Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham england

charming hotel with vintage décor

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: safe in the hotel room was free of charge and the fridge
Cons: tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: close to times square, maceys and the empire state building
we had a pleasant stay clean room close to attractions ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Friendly staff, very clean, excellent location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The staff were incredibly friendly, especially the fellow at the front desk who helped us with our luggage and held off the traffic while he was helping us into our shuttle. The cleaning staff were also very friendly and our rooms were cleaned nicely every day. The Gregory acomodated our request for a view of the Empire State with no problems. The location couldn't have been better, only a short walk to Times Square and right next to unlimited shopping - centrally located to all the popular spots in Manhattan! Room rates were affordable. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North carolina

Good hotel very well situated near mid-town.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Good hotel with adequate amenities very well situated near mid-town. Subways all close. Can walk to most midtown attractions. No concierge service, but cabs plentiful in the area. Limited lobby space and hotel bar also on the small side. Rooms very comfortable, great beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
There was air in the pipes which resulted in extremely loud screeching whenever another room was using water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with a fabulous staff.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were hands down the most friendly I've ever met in a hotel. The building itself has tons of character and an old world charm.
Cons: Not much. But this is not your hotel if you are looking for a chain feel with amenities and everything super clean and sparkling.
Staying at the Gregory this past week was an absolute pleasure! Each time we returned from our outings it felt like we were coming back home. The staff made us feel safe and looked after in the face of the big impending storm. The rooms were clean and well taken care of. The bathrooms could have been cleaned a bit better. But the beds were comfortable and the noise from the road was minimal which made for a good night's sleep. This hotel is an old one but renovated beautifully, with updated decor and comfort while maintaining it's charm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middletown,NY

Mixed review

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nice hotel, a bit overpriced. Had some issues with billing and needed to speak to the manager. We were told several times he was not in and would call us upon his return. He never did. Had to add an additional night because of a blizzard and felt a bit taken advantage as far as room price and the hotel had the upper hand. Room was a bit drafty near the windows and my husband had to place towels to keep wind out. Room cleaning staff were lovely. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff at the front desk were lukewarm at best. Hotel is conveniently located to many NYC attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A slice of real NY

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Cool retro feel, minimal but with character
Cons: the gym was rudimentary
Location: Great location
Why stay in an identikit chain hotel when you can stay in a very comfortable, cool place at a great value price?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel close to Times Square

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Had a comfortable stay, nice big bed, lovely shower and bathroom and friendly concierge. Only downsides were the room temperature as it is all controlled by outside weather conditions and was usually too hot at night and usually too cold during the day. Located in a great position, only 15mins walk to Times Square and with Empire State Building and Madison square right around the corner. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfy location was great staff was very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Cute & unique boutique hotel in great location!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, Architecture, Price, Ease of Access, Staff
Cons: They could easily improve some of the furnishings with just some paint and some pictures. Perhaps they're working on this. :)
Location: Half a block from Macy's and others, steps from major subway, one street from Empire State Building, and plenty of cool restaurants and bars all over.
The Gregory is a very charming boutique hotel, especially among the sea of generic chains available in NYC. While seemingly small from the street, the rooms appear to be quite large, especially by New York standards. I was in a Standard King room, but there was nothing standard about the size. I had a lot of room, and more natural light than I have ever had before staying in this city. There was an abundance of windows. Being around 130 years old, the room had a 'grand' feel about it, but I was disappointed it wasn't better decorated or appointed. Some of the furniture appeared new or recently redone (the chair, desk, and lamps were all in great shape), some of the other furniture had seen better days, and most of the walls were just begging to have something hung on them. The bathroom, while a standard NYC size (small), was excellently refurbished and was very nice. My biggest issue in the room was the radiator. It was either terribly hot or off. Apparently, individual rooms cannot be turned off (although different employees had different answers to this). The only option I had was to use the AC to counteract the very aggressive radiator. A lovely employee assured me they were working very hard to fix this for the future. And the topic of staff, I found most of them to be quite friendly. More of a casual setting here, which I liked. There are no bells and whistles here, but the hotel is charming and the location is absolutely perfect.