Ratings based on 1,255 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
There was no wifi in my room. Carpet was vacuumed but dirty, headboard was stained, and it was cold at night. The night desk manager was very nice and as helpful as he could be, but though he tried he couldn't fix the wifi. The bathroom, towels and sheets were clean, as was the mattress. Plus, $24 charge was added onto the bill for no clear reason.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Small but clean and nice rooms.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The rooms and staff
Cons: Please the lobby, it make a poor first impresion
Location: Again, near the Park and museums. Could walk to 5th Ave stores but it will take 30 to 40 minutes
Pleasant and helpful staff, the lobby needs a lot of improvement. Location convenient to Central Park and the Museums
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very quaint and comfy. Only complaint is the heat does not work. Room was very cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel in UES with all the amenities

Posted Jan 30, 2017
At first seems a little outdated (check in, elevator) but the rooms are clean and updated. Rooms and bathrooms are a little small but goes with the 1920s so can't complain. Everything worked well and my only complaint was the lack of a decent view. Otherwise it was great and met our needs for the weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean, very nice staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Clean, very nice staff, great location, free upgrade. This is a little boutique hotel. Very charming 1920 Al Capone elevators, small rooms. The rooms, however, are clean, fresh white bedding, charming. Btw, I'm a cleanliness freak and the housekeeping staff keeps me happy 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Value boutique hotel with good location.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. They were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: It could be a little noisy form normal New York City noise plus nearby temporary construction.
Location: You can walk to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim.
The Franklin is a cosy boutique hotel in a good location. It is an easy walk to museums and Central Park. A subway entrance is just around the corner. Good quality restaurants are plentiful as are deli, coffee shops, grocery, and pharmacies. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was free wine and cheese in the evening and a free continental breakfast in the morning. The overall price was modest in comparison with other nearby hotels.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

fabulous place to stay

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
I love going to this hotel. It is welcoming and cozy. Great part of town to be in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, in

Upper East side boutique hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
We came back to this upper Eastside boutique hotel because we loved the convenience of the location and the European ambience. Easy access from LaGuardia and then to the subway. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed. We particularly enjoyed the luxury bath amenities, European breakfast, and evening wine and cheese. Unfortunately, this visit also had some disappointments: we were never able to connect to the Wi-Fi, the construction next door woke us promptly at 7am daily, and despite asking each day, we could never seem to get more than one wash cloth to go with our two towels and two guests. I will still give them another try when I return to NYC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location
No heat in room, TV broken and staff not helpful. Overall it was a big disappointment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to museums and restaurants. Inexpensive. R

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I enjoyed myself. Biding museums and eating inexpensively