Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This is not just the James hotel. We wake up during the night hot. The Ac gets turned off or goes automatically to a warmer setting- Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value for money, given location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Price, location, views from room
Cons: Help customers with luggage!
Location: Perfectly located for Soho, Tribeca and Financial district, Canal Street Subway station entrance 20 meters away
In general, staying at James New York was a great experience. Soho, Tribeca and DownTown are all a very short and enjoyable walk away. I had a corner studio room and recommend spending that little more as the views are great and help you feel connected with the city. The shower and bathroom was modern and refreshing, a very comfy bed that aided sleeping and dealing with jet lag from Europe and reliable TV and internet service in the room. I also liked that the windows in the room could be opened, so allowing fresh air into the room. Likewise, the bar on the top floor offers amazing cocktails and a stunning view of the city: very chic and stylish and made me feel like I was in a movie! Also there is a fantastic sushi restaurant and a cool coffee bar directly opposite hotel and a fantastic deli/convenience store next door. My only criticism is the lack of help from staff with luggage! They never helped me at all when arriving at hotel via taxi, to getting luggage into my room at reception. It felt like this was a policy rather than an oversight. I was very happy to tip staff so Im not sure why it happened but it left a bad taste. They should address this ASAP.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Toffael, Thank you so much for taking the time out to share your experience. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our location as well as our beautiful views. Having our lobby assistance not help our guest is absolutely not policy and we will address accordingly. As you can see from many other reviews our team is continuously getting mentioned for going above and beyond for our guest. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best in SOHO

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The James has such a cool vibe! The staff is incredibly sweet, especially my man Kenny at the door. And room service rocks in the morning.
Cons: Nada
Location: My favorite Japanese restaurant, Hirohisa, is a block away. And dont miss the brunch at Boqueria, with unlimited sangria and breakfast paella!
I have stayed here several times over the past year. Love the location, the staff, the comfortable rooms, the rooftop bar... And the on site David Burke restaurant is outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good day, Your review is amazing and we can not thank you enough for being a loyal James guest! I will be sure to share this with Kenny as he truly is an asset to our team and is driven by guest feedback. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Overall an amazing stay! I thoroughly enjoyed it and had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good day, Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No view

Posted Jan 17, 2017
View wasn't how it was advertised on the website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, but hotel needs better management.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, decor somewhat, pleasant staff.
Cons: Management.
No heat in first room, non working phone and heavy air spray in room finally used. I gave up by then as I was tired from a late arrival. Others issues as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good day, I am both disappointed and surprised to read your feedback. As you can see from our many positive reviews, your experience is certainly not in line with our standards for cleanliness and service. We have reviewed with our executive team and will address accordingly. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and nice touches

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Designer hotel with excellent service. The interiors shows many signs of use now but you will forget about this when getting so much nice attention from the staff. Rooms are small but efficient. brilliant is tasty coffee and cookies in the morning and wine and cheese at night to get to know your 'neighbors'. These touches were important for me as well that water is free of charge in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello, We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our many amenities we provide to our guest. It is feedback like yours that encourages us to continue to strive for the best. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Thanks James and Maurice for being so rad, and helping us out with a late checkout. The hotel's David Burke restaurant is really great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good day, Thank you so much for your five star review. I will be sure to share your wonderful feedback with the team as they are always thrilled to hear they left an impact on our guest. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Small rooms, great location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The rain shower, the DB Kitchen and the Jimmy. It is hip and trendy without the overly touristy Manhattan crowd, close to great shopping & Chinatown.
Cons: The cleaning crew could be better.
Location: It's east to catch a cab and you can still walk to everything. We visited coffee shops, bars, high-end shopping, the Blue Note & Chinatown walking.
The rooms are tiny, but the location is excellent. Having the Jimmy and David Burke Kitchen are great to have. The convenience is awesome. The cleaning staff, while nice could definitely be better. We had to request face cloths! The rain shower is awesome, but there is no fan in the bathroom - also the electric shades are great. The beds could use an upgrade and the pillows are too flat. Good use of space even though it is small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Mrs. B, Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback from your recent stay. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy some of the great amenities we have here at The James such as DB Kitchen and Jimmy as well as our amazing location. I will be sure to share your review with our entire team including housekeeping as they do pride themselves of offering the most cleanliness of rooms. Warmest regards Kristina Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Perfectly located to mass transit.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Although our stay was 1 night (a birthday get away for myself). We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, everything was perfect especially the food from David Burke Kitchen...divine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Rhonda, Thank you so much for an amazing review. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your birthday with us! Warmest regards, Kristina Perez