Ratings based on 1,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Pros and Cons

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, nice staff, wine hour a nice touch.
Cons: They need to start putting some money into fixing wi-fi, hot water capacity and rundown common areas.
Location: Handy location for those who enjoy museums and the park. Handy amenities surround the location, such as Whole Foods, Starbucks, CVS, Eli's Essentials
First the Pros: 1. The staff is friendly and helpful, better than average. 2. The linens and towels are nice and the bed was comfortable. The shower head was nice. 3. There is a pleasant wine and cheese hour each day and the wine was very nice. 4. There is a convenient subway entrance around the block. Now the Cons: 1. They are letting the place get shabby. (Not like the website photos.) Time to reupholster the sitting room and replace the carpeting in the entry. This isn't a budget hotel, and there is no excuse for allowing the common areas to get run down. 2. This is an old building and our room location was quite noisy. Phantom banging may have been the elevator running. The hot water heater isn't big enough, and one morning they were all out of hot water for quite a while. I finally took a cool shower. 3. There is construction going on right next door, which was not mentioned on the website in booking the room, and it is six days a week beginning at 7 a.m. 4. The room is tight, which is predictable for an older building in Manhattan, but it is a good thing I'm thin, or could have never reached into the closet, because it was pretty much blocked by the night stand. 5. Don't expect the wi-fi to work in your room, because it doesn't. You will have to get on the computer downstairs or use up all of your data allowance on your phone. You also have the choice of going to Starbucks on the corner for free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint older feel in heart of Upper East Side

Posted May 7, 2016
Perfect location for a spring trip to Manhattan. A few blocks from the Park and same block as the 6 train for easy rides anywhere. Museum Mile couldn't be closer. Small hotel with a classic feel, from the facade to the Otis elevator to the chandeliers. Informal and friendly staff that remembered our special requests each day. I recommend the rooms with king beds and closets for a little more space and a nice view of E 87th St.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Nice place to stay. Great staff

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Price, cleanliness, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Not really much. Size of room was a little tight, but that's to be expected with the cost of NYC real estate.
Location: Lots of good local restaurants right at the hotel. Try the Infirmary restraurant, incredible food and staff as well
The staff was incredible and unbelievably helpful. The room size was less than desirable, but we made it work and at least it was clean. Just don't expect a large suite. Barely enough room to unpack our 2 suitcases. But who goes to NYC to hang out in the room anyways, right? The location was nice, although we spent most of our time downtown so it was a few extra minutes on the subway. Even with construction next door I was able to get a full nights sleep for all 3 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Honest Aussie Review

Posted May 1, 2016
I try and provide an honest review and not a complaining session. First thing you might want to check with the hotel is if construction is still happening next door. There is a lot of construction (building apartments or a hotel) right next door. Several mornings the jackhamers started at 7am. There was nothing written on their website, so email or ring them and check. When we stayed (April 2016) it looked like the construction would be there for a while. If you're a light sleeper, certainly look elsewhere. If it doesn't bother you, that's fine then. For those that want to complain that about New York hotels being small, you have to relaise you are in new York. Space is a premium. Having said that, this hotel is one of the smaller. If you have two people are in the bed one can reach out and touch a wall and the other person can almost touch the other wall. So these rooms are small, but it is a "boutique" hotel. Which simply means, small and lacking space. If you're wanting a bit more space, then this isn't the place for you. Those of you wanting good strong consistent internet, again maybe look elsewhere. The internet drops out, have to sign in again. Not the end of the world, but if you're wanting good strong internet, look elsewhere. Breakfast is limited, the breakfast room consists of 4 tables, enough room for 12 people, they have fruit, museli bars, cereals, pasteries, but not a lot of choice. Location is great, 87th st subway around the corner 1 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haarlem

Very good location hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Subway (line 4-5-6) within 200 m.
The location of the hotel is great, subway (line 4-5-6) like 200 meters away. The hotel is clean, the staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are small, but you don't want to stay in your room when you are in New York. You can hear all noises from outside, which could be disturbing when there is rain or construction in the neighborhood or drunk English guests.... The breakfast is not so good, but you can get breakfast in every 50 meters.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bem localizado mas precisa de melhorias

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Atendimento da equipe é muito bom.
Cons: Limpeza do hotel, troca dos carpetes ou substituição por piso de madeira, troca dos colchões e travesseiros, roupa de cama de maiores dimensões
Location: Muito bem localizado no Upper East Side
Pontos positivos: localização muito boa. Equipe do hotel muito atenciosa e prestativa. Oferece happy hour grátis todos os dias com vinhos, queijo, amendoim e biscoitos, o que é excelente. Preço adequado. Acesso ao wifi é adequado e grátis. Pontos negativos: limpeza do hotel classificada como B pelos padrões da Sanitation de New York. Carpetes velhos e com sinais de desgaste do tempo e sujeira incrustada. Colchões e travesseiros ruins. Roupa de cama pequena para cama queen size. Imagens de vários canais da televisão são tremidas ou duplas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Close to the Metro and great food

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: VERY friendly and multilingual staff, the breakfast was good, the twenty-four hour coffee/cappuccino station was handy and the sitting room was great.
Cons: I wish I had known that construction on the weekdays started at 7 am before I booked, as I am not an early riser, but definitely became one.
Location: Right near the 86th/Lexington Metro station, plenty of great restaurants within a 3 block radius, shopping, people-watching, very accessible.
I was a little worried when I realized the building next door was in the process of being demolished, but the staff were wonderful. The hotel is a piece of history, with a beautiful manual-door elevator and traditional neon sign. The room we happened to stay in was a little on the small side, and had no refrigerator, but we knew it was advertised as a "small queen" and itwas clean and comfortable otherwise, with good hot water, a modern bathroom and clever space-saver solutions. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel conveniently located to Central Park

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Our initial impression wasn't wonderful because the front entry looks a bit shabby. However the reception people were pleasant and competent and our room was very nice and had what we needed. They offer a nice continental breakfast. The location was very convenient for us. The 6 subway line is right around the corner on Lexington and Central Park was a few short blocks away. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old world charm but few modcons

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent location close to museums and shops.
Cons: More powerpoints in the rooms and a few more breakfast choices,
Location: Easy to get to the Cooper-Hewitt museum and the Guggenheim and Central Park. Great Wholefoods shop just one block away.
The Franklin Hotel has some interesting period features like an old fashioned lift and pretty cornicing in the rooms. However, due to the smallness of the rooms, I could not open my closet door without hitting it on the bedside table. I also struggled to fund a powerpoint for plugging in my phone charger. The breakfast is very basic and the breakfast room tiny. And the construction noise every morning at 7 am was hard to take. However, the hotel does have a certain quirky charm with friendly staff and an excellent location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: We love the location!
Location: Guggenheim, the Met, Park Avenue, 5th Avenue, within walking distance of so many great venues
It was a great experience. We love the location. It's close to Papaya King (very delicious), the Met (one of our favorites), the Neue Gallery (fabulous), and the Guggenheim (always interesting).