Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pure elegance

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Elegance, charm, location, well-trained staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Wonderful location near many great restaurants and shops
It was so nice to stay in an elegant, traditional home after staying in so many more stark, contemporary ones. It is wonderful to see old world amenities with such refinement. Our stay far exceeded our expectations. It was quiet, peaceful and full of charm. I would definitely stay here again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Special Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
It is located in a nice part of town. Central park is just a block away. There's an entrance directly into the park. We found many small and unique places to eat as we explore the many museums located up-and-down fifth. Madison Avenue with all of the high-end shops is right there. The staff treated us very well. The concierge was able to make excellent suggestions. We did extensive exploring even including a visit to lower Manhattan. All the areas easily reachable by Uber. The hotel is an older hotel... It's charming! Our hotel room even have a separate room for a wet bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service, lovely hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The service is very good, from the elevator men, to the concierge, to the reception desk and the chamber maid. The restaurant staff is also excellent.
Cons: Wouldn't a small bouquet of fresh flowers in the room be lovely?
Location: Ideal location: Central Park, Met Museum, Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue shops, galleries, and restaurants right there and within walking distance.
The Carlyle Hotel has a restrained and beautifully appointed lobby; its Bemelmans Bar and Cafe Carlyle are divine for music, drinks and late dinners. The staff and service is superb. The bedsheets are crisp yet soft; the Kiehls toiletries are very pleasant. I appreciate that the windows open a bit to let in fresh air, and that the water pressure in the shower is very strong. I was very pleased with my stay, especially so as I got my room rates at a discount "sale" rate for the holiday weekend. While I have stayed at The Carlyle on several occasions many years ago, its more recent room rate inflationary prices convinced me to stay elsewhere. Happily I returned when the rates were quite reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms need updates

Posted Jan 19, 2016
A lot of attention On lobby W many people standing around doing nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the area

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Nice restaurants and stores nearby. Carlyle Cafe was an experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Old-world elegance in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The customer service is top shelf. Between the doorman, concierge, elevator man, and front of house staff you really feel pampered!
Cons: Don't go expecting a trendy modern hotel This is old school luxury at its best.
Location: The upper west side is full of boutique shops and fine dining. It feels very safe to walk around at night and everything you need is within 2 blocks.
My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary and stayed at the Carlyle for 5 nights. The hotel is located about 1 block from the western edge of Central Park, just off Park Avenue. The neighborhood is very upscale with a lot of boutique shopping and fine dining options in the immediate area. There is a subway station a couple of blocks away and there are always town cars and taxis available at the front door. The hotel is elegant and very up-scale but with an old world feel. Lots of marble, textiles, polished brass, etc. The staff is excellent and accommodating in every way. There is also an excellent dining room in the hotel as well as a popular lounge and jazz bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malia S.

Superb wedding anniversary night!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Orbitz
Elegant hotel with comfortable atmosphere. Lots of beauty care and rest surrounds you. Just outside the door is the most perfect part of Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Quick NYC Getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, high-end amenities. OUTSTANDING concierge service: Jeff and Waldo are the BEST!
Cons: We made two attempts to dine at the Carlyle Gallery. On both occasions, there was no one to greet us. We stood around feeling like idiots and left.
We stayed for three nights, on a very quick stopover stay,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: I loved the location of this hotel, and the staff was wonderful.
Cons: See experience above.
Location: The hotel is located just one block from Central Park, and a short walk to the Lexington Subway Rail which takes you anywhere you need to go.
I was looking for a nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of midtown. The Carlisle Hotel is perfectly situated near Central Park, the subway, and beautiful shops. It's the perfect location. The staff was outstanding! I only wish I had done my homework before going. I was not prepared for such a rich environment. The restaurant requires a jacket for seating. My son and I were in New York for 2 Yankee games. We did not pack clothes for the Carlisle attire, so we could not enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in the hotel. Fortunately, we did find many places to eat nearby. Also, the tiny bottle of Vodka in the room bar was $19. That's highway robbery. I went to the liquor store 2 blocks away. Movie channels on the TV were only available for an added charge. An iron or ironing board would have been nice room. I didn't ask, but I assumed this was an extra service at an added charge. Other than these minor inconveniences, I would definitely stay at the Carlisle again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by daniele from pordenone

estate a NYC, al Carlyle!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Servizio e cortesia eccezionali, dalla reception ai bellman, ai camerieri del ristorante. Pulizia impeccabile con turndown serale. Zona da me preferita a nyc, in 6 min di taxi si è a grand central, in 2 min a piedi si è a central park. Ideale anche viaggiando con bambini.