Ratings based on 2,191 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels left every day. The bed was very comfortable. There is a subway about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Our only complaint is that the shops nearby have all sorts for sale out front. This makes the street very smelly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I had a great stay at hotel 91 in April. The train didn't bother me at all and everything was nice and clean. I am planning to stay again when I visit NYC in march.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The hotel was relatively inexpensive, and the staff was nice. Small rooms, but who actually stays in the room while vacationing anyway. The smell of garbage on the streets was disgusting, but that's NY for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We read a bunch of reviews after booking this hotel. All said clean rooms, great location but noisy. Our room was clean. The location was fantastic and it wasn't even that noisy. We heard the trains go by during the day but it never woke us up. I'd say this hotel was a lot less noisier than a Sheraton I stayed at on my last trip. That hotel was up on 54th street. The staff was friendly and the price was great. We arrived at 10 am and asked if we could check in early and we did. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I have stayed at hotel 91 many times and each time has been a very good experience. Checkin is alway quick and the staff is very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Budget hotel right in the middle of China town

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Great little hotel in an excellent location. friendly staff and clean rooms ideal if all you want is somewhere to sleep after a days sightseeing. Right near manhattan bridge so was some noise from metro however after a couple of days didn't really notice it . Plenty of metro stops close by so easy to get round. The only thing I would've liked was tea making facilities in the room. They do have tea and coffee in the lounge but couldn't be bothered to go up and down a kettle would have been nice All in all nice place for the money would definitely recommend to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dutchess County

Convenient to government services for 2+ people.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Value.
Cons: Up-front help with getting non-Chinese food.
Location: It's nuts unless you're Chinese, but it's close to a lot of others at great value.
Crazy Chinatown neighborhood, windows just feet from the traffic on the Manhattan bridge, including regular subways, but double windows keep it quite quiet, the A/C works great, the beds are comfy, the TV words, and the bathroom is clean. Good deal for families or small groups sharing a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Good value for the location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room was quiet even though the hotel is right next to the elevated train. The staff was very helpful and friendly in providing us with assistance in finding a nearby Apple store and the 9/11 Museum. Several Chinese markets right outside the door allowed us to easily purchase snacks and beverages.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, Efficient, No Frills

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: I liked the reasonable rate and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: It's a no-frills hotel, but access to better coffee, tea, etc.. would be appreciated.
Location: The location is in Chinatown, but is easily accessible to lower manhattan by train, UBER or cab.
Hotel 91 is a reasonably priced hotel in lower Manhattan. While it offers little in the way of customer amenities (small lobby, small lounge with self-serve instant coffee) and the room was spartan, it was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. Be aware the rooms on the west side are right next to the Manhattan Bridge and the rail lines that use it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Recommend to others ' YES DEFINITELY!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Friendly staff, comfy beds, cleaned and serviced daily, we even had a big window which we could open too! Hotel sits in a good place in Chinatown food and subway wise BUT if u r not a good sleeper or sensitive tp noise the train is right next door.. Didn't bother us with or without earplugs.but for the more sensitive people it would be a no no.