Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

W 44th Street heaven

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great location for Times Square and all the transport links uptown and downtown. We had a junior suite which was a very comfortable room with plenty of space for a rollaway bed for our child. We were easy undemanding guests but our few requests were dealt with very quickly and efficiently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Center of everything.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
It was the second time we stayed here and the first time blew us away with the butler service and doormen and there attention to detail but this time we saw no butler and opened our own doors. I know it sounds petty but for the money spent one would expect to have the same service consistently. Maybe we just caught them at a bad time (Saturday). concierge service was also out for the day and we were told he would look into our request and call us when he returned but never received a call. Still we love the hotel and will will most likely return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location to theatre district.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Difficult check-in with late notification room was ready. However, attentive staff and bottle of wine delivered to room made it easy to forgive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
It was great and wonderful stay lovely staff and hotel and the location is in the time square walking airea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london uk

Superb hotel close to TimeSquare

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Fantastic location, service second to none. I will go back when i visit NYC again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Luxury with personalized service.......

Posted Jul 27, 2016
we have stayed at many high end hotels in NYC. While they are all opulent and luxurious, the Chatwal combines luxury with personalized service. They are quick to attend to your every need! the Hotel is second to none and the staff make you feel special in a very personal way. No arrogance or attitude as you may receive in many of the high end hotels. From the front desk, to the concierge, doormen and cleaning staff, you quickly feel part of the Chatwal family. This is certainly our go to hotel from this point forward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Business Trip - Coupled with private time, very rewarding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Clean hotel and attentive staff

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Beds slept well, rooms were extremely clean. Staff was always looking for ways to serve you. Hotel restaurant is fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Awesome stay, friendly staff, clean room and killer location. A bit expensive but you pay for your choice of luxury stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

An oasis of serenity in the Theatre District

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Rooms, amenities, location, and staff.
Cons: a somewhat antiseptic Art Deco lobby is slightly incongruous with the rest of the hotel's warm, 'private club' feel.
Location: Theatre, Midtown shopping, restaurants.
Right in the heart of the Theatre District and Times Square area, the Chatwal is a quiet, secluded space tucked into a historic Stanford White building on W. 44th. From the moment you enter the hotel, you feel that you have stepped into your own private club, with a lively, though not chaotic, lobby and bar area, and well-appointed rooms above that seem individually secluded even from the hallways and elevators. Close to everything in Midtown and the perfect location for a couples getaway trip to NYC.