Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great service, great location, room needs updating

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The service is fantastic. The bedding is divine. The Kiehls bath products are great and would be something I would buy.
Cons: Our one bedroom suite really needed some TLC. The rug was a little frayed, the furniture was scuffed, some of the doorknobs loose.
Location: The upper east side has museums, restaurants, shopping and is close to Central Park. Everything you need is within walking distance.
The Carlyle is a classic. The service was impeccable, discrete and prompt. The concierge was helpful and confirmed reservations promptly. All out needs were met effortlessly. Room service was quick and efficient and the food very good. The location is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Lamia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience overall. With that being said, we will absolutely follow up with the individual departments to ensure that the room in which you stayed, is properly inspected and taken care of for future guests. Thank you again for this valuable feedback! Wishing you all the best and a lovely holiday season. Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Beautiful hotel in classic NY neighborhood

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, decor and professional staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The upper east side is not as convenient to the theatre district, and a long way from Chelsea, Greenwich Village, Soho, etc. but great for shopping.
Great stay at the Carlyle. Staff was accommodating, professional, and on the ball. Room was well appointed with excellent housekeeping and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your interactions with our staff. It was our pleasure to have you! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you a lovely fall season!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location But very tired and old

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The experience was fine given the reasons I chose it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not one befitting a 5 star review. We strive to provide our guests with excellence and it is clear in this case we fell short. With that being said, we are delighted to know that the location was well suited to your needs. Please accept our apologies for the elements you found lacking. We do hope you will give us the chance to leave you with a better impression in the future. Sincerely yours, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE USA

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Bemelman's Bar and Lounge great, excellent breakfasts!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your favorite elements of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear we were able to help you get your day started on the right foot with our breakfast selections, and your night capped off in a quintessentially New York way at Bemelmans. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Sincerely Yours, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very classy and immaculately clean. The room was very comfortable and my date was very impressed. The service was top notch. I had a wonderful time there and didn't have to worry about anything. I was well taken care of. I grew up in the area and it is probably one of the safest places in all of Nyc. It also has so many amazing dining, shopping and entertainment options nearby. I was very expensive for me and out of my budget and at the same time worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review and helpful feedback on your recent experience with us! We are delighted to hear that the accommodations, location and interactions with our staff all surpassed expectation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Until then, wishing you a lovely fall season! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
4 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Carlye. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus ohio

Wonderful hotel. Comfortable size room.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Eveything
Cons: Housecleaning staff dropped the ball on the second day. Only left one wash rag ( vs. 4 on prior day) and took away bath robe I had hung up in closet
Location: So close to Central Park
Swanky, comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable for Girls getaway to celebrate my daughter's college graduation and to go look for wedding dresses. Location was perfect. Easily walked to explore different part of Central Park each day and could have even walked to Broadway play, if it hadn't been 95 degrees. Hotel staff was very accommodating, and housekeeping more than compensated for couple small blunders on 2nd day by making up for them on 3rd day. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. We both slept so soundly and commented how perfect the mattress was. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted to hear that you chose to spend this celebratory time with us. We apologize for any inconveniences caused due to the missteps by our housekeeping team. We will ensure to follow up with them directly. Overall, it sounds like you and your daughter shared a memorable stay and we could not be happier to hear it! We hope to welcome you back in the near future and congratulations to you both on graduation and impending nuptials! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Civilized Old World Attention

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: No disappointments in a second stay. Help booking a Circle Line Tour and with other inquiries, Nothing seemed too much to ask.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location of the hotel is so convenient for good restaurants, clothing stores and Central Park.
If you want to experience civilized old world attention, stay at the Carlyle. One doesn't get the impression that the staff are being courteous and friendly just for tips. They are brilliantly trained. Details of things provided in the room and bathroom indicate that someone really thought through what would make a stay perfect. The location of the hotel is so convenient for good restaurants, clothing stores and Central Park. What more could one ask for?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us as well as fellow travelers! You have painted a lovely picture of your stay and we are delighted to read your thoughtful review. Our guests are our family; it is of the utmost importance to us that you come away having felt a genuine connection. We do hope to have the good fortune of welcoming you back in the near future. Until then, we wish you a delightful fall season! Sincerely, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

New York elegance

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The old school ambiance of this hotel brings you back a long gone era. This is an older hotel that has maintained its charm.
Cons: The elevator was being repaired during our stay, requiring us to use the service elevator for the upper floors,
A true New York experience at the Carlyle awaits you. Grand hotel in the best location, close to the Met, Guggenheim and Central Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Ella, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. First, please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences faced as a result of our elevator renovations. We are grateful for your patronage while we work to get them updated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and that our location fit your needs so well! We hope to welcome you back soon. Wishing you a very happy fall season! Sincerely yours, The Carlyle Family
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for your great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Carlyle and hope to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely yours, The Carlyle Family