Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a nice upper east side neighborhood.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Staff are great helpful and friendly. Have a nice continental breakfast, a wine and cheese time, and coffee and tea are available round the clock. Is an older hotel and rooms are very small. Bed was very comfortable. I have stayed here multiple times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale,fl

FRANKLIN

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and the coffee. Well done.
Cons: Bigger rooms. Refrigerator.
Location: Good location.
Enjoyed proximity to favorite sites. Thanks. Will keep in mind for next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms, comfortable bed, lots of construction

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The location of the Franklin Hotel is great. Close to buses, metro and the park. I was surprised however at how tiny the room was, especially the bathroom. Though the bed was very comfortable, the room overall was dark and not very cozy. I was disappointed to find out that there is extensive construction going on directly adjacent to the Franklin Hotel. This construction not only caused excessive noise in the early morning, but also malfunctions with the lights. I would not recommend this hotel during peak season when rates are high nor for long stays of more than one person. Also, it is important to note that each time you return to the hotel you need to have your key reprogrammed or it will not work when trying to access your Hotel room door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Don't stay here till the construction is over

Posted May 17, 2017
Horrendous is where I would start. Checked in around 6pm. Not a single towel in the room. Not even a wash cloth. Had to go out for dinner so couldn't even freshen up. They said they were waiting for towel delivery. Upon my return from dinner one big towel and hand towel. No wash cloth or bath mat. And NO HOT WATER! Construction started at 7am promptly. Sounds like they are jack hammering on the other side of the wall. I checked out IMMIDIATELY. I mentioned the hot water problem in the room and from desk says, it's not just your room, it's a line of rooms. So no sleep and no shower at this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Perfect Location

Posted May 6, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at The Franklin. Front desk was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and comfy bed. The location is perfect for everything we wanted to do. We went to Yankee Stadium, Central Park, Grand Central, dinner at Parlor Steak & Fish (it was delish with great service). We asked to stay an extra night and it was no problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. Just a heads up that there is construction going on next door but that's good (means people are working) lots of construction everywhere in Manhattan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff was very nice. Location was good and hotel was clean. Enjoyed the nice breakfast and happy hours provided. Rooms were very small and hard to move around in and bathrooms especially so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 11128

noisy

Posted Apr 12, 2017
You should mention that the hotel is noisy due to a construction next door If you are an early bird it's fine but starting 7 am the noise is unbearable they even offer you ear plugs at the reception . And this is gonna be for the next 3 years so I would say will not go back before the building next door is finished plus sometimes they get a permit to start at 5:am so definitely noisy
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Good experience

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
(Written 4/2017) Upon arrival I was worried. The hotel is very small, a throwback classic kind of look with a European flair. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. A few things to keep in mind: - The room keys need to be reprogrammed every time you enter the building. - The building is under construction so it's certainly not quiet when you're trying to sleep in the mornings. - The area around the hotel is great. Lots of local amenities and a whole foods which is nice for grabbing a quick healthy bite. - the hotel feels more like an old apartment. TVs need to be replaced. Plugs are straight from the 50s and not convenient (for charging devices).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Franklin Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Was a good stay. Construction outside overshadowed the beauty of the building. Staff was more than hopeful with my questions. Loved my room. Will definitely be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
There was no wifi in my room. Carpet was vacuumed but dirty, headboard was stained, and it was cold at night. The night desk manager was very nice and as helpful as he could be, but though he tried he couldn't fix the wifi. The bathroom, towels and sheets were clean, as was the mattress. Plus, $24 charge was added onto the bill for no clear reason.