Ratings based on 1,544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Nice hotel close to Grand Central

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Nice hotel close to Grand Central. The room we had was a good size with a view of the Empire State Building. Staff was helpful and friendly. Arrived early and was able to check in early. They were also able to hold our luggage after check out till we flew out that evening. Overall a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Como

Viaggio di lavoro

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Posizione e gentilezza del personale
Cons: Impianto di condizionamento antiquato, sia per il rumore che per la difficoltà a regolare la temperatura.
Location: A due passi dallo snodo di Grand Central e a pochi passi dai locali frequentati dai residenti. Grande multisala a Kips bay, a pochi minuti a piedi.
Il grande pregio di questo hotel è la posizione strategica a tre blocchi da Grand Central Station, snodo importante per la metropolitana e punto d'arrivo e partenza delle navette per i tre aeroporti. Allo stesso modo l'hotel è vicinissimo alla Terza Avenue, in cui si trovano numerosissimi ristoranti e bar frequentati dai residenti, e con un ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo. Le camere sono abbastanza grandi, il bagno è un po' piccolo e senza ripiani, in linea comunque con la maggioranza degli hotel della città. Il personale dell'albergo è gentilissimo e il rapporto qualità prezzo decisamente positivo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit worn and tired...

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location, size of junior suite
Cons: Bathroom shower curtain and rod
Location: 3 blocks from Grand Central Station so perfect for access to all subway lines; walking distance to Empire State Bldg & United Nations
Great location, 3 blocks from Grand Central Station. Was listed as 4 star, but definitely not. Everything about it screamed worn and tired and past due for a facelift. Carpet worn and torn, in hallways and room. Air conditioning in bedroom just blew air, didn't work really, but airconditioner in living room compensated. That being said, it was nice to be able to spread out in the 2 room junior suite after sight seeing all day. Bedroom average size, living room nice and big, bathroom tiny. I agree with another reviewer who commented on not having a curved shower rod and a shower curtain that barely reaches the top of the tub. Why not this basic fix? Staff friendly, though room was not ready until almost 4 pm instead of guaranteed 3 pm, and the fact that we were sitting in lobby (10 feet from front desk) waiting for our room got lost in front desk shift change. Had to call down for towels second day there as housekeeping forgot. Overall, ok if looking for a 3 star experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Business or Pleasure - ALL GOOD HERE!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Easy access to cabs, room was always cleaned very well.
Cons: Drains need to be snaked (didn't drain very quickly at all). Need chest of drawers.
Location: Close to Starbucks and lots of other food establishments. Easy to get a cab to anywhere.
I was in on business. The stay here was very comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was huge. LOTS of space. The furniture has seen better days but it was all functional and clean. No drawers in anything which was odd. Cabs are readily available around this hotel. I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Central Terminal Dream

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The best feature about this hotel is the convenience of its location to Grand Central Terminal. It was clean and within easy walking distance.
Cons: Our bathroom door closed but wouldn't actually latch. There appeared to be some missing artwork or picture of some kind from our room.
Location: Right in the heart of NYC, close to Grand Central, Subways, Times Square, etc.
Hubby and I are very frugal with our nights out/away so we were a little concerned about staying in Manhattan with what seemed to be a very affordable hotel within a reasonable distance from Grand Central Terminal. We found ourselves very pleasantly surprised by a very short walk to St. Giles. Inside we found luxury and kept checking our itinerary over and over because we were sure that we couldn't afford what seemed to be the very swanky atmosphere. We were very pleased with the comfort of our room- most especially the bed. We only stayed one night but we were very happy with our choice and would most definitely book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Nice value in great, quiet location

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location in a neighborhood-like part of midtown on the East side...close to Grand Central as well as several restaurants.
Cons: Front desk has only one person working it.
Location: Grand Central, UN Building, Park Ave. and 5th Ave shops all close by. Bagel restaurant one block away was very good.
Quick overnight stay to a place we've been before and it did not disappoint. Certainly enjoyed the room and its size as well as the location and value. View from one of the inside rung rooms wasn't great and had to keep shades down. But otherwise, the room itself is fine. Bar downstairs had a private party the night we stayed and it was loud, loud, loud. But couldn't hear a thing once we got to the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Zimmer trotz Anfrage auf höhere Etage nur in der 3. Etage bekommen. Zur Straße hin sehr laut, wegen undichter Fenster. Wir kennen andere New Yorker Hotels, die das wesentlich besser im Griff haben trotz Zimmer zur Straße. Zimmer waren durch Buchung eines Kingsize-Zimmer für New Yorker Verhältnisse sehr groß. Sauberkeit war ok aber auch nichts besonderes. Teppich müsste mal gründlich gereinigt werden. Lage vom Hotel ist gut. Hatte ingesamt mehr von diesem Hotel erwartet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No ESPN

Posted Jul 29, 2015
How can any hotel in today's world not have ESPN and ESPN2? Over $200 a night with taxes! Unbelievable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Your Avergage Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2015
I enjoyed our stay her and everything was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to someone who doesn't want to stay in a super busy hotel surrounded by traffick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Brilliant location!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
A really nice hotel in a great central location. A little outside traffic noise at night but not enough to spoil a great stay.