Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victor, NY

Classic NYC Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Quaint hotel right around corner from subway station to #4 exlress to 125th and grand central. Clean with a friendly attentive staff. Room w/ queen was larger than normal for NYC. Parking garage across the street. All the way 'round a very nice experience. We'll be going back for sure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location BUT needs complete renovation!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Toilet clogged, very noisy ac unit, phones not working. Internet only works in the tiny lobby, dirty carpet, musty smelling room and hallway. Staff were wonderful, but, the hotel should be shut down for a much needed complete renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: Nothing really wrong with the hotel itself. It is Expedia's lack of information when booking it for me that caused the problem.
When I got to the hotel, I was informed that it was very noisy from 7am to 5pm due to major construction in the adjacent lot and they assumed I had been informed when booking the room. I had not been informed by Expedia when I reserved and had to cut short my stay. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to Lenox Hill Hospital where my wife is undergoing treatment and needed plenty of rest the following day. Instead we had to go home to New Jersey. Additionally, there were particles in the air from the construction site that came in through the air conditioner and caused her major discomfort in her lungs. Expedia needs to report this type of problem when booking hotels for a client.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Misleading information

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The Frankling Hotel might be ok if you are backpacking, but if you are on business I would Not recommend it. I paid extra compared to other hotel options to have wifi and Breakfast but the wifi only works at the front desk not in your room. Breakfast consists of burned coffee and bread (no fruits, no eggs, no protein). It should be considered a 2 or 3 star hotel at most.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
.good location Small room Okay breakfast .good location Small room Okay breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Review

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location was well suited for the expectations my girlfriend and I had for the week. Subway was close by, and Central Park a short walk away.
Cons: Heating - needed controlling. Cereal containers - replaced. Additional Wifi Routers - to extend availability & efficiency.
Location: It's New York; just explore!
First impressions were good, and the location was great: close to subway station, Starbucks and a Whole Foods. The condition/appearance of the hotel was generally good, but it bothered me that the elevator/lift was small & slow, and on using the staircase discovered a poorly maintained decor, and a multitude of exposed cables. The room was small, especially the bathroom - and I accept this is common in NY - but this was disappointing, and it appeared that a significant, large diameter, water pipe ran from ceiling to floor, immediately adjacent to the door. The room was warm, but no controls existed to manage the temperature, and when I asked at the Reception Desk, a solution was not available, without adjusting the heating for the whole building. When the weather improved later in the week, the temperature became very uncomfortable in our room. We had no refrigerator, so nowhere to store drinks or small food items and being at the end of the corridor at the back of the hotel meant that wifi access was achievable in the bathroom, and the front corner of the bed. The bed was very soft, which didn't agree with us, although I appreciate with others it wouldn't be a problem. On the whole, it wasn't a room I looked forward to returning to every evening. In so far as the communal spaces were concerned, the room(s) in which breakfast was served was not suited to the purpose, and I was astonished that the damaged cereal containers were still in use.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Imola

Hotel strategico

Posted Jul 20, 2016
A due passi dalla linea verde della metro che va da brooklyn ad harlem. A due passi da un market e da Starbucks. A due passi da Central Park. Rapporto qualità/prezzo ottimi. Peccato per i lavori in corso (e dureranno almeno 6 mesi) che dalle 8 di mattina (sabato compreso) facevano molto rumore ed era difficile dormire.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located to museums

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Historical building conveniently located. Awesome bed! Responsive, helpful, &friendly staff. Room cozy, comfortable look and feel. Great elevator.
Cons: Breakfast food and service. Provide lighting over bathroom sink mirror.
Location: Very close to all mass transit and tons of museums. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
We had a great time! Breakfast was only adequate. Good pastries, excellent oranges, and had fat free plain yogurt. Coffee/tea machine worked sporadically, only 2 cereals (corn flakes, sugary granola), no extras for yogurt (no dried fruit or nuts). Service in general was very good, but not on top of it in terms of keeping small breakfast area clean and replenished with supplies. Improvements in our small room: lighting over bathroom sink mirror.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, easy access to sightseeing

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Easy access to subway. Hotel staff are very pleasant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
loved it