will as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Excellent service, upgraded to a one bedroom suite, clean room, fully equipped gym, great location
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location
Excellent service, warm friendly staff, upgraded to a one bedroom suite, clean room, fully equipped gym, great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your family’s recent stay at The Benjamin. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience and all of The Benjamin has to offer. From our spacious suites to the award winning National Bar and Dining Rooms by Iron chef Geoffrey Zakarian all of our outlets and amenities are designed to create the very best experience for our guests. In addition we have a humble team of associates all committed to providing genuine guest service. Thank you for all of the great tips in your review and I am sure other travelers will as well.