Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hattingen

Originelles Hotel für Stadterkundungen

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: -grosszügiges Zimmer im Maisonette-Stil inkl. Klimaanlage, 2 Fernsehern, Küchenzeile -supernettes kompetentes Personal -Lage
Cons: da fällt uns nichts ein
Location: Das Hotel liegt im Brooklyner OT Greenpoint, verschiedene Supermärkte, Cafes etc in Fussnähe, kostenloser Taxiservice v Hotel im Umkreis v 2 km
Unsere Reise war ein 10tägiger Trip mit Schwerpunkt Sightseeing und Stadterkundung, geflogen sind wir mit Lufthansa und der Transfer wurde über die Firma Chris-Limousine erledigt. Alles hat wunderbar geklappt und wir würden die jeweiligen Beteiligten wieder wählen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brabant

super mooi hotel, buiten de drukte van Manhattan.

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Inrichting, ruime kamers, personeel.
Cons: kast/opbergruimte op hotelkamer en badkamer.
Location: over de brug bij Queens zitten diverse leuke eetgelegenheden (ook voor ontbijt). Buurtje is ok, duidelijk upcoming.
Hotel staat aan de rand van Brooklyn, via een brug verbonden met Queens en metrohalte (10 minuten lopen, 10 minuten metro naar Grand Central). Hotel is met veel smaak ingericht. Kamers zijn ruim en van alle gemakken voorzien, zoals een keuken. Personeel is vriendelijk en behulpzaam. De taxiservice naar de metro, soms in een old timer taxi, is leuk, met hele leuke taxichauffers. Een rustpunt na de drukte van Manhattan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

A true gem!

Posted May 1, 2016
Such a delightful hotel starting with the welcoming and helpful staff to the clean and well laid out rooms, to the whimsical decor and beautiful flower arrangements! The desk staff, doormen and drivers were curtious and professional. Breakfast was great, but service was a bit slow. Rooms were very clean, but bathroom had no counter space. The hotel driving service was a plus. Subway was just a short walk across the bridge; which, by the way, offered amazing photo opps of the Manhattan skyline! We won't consider any other hotels in Brooklyn!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

It's the little touches that make it special

Posted Apr 26, 2016
As the taxi drove down the street I was beginning to wonder if I'd made a mistake booking the Box House Hotel - there was construction everywhere! But then we saw our hotel, a little oasis in amongst it all, and that was before we even walked through the doors. This is a hotel that has made an effort to be different. There are antiques, quirky objects and works of art, funky colours etc all of which gave us a bit of a wow moment when we walked into the foyer. There is nothing generic about this hotel and it made us smile after so many boring hotels and motels on our trip around America. Best of all, all those colours, quirks and artwork extend to the rooms as well, which are unique, warm and welcoming. The staff were fantastic, super helpful, even offering to hold our bags for us prior to check in and after check out without us having to ask! And they know their stuff - great advice on subway routes, the best way to get into Manhattan etc and plenty of other helpful tips. But it's the little extra touches that really make this hotel stand out. The water carafe in the foyer, filled with ice and fresh lime, which you can help yourself to any time of the day. The free taxi that will drop you off within a one mile radius - perfect for getting to the subway station and water taxi. The Box House Hotel makes you feel really looked after and that's quite rare these days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Situated in Greenpoint, and next to Williamsburg and Queens, there is a massive choice of bars, eateries, shopping, etc.
Superb hotel, tremendous staff. Ideal location to dip in and out of Manhattan, although the immediate area of Greenpoint and Williamsburg are worth a lot of your time without going over (or under) the river. Great bars and food, lovely people, good atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Towcester

Not the usual kind of place ...in a great way!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Comfort and friendliness.
Cons: Just hoping there will be nuts to eat with the toasted lager next time :))
Location: Nice bar/restaurant on Manhattan Ave very nearby - Milk and Roses - enjoy occasional piano players here - and a nice little cocktail list!!
The location is a little bit off the beaten track but, after a couple of stays here now, it feels comfortable and familiar and peaceful. The fitness room, sauna and steam room are lovely facilities. The rooms are spacious and well equipped - the boy recommends the hot chocolate very highly. (I recommend the toasted lager at the hotel bar!) Really welcoming, pleasant people working here and with the occasional use of the free short-distance taxi service it feels rather like visiting good friends at the Box House. Bus and Subway services are also quite convenient here. The short walk over Pulaski Bridge to catch the 7 train brings you a lovely view of Mid-town Manhattan across the East River. I look forward to my third stay some time soon!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Fun hotel in Brooklyn

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Really fun and funky industrial decor with huge loft-style rooms. Very clean and very comfortable, and more space than any NYC hotel room. Nice small bar in lobby, food was inconsistent but we mostly ate out. Staff was very helpful, great check-in clerk and great bartender. Loved the location because we like to walk, might not be for everyone, although it was easy getting into Manhattan. We will absolutely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very easy to get to Manhattan!

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: ease to get to Manhattan, style, kitchen
Cons: ask for a room with windows!
Location: lots of change in the neighbourhood, was once run down, coming back in a big way. Acapulco restaurant was great despite the outside appearance!
Nice hotel in Brooklyn - just over the bridge you have a metro which is one stop to Grand Central Station. Ate in the restaurant which was good, the neighbourhood is run down but with a lot of construction during the day. Had to take off a point of "comfort" because there were no windows in my room - high vaulted ceilings and lots of lights, but no natural light. I didn't spend too much time in the room with so much to see anyway. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ahoskie, NC

Gem in Brooklyn

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, room size, location. Shout out to Christian for his good service.
Cons: Help with parking
Location: Subway stop is nearby. Many small restaurants to choose from
This is a hidden gem. Friendly staff, big rooms, modern decor, good location. I do have two bones to pick. The hotel advertises free parking. The parking is a free spot on. A side road if you can find one. This is misleading. Also, we arrived early and the hotel wanted to charge an early check in fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saarbrücken

Wunderbares Hotel in Greenpoint / Brooklyn

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: alles
Cons: genau so bleiben!
Wunderbares Hotel in Greenpoint / Brooklyn. Die Lage des Hotels ist super (für mich jedenfalls). Fußläufig ist fast alles erreichbar – In Greenpoint gibt es in der Nähe zwei Metrostationen (ca. 10 Gehminuten entfernt). Von hier aus kommt man direkt nach Manhattan oder Brooklyn ( Williamsburg usw.) Nur wenige Kilometer vom Hotel entfernt kann man wunderbare kleine Läden, Cafés, Restaurants in Williamsburg aufsuchen und dort verweilen. Das Hotel ist toll gemacht. Die Inneneinrichtung ist einfach klasse und originell. Die Sauberkeit ist auf bestem Niveau. Mein Lieblingshotel in NY!