Ratings based on 1,265 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Don't stay here till the construction is over

Posted May 17, 2017
Horrendous is where I would start. Checked in around 6pm. Not a single towel in the room. Not even a wash cloth. Had to go out for dinner so couldn't even freshen up. They said they were waiting for towel delivery. Upon my return from dinner one big towel and hand towel. No wash cloth or bath mat. And NO HOT WATER! Construction started at 7am promptly. Sounds like they are jack hammering on the other side of the wall. I checked out IMMIDIATELY. I mentioned the hot water problem in the room and from desk says, it's not just your room, it's a line of rooms. So no sleep and no shower at this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Perfect Location

Posted May 6, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at The Franklin. Front desk was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and comfy bed. The location is perfect for everything we wanted to do. We went to Yankee Stadium, Central Park, Grand Central, dinner at Parlor Steak & Fish (it was delish with great service). We asked to stay an extra night and it was no problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. Just a heads up that there is construction going on next door but that's good (means people are working) lots of construction everywhere in Manhattan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 11128

noisy

Posted Apr 12, 2017
You should mention that the hotel is noisy due to a construction next door If you are an early bird it's fine but starting 7 am the noise is unbearable they even offer you ear plugs at the reception . And this is gonna be for the next 3 years so I would say will not go back before the building next door is finished plus sometimes they get a permit to start at 5:am so definitely noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Franklin Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Was a good stay. Construction outside overshadowed the beauty of the building. Staff was more than hopeful with my questions. Loved my room. Will definitely be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
There was no wifi in my room. Carpet was vacuumed but dirty, headboard was stained, and it was cold at night. The night desk manager was very nice and as helpful as he could be, but though he tried he couldn't fix the wifi. The bathroom, towels and sheets were clean, as was the mattress. Plus, $24 charge was added onto the bill for no clear reason.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Small but clean and nice rooms.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The rooms and staff
Cons: Please the lobby, it make a poor first impresion
Location: Again, near the Park and museums. Could walk to 5th Ave stores but it will take 30 to 40 minutes
Pleasant and helpful staff, the lobby needs a lot of improvement. Location convenient to Central Park and the Museums
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

NO heat & No blankets

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The outside temperature was 20 F and there was NO heat in the room. Furthermore, there were NO extra blankets. I had to sleep in my clothing the first night. (Friday/4th Floor) The second night they transferred me to another room on the sixth floor. There was functional heat and an extra blanket. (Saturday/6th Floor) I could NOT recommend this hotel to anyone at the price that I paid. I could have stayed in a shelter and been more comfortable. My presentation was at 10 AM on Saturday morning after having a night of marginal sleep. The WiFi was never able to connect on two different rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very quaint and comfy. Only complaint is the heat does not work. Room was very cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and private

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
A cozy, private and comfortable room in the heart of the museum area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel in UES with all the amenities

Posted Jan 30, 2017
At first seems a little outdated (check in, elevator) but the rooms are clean and updated. Rooms and bathrooms are a little small but goes with the 1920s so can't complain. Everything worked well and my only complaint was the lack of a decent view. Otherwise it was great and met our needs for the weekend!