Ratings based on 2,202 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Close to Grand Cental Station

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location was great for getting around, as the nearest station is Grand Central, which is on various subway lines. The room was comfortable.
Cons: Not a very good lounge area, but we didn't use it anyway as we were out and about.
Location: We could walk to a few sights such as the Rockefeller and Times Square. Great breakfast options at Grand Central.
Quiet and comfortable, great location. A very good base for exploring New York. Plenty of good places to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, large room compared to most NY hotels

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay there. It was only 3 blocks walk to grand central. The room was probably the largest room I've ever stayed in for a NYC hotel. There was a spacious desk area, queen bed and then a nice couch next to two fairly large windows that let in a lot of light. The bathroom was on the older side but was overall clean. Internet was fast and easy to access. Exactly what I needed for a business trip. Would highly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Intermittent internet, dirty room with broken ..

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I stay in over 100 hotels each year and this establishment is by far the worst. For the first time in my travels, I had to leave the faculties on the first day after the utter incompetence of the staff and management. Although I was disrespected and let down, they now refuse to refund my Expedia booking even though I couldn't use their hotel. Does Expedia stand by such partners? Issues included a broken window in my 3rd Floor room - resulting ina cold draft and lots of manhattan trafffic noise. And the potential "solution" was to put masking tape on the window. Poor and intermittent internet connect without any available tech support. Missing lamps bulb and it goes on and on. What an utter embarrassment for to the successful Abigail Tan brand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Good location but noisy

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Fourth floor room was too noisy. Also shades did not block out street lights very well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton

Excellent location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location
Cons: Coffeee facilities in the room
Location: Central,location near Times Square, Empire State, close to the tour bus pick ups
Very good location, 10-15 minutes from Empire State, Times Square, excellent hotel very clean coffee in reception of a morning, our room had a view of Chrysler building
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Coast

Good location near Grand Central Terminal

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything. Lighting, vanity, shower, carpet. You name it.
But that is about all that is good about it. It is an OLD, DATED hotel in very poor repair. The ambient lighting in the room, itself, is very poor. The lighting in the bathroom is almost non-existent as is the vanity. There is no where to set one's cosmetics as one tries to put on a morning face! The tub diverter was non-functional to the point that only the most minimal spray was coming out of the shower head, the faucet lever whirled around to the point it was very difficult to adjust the water temperature AND the tub did not drain properly! All this was reported to the reception desk without resolution. On top of that, the iron went kaput just before I was finished pressing my clothes for the day. No complimentary water, no in room bathrobe. Nothing that would set this hotel apart as a purportedly 4 star hotel! Don't stay here. Go a few doors down to the Tuscany, the sister hotel to this one. It has been refurbished, the reception staff are pleasant and engaging. Way better than the Court.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erin, On

Comfortable hotel in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Centrally located. 17 floors but did not feel like a large hotel. Water pressure is great even on the 17th floor.
Cons: Heating/AC is a bit loud.
A very well kept and clean hotel. I like to stay in this hotel or the Tuscany when in NY for business. They are older buildings so the AC/heating units are a little loud but the rooms are very comfortable. A lot of hot water in the mornings. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great in every touchpoint

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Staff, location, expectations exceeded in all areas!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Desperate need of upgrading
Location: Several restaurants, Grand Central Station, easy walking access to all the usual sights of NY
Having never stayed in New York before it's difficult to know what their usual standards are. The hotel was in a great location and close to several restaurants and Gand Central Station. We were upgraded to a junior suite so had high expectations. The room was very large with a separate lounge area, which I understand is rare in NW hotels. However we were disappointed with the room which we felt was very dated and seemed in desperate need of a facelift. Being Brits we were also disappointed that there were no hot drinks facilities in the room. Most of the staff were helpful but a couple seemed less so. There was no room service so late night munchies and drinks were not available. All said though, we would recommend this hotel due to the location and a good place to put your head down at night. However if you're no stranger to NY then perhaps you may want to look at a hotel with more facilities and a better quality of accommodation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from STEVENSTON

30TH ANNIVERSARY

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: update furniture
Location: empire state , time square lots of eats and drinks
We arrive at the hotel and from previous review where a little put off by hotel, but when we actually got to reception we where pleasant surprised how helpful all staff where we got a room on the 8th floor with a view of the empire state building the room was very clean and the bed was excellent on comfort,and quiet.the room furnishing where slightly dated but very functional , the bathroom was very clean and the whole room was kept to a high standard could not fault it, the hotel is in an ideal position for getting to all tourist attractions with lots of resturants and bars close by