Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great affordable hostel in central Manhattan!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
This is perfect for someone who doesn't spend much time at their hotel. The showers and washrooms are communal with amazing smelling body wash, shampoo, conditioner provided. No accessible fridge or microwave so good options have to be kept to snacks pretty much. Cabin Rooms have lattice ceilings so must keep noise to a minimum. Lounge is beautiful and staff are some of the kindest people I've ever met! Rooftop is gorgeous to hang out on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from harwich

An elegant dormitory

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: It's character and it's staff and it's location
Cons: Washing machines
The Bowery House is essentially a dormitory divided into cubicles - it's very basic but very cheap. The staff are great. It's biggest problem is noise at night - snoring, talking, footsteps. A nice touch, given the shared bathrooms, are fluffy robes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Too expensive for what you get

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The bathroom wasn't on the same floor of the room. I couldn't have hot water during the shower. The room was really small, but clean. The staff and the neighbourhood was great. Didn't worth the money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015
The bowery house is an excellent choice for travellers with a limited budget, who want to stay in downtown manhatten and who are comfortable with sleeping in a very small room with open ceiling. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice stay

Posted Dec 25, 2015
I searched and read about this hotel. It has a very friendly staff and a unique layout with rooms and bathroom. The bed was comfortable. I did get the double bed and despite they offer ear plugs I did not use them .. It was a quiet peaceful sleep. It's an easy walk to little Italy.. And places to eat and drink. The common bathroom is nice and clean. The rooftop is worth hanging out at. Great view both at night and morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice place

Posted Dec 2, 2015
The staff was really nice and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean. Close to supermarket and train station
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2015
this hostel has a bedbug. and the bed is really small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
とりあえず泊まるだけなら使い勝手は悪くない。ソーホー周辺で宿の周りも面白いしJFKまで一本でいけるのは旅行者にとってはすごく楽
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Guillaume

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carlos

Low price, great location

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
The bed y too small if you're tall like me 1.85, the location is great! Soho