Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
As soon as we walked up the front steps we were greeted. The staff is amazing. The room is very specious. I love this hotel. Only bad thing is that the parking is on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing

Posted Dec 27, 2016
amazing experience, very happy with the stay, we brought a few packed food to the hotel and asked the staff to heat up for us they are happy to do so
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barkisland, UK

Boutique hotel in easy reach of Manhattan

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Distance from Manhattan and convenient for Long Island City. The courtesy car to subway & ferry.
Cons: Speed of service at breakfast. Make it clear which rooms have spiral staircases.
Location: Great location, easy Rachel of Manhattan but also a very easy reach of Gantry Plaza State Park giving one of the best views of the Manhattan skyline.
Great hotel, modern & comfortable. The courtesy car made it so easy to reach the subway, one stop from Grand Central & the bustle of Manhattan. The rooms were clean and were fun to be in. As slightly older customers the spiral staircase whilst aethestic and space saving in our room was a bit of a challenge to go up and down in heels after after a day out. The breakfasts were good value for money although service was a little slow but did not distract from our stay. I will definitely use this hotel on my regular visits to NY.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Loud construction noise.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Staff . Great customer services.
Cons: Mattress quality. Less noise due construction. better dining
Great customer services. Great design. Noise from construction. Noise from housekeeping staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, area not for 1st time visitors to NYC

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Funky decor and taxi service.
Location: 1st time visitors to NYC might find the gritty, industrial location rather unnerving.
Very nice hotel, with excellent kitchenette facilities. Staff very helpful and free local taxi service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Unique hotel, too far north in Brooklyn

Posted Dec 9, 2016
We loved our loft style room (#24) for our stay, but wished the hotel was closer to Dumbo or Brooklyn Heights, as this was where we spent most of our time. The old taxis were advertised but not available. The front desk staff told us he hasn't seen them running in a while and that was disappointing. The staff took us through other amenities which included computer usage and printing availability. When we attempted to print our boarding passes, the keyboard didn't work. When we shared our concern, the front desk staff again told us that it hasn't been working since the day before. We were told there wasn't maid service until day 3, but fresh towels will be exchanged out daily. Again, that didn't happen after the first day and when we asked for fresh towels to be delivered, they did just that but left the wet ones. Even with those small incidents, it was a lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel Would highly recommend it.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The Staff, The room
Cons: Cant Think of anything really
Location: location a bit out of the city but not a problem due to the free shuttle can be in Manhattan within 20 min. Safe Area.
A Hotel maybe a bit out of the city. However this was not a problem as there is a free Shuttle to all the local Subways and East River Ferry to Manhattan. Room very Clean. More like a one bedroom apartment than a hotel room. High ceilings. Great Room. Staff very helpful and friendly.Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, service, food and bedding!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Don't have any improvement recommendations.
Location: Free shuttle to and from subways into Manhattan. Good little food markets around.
This place exceeded our expectations in every aspect. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The bedding was to die for, and I am super picky with bedding. Even the pull out couch was super comfy. The place was in a great location, and with a free shuttle to any subway line within approximately a 1 mile radius, we were set for getting to and from Manhattan. The decor was beautiful. The food was incredible in the restaurant. So great that after we had the fist dish we ordered, we each ordered another dish just to try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Estero, United States of America

Upbeat, convenient and comfortable.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Near restaurants and subway stops. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was cleverly decorated and so comfortable we didn't want to leave:-) Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Thanksgiving visit

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We have been staying at The Box Hotel several times a year for the past several years and always find it to be exceptional. Beautiful decor, very comfortable, good restaurant, accommodating staff, quiet; never had a bad experience.