Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
.good location Small room Okay breakfast .good location Small room Okay breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Review

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location was well suited for the expectations my girlfriend and I had for the week. Subway was close by, and Central Park a short walk away.
Cons: Heating - needed controlling. Cereal containers - replaced. Additional Wifi Routers - to extend availability & efficiency.
Location: It's New York; just explore!
First impressions were good, and the location was great: close to subway station, Starbucks and a Whole Foods. The condition/appearance of the hotel was generally good, but it bothered me that the elevator/lift was small & slow, and on using the staircase discovered a poorly maintained decor, and a multitude of exposed cables. The room was small, especially the bathroom - and I accept this is common in NY - but this was disappointing, and it appeared that a significant, large diameter, water pipe ran from ceiling to floor, immediately adjacent to the door. The room was warm, but no controls existed to manage the temperature, and when I asked at the Reception Desk, a solution was not available, without adjusting the heating for the whole building. When the weather improved later in the week, the temperature became very uncomfortable in our room. We had no refrigerator, so nowhere to store drinks or small food items and being at the end of the corridor at the back of the hotel meant that wifi access was achievable in the bathroom, and the front corner of the bed. The bed was very soft, which didn't agree with us, although I appreciate with others it wouldn't be a problem. On the whole, it wasn't a room I looked forward to returning to every evening. In so far as the communal spaces were concerned, the room(s) in which breakfast was served was not suited to the purpose, and I was astonished that the damaged cereal containers were still in use.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Imola

Hotel strategico

Posted Jul 20, 2016
A due passi dalla linea verde della metro che va da brooklyn ad harlem. A due passi da un market e da Starbucks. A due passi da Central Park. Rapporto qualità/prezzo ottimi. Peccato per i lavori in corso (e dureranno almeno 6 mesi) che dalle 8 di mattina (sabato compreso) facevano molto rumore ed era difficile dormire.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located to museums

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Historical building conveniently located. Awesome bed! Responsive, helpful, &friendly staff. Room cozy, comfortable look and feel. Great elevator.
Cons: Breakfast food and service. Provide lighting over bathroom sink mirror.
Location: Very close to all mass transit and tons of museums. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
We had a great time! Breakfast was only adequate. Good pastries, excellent oranges, and had fat free plain yogurt. Coffee/tea machine worked sporadically, only 2 cereals (corn flakes, sugary granola), no extras for yogurt (no dried fruit or nuts). Service in general was very good, but not on top of it in terms of keeping small breakfast area clean and replenished with supplies. Improvements in our small room: lighting over bathroom sink mirror.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, easy access to sightseeing

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Easy access to subway. Hotel staff are very pleasant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Pros and Cons

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, nice staff, wine hour a nice touch.
Cons: They need to start putting some money into fixing wi-fi, hot water capacity and rundown common areas.
Location: Handy location for those who enjoy museums and the park. Handy amenities surround the location, such as Whole Foods, Starbucks, CVS, Eli's Essentials
First the Pros: 1. The staff is friendly and helpful, better than average. 2. The linens and towels are nice and the bed was comfortable. The shower head was nice. 3. There is a pleasant wine and cheese hour each day and the wine was very nice. 4. There is a convenient subway entrance around the block. Now the Cons: 1. They are letting the place get shabby. (Not like the website photos.) Time to reupholster the sitting room and replace the carpeting in the entry. This isn't a budget hotel, and there is no excuse for allowing the common areas to get run down. 2. This is an old building and our room location was quite noisy. Phantom banging may have been the elevator running. The hot water heater isn't big enough, and one morning they were all out of hot water for quite a while. I finally took a cool shower. 3. There is construction going on right next door, which was not mentioned on the website in booking the room, and it is six days a week beginning at 7 a.m. 4. The room is tight, which is predictable for an older building in Manhattan, but it is a good thing I'm thin, or could have never reached into the closet, because it was pretty much blocked by the night stand. 5. Don't expect the wi-fi to work in your room, because it doesn't. You will have to get on the computer downstairs or use up all of your data allowance on your phone. You also have the choice of going to Starbucks on the corner for free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint older feel in heart of Upper East Side

Posted May 7, 2016
Perfect location for a spring trip to Manhattan. A few blocks from the Park and same block as the 6 train for easy rides anywhere. Museum Mile couldn't be closer. Small hotel with a classic feel, from the facade to the Otis elevator to the chandeliers. Informal and friendly staff that remembered our special requests each day. I recommend the rooms with king beds and closets for a little more space and a nice view of E 87th St.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Nice place to stay. Great staff

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Price, cleanliness, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Not really much. Size of room was a little tight, but that's to be expected with the cost of NYC real estate.
Location: Lots of good local restaurants right at the hotel. Try the Infirmary restraurant, incredible food and staff as well
The staff was incredible and unbelievably helpful. The room size was less than desirable, but we made it work and at least it was clean. Just don't expect a large suite. Barely enough room to unpack our 2 suitcases. But who goes to NYC to hang out in the room anyways, right? The location was nice, although we spent most of our time downtown so it was a few extra minutes on the subway. Even with construction next door I was able to get a full nights sleep for all 3 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Honest Aussie Review

Posted May 1, 2016
I try and provide an honest review and not a complaining session. First thing you might want to check with the hotel is if construction is still happening next door. There is a lot of construction (building apartments or a hotel) right next door. Several mornings the jackhamers started at 7am. There was nothing written on their website, so email or ring them and check. When we stayed (April 2016) it looked like the construction would be there for a while. If you're a light sleeper, certainly look elsewhere. If it doesn't bother you, that's fine then. For those that want to complain that about New York hotels being small, you have to relaise you are in new York. Space is a premium. Having said that, this hotel is one of the smaller. If you have two people are in the bed one can reach out and touch a wall and the other person can almost touch the other wall. So these rooms are small, but it is a "boutique" hotel. Which simply means, small and lacking space. If you're wanting a bit more space, then this isn't the place for you. Those of you wanting good strong consistent internet, again maybe look elsewhere. The internet drops out, have to sign in again. Not the end of the world, but if you're wanting good strong internet, look elsewhere. Breakfast is limited, the breakfast room consists of 4 tables, enough room for 12 people, they have fruit, museli bars, cereals, pasteries, but not a lot of choice. Location is great, 87th st subway around the corner 1 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haarlem

Very good location hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Subway (line 4-5-6) within 200 m.
The location of the hotel is great, subway (line 4-5-6) like 200 meters away. The hotel is clean, the staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are small, but you don't want to stay in your room when you are in New York. You can hear all noises from outside, which could be disturbing when there is rain or construction in the neighborhood or drunk English guests.... The breakfast is not so good, but you can get breakfast in every 50 meters.