Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, CT

Great hotel close to everything you want to see!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Close to Grand Central Terminal and only a short walk from Times Square and Fifth Avenue. Lots of good restaurant choices around. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms were in need of a little TLC. Rough around the edges with things like missing hooks in bathroom and obvious wear and tear.
Location: Close to Grand Central and Times Square. Walking distance to tons of good restaurants and Broadway theaters.
Great hotel with an unbelievably friendly and helpful staff. Location is perfect for anyone taking the train into NYC. Very close to Grand Central so you can easily catch a train to anywhere in the city. The steakhouse in the hotel looked very nice, however we didn't try it. Surprisingly it also served breakfast. The only negative I could think of was that the room was a little tired. One of the hooks in the bathroom had been ripped out and hastily fixed. The room look well used but was very clean, comfortable, and extremely spacious for NYC. Overall this was a very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to theaters and restaurants/bars

Posted Jan 16, 2017
In town to see a show. Staff very friendly. Lighting in the room was terrible. Clean except for carpet! Was excited to have a "terrace" until we saw it---overlooking the air conditioning units😫. Don't think we'll be back...it's a block from Roosevelt where we usually stay and can't compare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice Hotel in a very central location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: LOCATION! And shared terrace was beautiful; room terrace did not have much of a view of anything besides ugly office buildings.
Cons: House Keeping. Would have to ask for towels, coffee, cups DAILY. No top sheet on the bed. Hair from last guest still in the shower.
Location: Great location. Central to Rockefeller center, Times Square, Bryant Park, and easy subway transportation from Grand Central.
Great location and nice hotel! The rooms were some of the largest I have ever had in NYC, but house keeping lacked. Hotel was under some renovations, nothing too extensive or loud.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel sucked

Posted Jan 15, 2017
They have taken a run down hotel and kind of tried to update it a little. If you stay here in the winter make sure you are OK with sleeping in 40° weather because that's about how warm your room will get even with the heater on full blast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Comfort , clean & roomy , balcony is a plus! However , can't sleep all night because noise either from the street or construction site , ran like theif in the next day! Lol...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Close proximity to the city life.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Thought the location was great. Price was definitely worth us having our own terrace. The hotel is a little old and dated inside you can tell it hasn't been remodeled in some time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Hotel was just ok. The housekeeping staff didn't do a very good job cleaning the room. I would definitely disagree with the 4 1/2 star rating Expedia gives. Our view was so bad that we couldn't enjoy our terrace. For the last day and a half the wifi was down. Overall I wasn't very pleased with this hotel. One positive was the doorman Eldis. He was very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was good though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to everything we wanted to see

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: coffee service or at least consistence set-up - had to go to dunkin or goffery's down on the street a couple of days.
Location: we could have called for coffee pods, but they seem to be the wrong size - strange one corner 5th Ave. the other Madison no need to say more
No terrace furniture had to request, was given two small chairs. no table offered carpeting look like it was from a old motel 6 housekeeping - could not make bed properly - coffee service hit and miss - coffee counter never cleaned. front desk staff nice and pleasant - full of information
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating

Posted Dec 29, 2016
When we checked in we were upgraded! Everything we needed was answered for and the staff was amazing. Thank you for a wonderful and friendly stay in NYC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Small, modern hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Small, boutique hotel; excellent location, very reasonable rates for midtown Manhattan.
Cons: More lighting in the rooms.
Location: Everything that midtown Manhattan has to offer.
The Gotham is midtown, between Fifth and Madison Avenues, just north of Grand Central Terminal. It's in the middle of great shopping, major bus lines, and all the subways and commuter rail of Grand Central. It's in a modern building, skinny and tall, which means there are only 1-4 rooms per floor. Hint: when we were there, the hotel has no sign from the sidewalk - what's announced at the entrance is the restaurant/bar within (Wolfgang). We had a major problem with our room, which angered me until the manager worked hard and earnestly to make up for the problem -- so in net, I'll give it a good review and would be willing to try it again.