Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Good TriBeCa/SOho location in boutiquey hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice bouitiqe hotel convenient to TriBeCa and Soho locations. Quiet, clean and good staff but tiny rooms and IKEA like furnishings. David Burke kitchen restaurant is outstanding. Roof top bar is comfortable with good views but don't go for the drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Central Soho location w boutique luxury

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The staff was excellent when we checked in upgrading our room. They are on the smaller side but laid out very efficiently. Comfortable bed and good shower. Try the roof bar which has an amazing view. The restaurant is amazing. Great location and Bell coffee across the street is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Dan, Thank you for your five star review. I am thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities like our rooftop bar and restaurant along with our neighborhood coffee shop. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This is not just the James hotel. We wake up during the night hot. The Ac gets turned off or goes automatically to a warmer setting- Would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your review. I am disappointed to hear you had an issue with the A/C unit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Michael, We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your five star review. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Alex K

I will be back...

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
I was very surprised and impressed with my stay seeing as this was my first time in manhattan. The view from the hotel were great, the location was perfect, etc. The door man, the front desk, and housekeeping were A-1.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Alex K, Thank you so much for sharing your amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and more so that our team was able to have such a positive impact. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value for money, given location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Price, location, views from room
Cons: Help customers with luggage!
Location: Perfectly located for Soho, Tribeca and Financial district, Canal Street Subway station entrance 20 meters away
In general, staying at James New York was a great experience. Soho, Tribeca and DownTown are all a very short and enjoyable walk away. I had a corner studio room and recommend spending that little more as the views are great and help you feel connected with the city. The shower and bathroom was modern and refreshing, a very comfy bed that aided sleeping and dealing with jet lag from Europe and reliable TV and internet service in the room. I also liked that the windows in the room could be opened, so allowing fresh air into the room. Likewise, the bar on the top floor offers amazing cocktails and a stunning view of the city: very chic and stylish and made me feel like I was in a movie! Also there is a fantastic sushi restaurant and a cool coffee bar directly opposite hotel and a fantastic deli/convenience store next door. My only criticism is the lack of help from staff with luggage! They never helped me at all when arriving at hotel via taxi, to getting luggage into my room at reception. It felt like this was a policy rather than an oversight. I was very happy to tip staff so Im not sure why it happened but it left a bad taste. They should address this ASAP.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Toffael, Thank you so much for taking the time out to share your experience. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our location as well as our beautiful views. Having our lobby assistance not help our guest is absolutely not policy and we will address accordingly. As you can see from many other reviews our team is continuously getting mentioned for going above and beyond for our guest. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best in SOHO

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The James has such a cool vibe! The staff is incredibly sweet, especially my man Kenny at the door. And room service rocks in the morning.
Cons: Nada
Location: My favorite Japanese restaurant, Hirohisa, is a block away. And dont miss the brunch at Boqueria, with unlimited sangria and breakfast paella!
I have stayed here several times over the past year. Love the location, the staff, the comfortable rooms, the rooftop bar... And the on site David Burke restaurant is outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good day, Your review is amazing and we can not thank you enough for being a loyal James guest! I will be sure to share this with Kenny as he truly is an asset to our team and is driven by guest feedback. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
by Geneviève

Great service and OK room

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
PROS: I didn't stay long in this hotel but I got great service from the front desk. I got a corner room so full windows, it was little, but quaint. CONS: The view wasn't great in this area of town and since the building faces other buildings, I had to close the blinds the whole time so I wouldn't give the neighbors a show. The room was really cold when I got in the room so I cranked up the heat. The fan would wake me up in the middle of the night as there was a weird clicking noise every time it would come on. I also ordered breakfast between 7:30 and 8:00 and there was a knock on the door at 7:20 waking me up prematurely for stale & cold toasts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Genevieve, Thank you for taking the time out to share your recent experience with us. While I am thrilled we were about to provide great service I am disappointed we failed you in other areas. I will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping, engineering and in room dinning team so that everyone is aware of the concerns you addressed and so that no other guest is affected. I thank you again for your feedback. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Nice Place!

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was working in NY, so my partner came with me to stay the night. The room was very nice and comfortable, the view was great, the bed was comfortable, and the rain drop shower was great. The staff was very nice, and the room service attendant was awesome. The rooftop bar was very good with great views, and a very mature but fun atmosphere. I will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Mr. Matthew, Thank you so much for our 5 star review. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Soheila

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was very comfy and clean. Employees were so curtiuos and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Soheila, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your kind works with the staff. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager