Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very quaint and comfy. Only complaint is the heat does not work. Room was very cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel in UES with all the amenities

Posted Jan 30, 2017
At first seems a little outdated (check in, elevator) but the rooms are clean and updated. Rooms and bathrooms are a little small but goes with the 1920s so can't complain. Everything worked well and my only complaint was the lack of a decent view. Otherwise it was great and met our needs for the weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean, very nice staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Clean, very nice staff, great location, free upgrade. This is a little boutique hotel. Very charming 1920 Al Capone elevators, small rooms. The rooms, however, are clean, fresh white bedding, charming. Btw, I'm a cleanliness freak and the housekeeping staff keeps me happy 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Value boutique hotel with good location.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. They were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: It could be a little noisy form normal New York City noise plus nearby temporary construction.
Location: You can walk to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim.
The Franklin is a cosy boutique hotel in a good location. It is an easy walk to museums and Central Park. A subway entrance is just around the corner. Good quality restaurants are plentiful as are deli, coffee shops, grocery, and pharmacies. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was free wine and cheese in the evening and a free continental breakfast in the morning. The overall price was modest in comparison with other nearby hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, in

Upper East side boutique hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
We came back to this upper Eastside boutique hotel because we loved the convenience of the location and the European ambience. Easy access from LaGuardia and then to the subway. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed. We particularly enjoyed the luxury bath amenities, European breakfast, and evening wine and cheese. Unfortunately, this visit also had some disappointments: we were never able to connect to the Wi-Fi, the construction next door woke us promptly at 7am daily, and despite asking each day, we could never seem to get more than one wash cloth to go with our two towels and two guests. I will still give them another try when I return to NYC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location
No heat in room, TV broken and staff not helpful. Overall it was a big disappointment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to museums and restaurants. Inexpensive. R

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I enjoyed myself. Biding museums and eating inexpensively
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Construction - Lots of noise

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel is in a nice location and neighborhood. They are currently constructing an apartment building next door and construction on some nights goes through the night. So if you are adverse to loud noises such as the pounding of hammers then my suggestion is to call and find out if construction has been completed; otherwise its a nice old hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Convenient location, comfortable

Posted Dec 15, 2016
This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. This time our room was much smaller than the room on our previous visit. We asked for an upgrade but they were sold out. We like this hotel because it is in a convenient location for us and they have complimentary breakfast. The only criticism I have is that the upholstered headboard shows signs of wear and use. When you reserve, do not choose the "small" room. It is hard to move around for more than one person. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

good hotel for Museum Mile

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Modest, but good breakfast. Clean rooms. GREAT location. Lots of restaurant options quite close, and perfect for Upper East Side museums. Subway close
Cons: A bit of a "face lift,"--but otherwise, I like it.
Location: Second Av has lots of restaurant choices. All museums on Fifth Ave are within walking distance.
I like the Franklin a lot. It could use a bit of an upgrade, but it's clean and pleasant. Great staff.