Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Hotel on the Upper East Side

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Fun spot to visit during the holiday. Gracious old school hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Dave B., Thank you for coming to visit! There is nothing better than The Carlyle at the holidays and we are glad you had the chance to share the season with us! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you all the best! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Charming hotel with so much character

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Cozy, timeless hotel. Wonderful breakfast included. Everyone who worked at the hotel was so kind. Wonderful neighborhood, which really made the trip to NYC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Grace, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad you had an all-around terrific time in New York. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon! Wishing you all out best. Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk thru Central Park

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: 20 minute walk to Tavern on the Green
Great hotel. Easy walk to Central Park. Staff was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We appreciate your time and are delighted to know that you enjoyed not only your accommodations, but also our location! We hope to welcome you back soon! Wishing you all the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5-star review with us! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time at The Carlyle. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and wish you a happy, healthy holiday season! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Back in Time to a Classic Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Old School Charm
Cons: A bit more updating in the lobby area.
Location: Three Guys was a great place for breakfast (go all the way to the back)
Admittedly, The Carlyle is not in the "happening" part of NYC, but we were delighted to stay in a bit more quiet part of town near the beautiful shops on Madison and Park Avenues. The hotel staff was wonderful and brought me back to staying at hotels in NYC when I was a young child. I loved the elevator operators and the politeness of the staff. I hope it stays this way forever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Carlyle. We agree, we want it to stay this way forever too :) We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you a happy, healthy holiday season!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great service, great location, room needs updating

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The service is fantastic. The bedding is divine. The Kiehls bath products are great and would be something I would buy.
Cons: Our one bedroom suite really needed some TLC. The rug was a little frayed, the furniture was scuffed, some of the doorknobs loose.
Location: The upper east side has museums, restaurants, shopping and is close to Central Park. Everything you need is within walking distance.
The Carlyle is a classic. The service was impeccable, discrete and prompt. The concierge was helpful and confirmed reservations promptly. All out needs were met effortlessly. Room service was quick and efficient and the food very good. The location is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Lamia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience overall. With that being said, we will absolutely follow up with the individual departments to ensure that the room in which you stayed, is properly inspected and taken care of for future guests. Thank you again for this valuable feedback! Wishing you all the best and a lovely holiday season. Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Beautiful hotel in classic NY neighborhood

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, decor and professional staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The upper east side is not as convenient to the theatre district, and a long way from Chelsea, Greenwich Village, Soho, etc. but great for shopping.
Great stay at the Carlyle. Staff was accommodating, professional, and on the ball. Room was well appointed with excellent housekeeping and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your interactions with our staff. It was our pleasure to have you! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you a lovely fall season!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We hope to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a stay worthy of that extra star :) Wishing you a lovely fall season. Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel! We are delighted that you seem to have had an outstanding experience and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you a lovely fall season! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location But very tired and old

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The experience was fine given the reasons I chose it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not one befitting a 5 star review. We strive to provide our guests with excellence and it is clear in this case we fell short. With that being said, we are delighted to know that the location was well suited to your needs. Please accept our apologies for the elements you found lacking. We do hope you will give us the chance to leave you with a better impression in the future. Sincerely yours, The Carlyle Family