Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Old New York hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Beautiful, classic hotel designed by Dorothy Draper. Excellent service and lovely rooms. Good location and good room service. The only thing I would change is to have an ice machine on every floor. I don't need to call someone every time I want ice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, elegant hotel in terrific location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Fantastic and courteous service, perfect location.
Location: Lots of shopping, restaurants, museums. Close to public transportation.
Had a great stay and enjoyed being close to shopping, transportation, museums, restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very polite and attentive service. The Concierge staff is as good as there is. The Carlyle Restaurant Captains provide a charming dining experience. The Carlyle is an elegant and luxurious stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Charming Comfortable Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The Carlyle is a wonderful quiet hotel in a great location close to neighborhood restaurants. We loved walking Central Park just steps from the hotel. The hotel lounge was exceptional. We enjoyed a late afternoon cocktail every day while listening to talented entertainment on the piano. Perfect!
5 out of 5
by James from Chestnut Hill

great place but review your food bill

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was "cheated" by $30 or so on the breakfast bill which I didn't realize until I had returned home. Not nice at all. It soured my experience.
3 out of 5
by George from California and Switzerland

A hot hotel but not what you might think

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
This "venerable" hotel is not what it used to be. Our major complaint was the heat that could not be comfortably controlled. Hot air gushed from vents beneath the window that could only be opened about 3 inches; a separate air conditioning system provided the cooling but that meant a cold breeze that was not pleasant. Turned that off but then we perspired profusely and the thermostat registered 77 degrees in the room. An engineer came up to look at the situation and said that the heat was on constantly in the whole building and could not be turned off. I still find it hard to believe that they we had to air condition to counteract the heat. What an energy sin! Another more minor problem was that a night table was missing on one side of the king size bed; one was finally brought (in fact two appeared) but such should not happen in a hotel that charges $5-600 and up. There was also quite a bit of door slamming and hall noise that I do not remember from previous visits some years ago. Again a surprise at a place like this. The room and hotel itself are tastefully decorated and the service excellent. Oh well I guess you cannot have everything but it was a disappointing experience because of not sleeping well due to the temperature.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location. Large deluxe room. Great towels.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Restaurant is very expensive.
Location: Near 5th Ave and Madison, so buses uptown and downtown are convenient.
My wife and I enjoyed our visit to NYC much more as a result of staying at the Carlyle.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
A great experience--- we love the Carlyle