Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Explore a new part of New York

Posted Feb 10, 2016
The Box House was a great place to stay for our purposes but if you are planning to explore Manhattan, you need to know that this place is in the middle of nowhere. Either subway line you can access are a 15-minute walk and it is about a 10 minute walk from coffee/rest is etc. That said, the hotel recognizes this and offers a car service as well as a restaurant and bar in the lobby. The rooms are unique and very comfortable. We did run out of hot water one morning but it wasn't an issue other days. Beds were comfortable, staff were friendly and the price was right!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Québec, Qc

À une station de métro de Grand Central Station

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Les studios bien équipés, jolis et agréables. La proximité du centre de NY.
Cons: Parfait.
Location: Quartier industriel en gentrification. À une traversée de pont de Long Island, où il y a restos, cafés et MOMA PS1.
Les studios de cet apart hotel sont grands, bien meublés et l'ensemble de l'hôtel est aménagé de manière intéressante. Ce sera pour nous désormais le pied à terre à New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of love for this hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2016
We loved this hotel. The rooms are great and the location is fab. So easy to get into Manhattan and walkable to lots of great parts of Brooklyn too. Staff were always great and loved that you can get a free ride within a mile of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel dans un secteur pauvre et laid

Posted Jan 13, 2016
L'hotel était en construction et en rénovation. Stationnement dans la rue. Le secteur où l'hotel est situé est vraiment pas touristique. Secteur industriel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Nice Hotel with the Backstreet Brooklyn Feel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Location, Friendliness of staff, very clean hotel that makes you feel like home.
Cons: Can't think of anything off hand.
Location: dozen blocks away you can access many good places to eat, look at some of the old architecture in the area, short scenic walk to subway across bridge.
Hotel far exceeded my expectations, I come from a little town in mid USA and just heard stories about Brooklyn. This hotel not only made me feel like I was back home with nice big rooms, it was very clean and classy. One of the coolest parts was it was in a back street neighborhood but made it feel safe. I would recommend this to anyone that's looking for a great place to stay, short distance to downtown Brooklyn, has a great friendly bar with great food, and the staff working there is very welcoming and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel that has apartment style rooms.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Everything!!
Brilliant location within the cool area of Greenpoint with subway lines G and 7 close by. When getting the 7 you get to walk across the Pulaski bridge to the station, which gives a great view of Manhattan both day and night. There are so many cool bars and cafes along the route to the G line; it's a great neighbourhood. The staff at The Box House were so accommodating and friendly and made our stay so comfortable. The room itself was so cool and different. Great decor and quirky knick-knacks means it feels like a home from home rather than a stale hotel room. Ours had good kitchen facilities, a lovely big bed and a nice outside space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Unique and fun hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Loved the spacious room, the "deck," the kitchen appliances and dishes, the excellent lighting, the long desk/table, and all the plugs.
Cons: The area rug in front of our sofa was bedraggled.
Location: Walk to PS1 in Queens, 2 outstanding Polish restaurants (Christina's and Karczma), and Peter Pan Donuts.
A great place for people like us who don't mind walking 10 minutes to get to a subway (the "7" or the "G"). The restaurant in the hotel was lovely as was the comfortable lobby. We walked to PS1, the outpost of the Museum of Modern Art, and rode the subway everywhere. The staff could not have been more accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great hotel. Pity about surroundings.

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Rooms. Laundry. Staff.
Cons: Surrounding area. Complimentary taxi service into Manhatten.
Location: Good restaurants nearby although not many. O k if you like burgers especially Whiskey Burger and also Lobster Shack. Definitely an up and coming area
This hotel is really good and will be better in a few years when the surrounding area catches up. Location would have been a nightmare if the weather had not been good to us and it was unseasonably warm and dry. Good 10 minute walk to subway over a busy bridge. Streets around the hotel a bit intimidating at night especially round the God BLess Deli - anything but. Rat boxes in street a bit of putting. Good restaurants nearby. Construction work extending next door a bit of an inconvenience with noise. The hotel itself is lovely and so are the staff but the area is dodgy. Not for the faint hearted or timid guest. If Visiting in winter be prepared brolly, hat, scarf etc for the hike over the bridge. If you want something different then give it a try. would recommend Manhatten for convenience of being able to return to the hotel during the day. Once out from here you would not want the hassle of trekking all the way back and out again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

広くてきれいなホテル

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: 広い部屋と清潔な内装、親切なスタッフ
Cons: 夜間の外の音が聞こえやすい
Location: 朝駅まで送迎してもらうとマンハッタンまで楽に行くことができる。
2人で泊まりましたが、リビングにテレビが一台、ベッドルームにテレビが一台と贅沢な作りになっていました。また、ホテルのスタッフは地下鉄の乗り方など非常に丁寧に教えてくれ、ホテル内ではとても快適に過ごせました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milano

Splendidi Loft a due passi da Manhattan

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Camera tipo Loft a due piani, nuovissima ed arredata e corredata in modo eccellente (addirittura con lavastoviglie e due TV maxischermo, che ovviamente non abbiamo usato!). Personale gentilissimo. Hotel moderno e contemporaneamente vintage, collocato all'estremità di Brooklyn verso Long Iland, a circa dieci minuti a piedi (tramite un ponte con vista eccezionale su Manhattan) dalla metro 7 che in due fermate porta a Central Station a Manhattan. Disponibile navetta gratuita che porta alle fermate metro più vicine. Qualità prezzo incredibile per New York e quindi consigliabilissimo.