Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB Canada

A noisy, pseudo hostel.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price, clean, good location.
Cons: Better lighting in the maze of corridors; strict enforcement of noise rules (there are any), and elimination of patio parties.
Location: In Nolita; close to the F subway; some cafes and restaurants as the area gentrifies; nearby grocery store.
Difficult to describe this place, but small rooms, fake ceilings, and spillover, during one night, from a party on the rooftop patio (namely, noisy drunken party goers careening around the dimly lit corridors in search of bathrooms and keeping everyone awake).
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 29, 2015
壁で仕切られていて鍵がかかりますが、天井は網のようになっているため、周りの音が普通に聞こえます。 また、シャワー、バスが共同です。 ただ安いし、スタッフの対応が素晴らしいので、割り切れる方にならおすすめです。 一人旅の方で、ドミトリーに抵抗がある人にもおすすめです。
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A better option to a traditional hostel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Stayed in the "private" personal cabins. Small in size but reasonably comfortable bed. Not much room inside with your luggage. Cabins have no ceiling so you hear everything that's happening. Felt safe but the doors are thin so you do inevitably worry about your luggage. Nothing happened though and there's always security on the floor. Showers were clean and came with body wash, shampoo, conditioner to use. Nice common areas (washrooms, showers, work spaces, lobby, rooftop) and nicely decorated. Wifi is really fast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I've been, I stayed and then I left

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The Bowery House staff are very helpful and cheerful and the I like the quirky feel of hotel\hostel reception area.
Cons: The male bathroom on the second floor needs to refurbished like the others.
Location: A great location for visiting Chinatown (you're right next to it) and about a 15 minute metro ride to Times Square.
I must say that I have stayed in worse hotels and worse hostels and this review is not a slight on the Bowery House, it was just my experience. I didn't have a very good sleep at this hotel\hostel even though earplugs are provided, the bed was just a bit too firm for me as well as other people taking phone calls inside the cabins were contributing factors. Also at 5'8" I just about fit the bed, so if you're taller than this the bed would be too small for you, though there are bigger cabins which may have larger beds. I also had a slight mishap, which was dealt with swiftly and satisfactorily by the Bowery House staff. For what it cost me, I don't feel it was worth it. On the plus point the cabins are clean, spotless actually.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience...

Posted Sep 13, 2015
The cabin is too small to place any bags. In addition, they charged me 250 after I left the hotel without notifying me. When I tried to contact with the staff, they did not reply me about what happened in detail, just said that a bedside table was burned, but they did not provide me any proofs. I spent several weeks to resolve the problem through the bank. It's a relatively cheap price in New York, but my experience was not so pleased and their customer service was not so pleased either...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good location - tight quarters

Posted Aug 21, 2015
This hotel is in a good location; however, the rooms are small 'cabins' with barely any room to move around. The rooms are clean, but its an open atmosphere where the ceilings are open, so you hear everyone talking, snoring, etc. Hotel does provide ear plugs.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

last minute find

Posted Aug 15, 2015
I was looking for a very last-minute room after a flight was cancelled. Specifically: low price, no frills necessary, preferred LES location, best suited for solo travelers. I was immediately impressed upon arrival. The impeccable preservation of all historical details was a selling point alone. I stayed in one of the "original cabins" and it was perfect for my needs. The cabin & bathrooms were extremely clean, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the rooftop garden was an added bonus. Yes, the mattresses are shorter, and the ceiling is an open-air lattice - but those details are provided at the time of booking - so these elements shouldn't be a surprise. Earplugs are provided, and it's best to use them. Overall, it exceeded all my expectations & I was actually bummed to check-out the next day, so I'll definitely be returning when I'm in town next.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Great hotel for a short stay

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Bowery House is a great hostel type hotel with boutique interiors and really lovely staff. I highly recommend this place for a night or two in NYC but keep in mind the rooms are small, and the ceilings are open, so it can be difficult to get peace and quiet if you need sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was truly terrible

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: The location was nice
Cons: Everything else. You pay far too much for how crappy this place is.
I will never stay here again and I would never recommend this place to anyone. It is not a hotel, it's a hostel. It is perfect for 20 something year old hipsters from Europe, nothing else. And even then, it cost far too much for what you would be getting. The shared facilities are terrible, it's three floor walk-up, the room is tiny and the place is noisy. Nothing could have prepared me for the awfullness of this place.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel económico y cerca a sitios de interes

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: La cercanía a los sitios de interés de la ciudad.
Cons: La comodidad de las habitaciones y por lo menos hacer las habitaciones mas insonorizadas. Esto último seria importantísimo.
Location: Hay buenos sitios donde comer . Pero básicamente es un área muy comercial .
El hotel está ubicado cerca a los sitios de interés pero el área es bastante caótica . Las habitaciones son bastante incomodas y falta muchísima insonorizacion , se puede escuchar absolutamente todo. No es apto para descansar. Si es limpio.