Ratings based on 2,109 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

NO AC

Posted Oct 16, 2017
On the first night we had no AC and the man gave us a fan to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with easy access to allnsections if th

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The Evelyn Hotel is a gen. It is very reasonably priced and close to all forms of transportation. The staff is so friendly and helpful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrades

Posted Sep 17, 2017
As others have said, the room is small but this is Manhattan. My issue is with noise and privacy. The windows are terrible. We were on the 10th floor and heard street level conversations. Due to the smaller rooms, the bed is next to the door so we heard everything from the hallway. The mattress was so worn neither of us slept until my girlfriend suggested at 5am we flip over and put our pillows to the foot of the bed. We couldn't wait to get out of there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms and a good location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
It's a nice hotel in a great location. I just wanted to mention a few things though. The air con is on so high in the communal areas that it's freezing when you're waiting for a lift. And the wi-fi wasn't completely reliable. I was also surprised there was some building work going on in and around the hotel - there wasn't any information about this when I made my booking. It wasn't especially disruptive but I was a bit concerned to see it involved 'asbestos abatement' - I think it's the sort of thing the hotel or Expedia should have drawn attention to at the time of booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel is under construction. You hear a lot of noise. You hear people from other rooms talk and even sneeze. And in the mornings you hear the cleaning lady or other guests, I'm not sure who, opening and closing doors a lot like she is smashing the door. I just couldn't get a paceful sleep. Also, pictures from the room look very different to what it really is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Good location downtown. The room was a little small (as to be expected from a 'boutique'), but also clean and quiet. Happened to book at a cheap price, and would be willing to book again if the price fits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Great location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great location, nice room. They are are redoing Lobby which can be hectic but will be nice when done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Friendly staffs Clean room Excellent location Great price I give this hotel a 5 stars
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Location.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The bathroom was a decent size for New York & Clean.
Cons: It's a small hotel but first impressions are everything. A lobby upgrade is a must.
The hotel lobby looks and feels like a loading dock. The upstairs hallways and rooms are typical NYC small but they were clean and comfortable. The front desk guy was not warm or welcoming and was in fact slightly impatient. It's in a great location though so if you're looking for a place to sleep, it's fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated rooms in a great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The rooms are renovated and very comfortable. The location is great close to 2 Subway locations.