Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Florida

Great Views, Wonderful Staff

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much.
Location: Shopping, Coffee Shops, Restaurants, One World Trade Center, Brooklyn Bridge area, Union Square, Washington Square Parks, Chelsea Market, Highline -
The James Hotel in Soho is wonderful - we checked in on a Thursday and upgraded to a corner room with a terrific view - Staff is very helpful in finding restaurants, making reservations, transport to airport that is so much better than Yellow Cab experience - All around, everyone is friendly, always trying to help. The Bar on the top floor has 360 degree views of Manhattan and the Boroughs - Such a lovely place at night. I don't think I'd stay anywhere else except the James on my next visit -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
good design is everywhere. my new favorite downtown boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Anna , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our design. As an homage to the creative communities that surround us, the #artatthejames program features a mix of local, national and international artists that is intended to enhance the visual journey - from corridors to public spaces to guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our design. As an homage to the creative communities that surround us, the #artatthejames program features a mix of local, national and international artists that is intended to enhance the visual journey - from corridors to public spaces to guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our design. As an homage to the creative communities that surround us, the #artatthejames program features a mix of local, national and international artists that is intended to enhance the visual journey - from corridors to public spaces to guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our design. As an homage to the creative communities that surround us, the #artatthejames program features a mix of local, national and international artists that is intended to enhance the visual journey - from corridors to public spaces to guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved our design. As an homage to the creative communities that surround us, the #artatthejames program features a mix of local, national and international artists that is intended to enhance the visual journey - from corridors to public spaces to guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Not my favourite stay in NYC

Posted Feb 3, 2016
The hotel itself is nice and is outfit with some nice designer pieces but is starting to show it's wear. A coat of paint on in the hallways would go a long way. The first night I arrived I was tired from a long say of travelling. At 2:00 am I awoke to the smoke detecter in the room beeping and telling me to change the battery. Staff were prompt in sending someone up to fix it. Housekeeping did not refill creamers for coffee in my room so every morning I had to phone to have them replenished. It would be obvious to me if old ones were in the garbage you would refill the next one. On my way out I was running a bit late and told the front desk to email me my receipt. It has been a few days and nothing yet. The doorman got my a black car instead of a cab which he assured me was a flat rate. Drove me way off the path to the airport so we could look at some big houses (I don't care.) I was super stressed I was going to miss my flight and told the driver this when I got in the car. Argued with me that what the doorman said was not the flat rate and ended up having to pay more. Great location though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VIP MEANT NOTHING

Posted Jan 24, 2016
I am an Expedia gold member and prefer to stay in VIP hotels to get the extra perks. This hotel provided no extra deals for gold members. No upgrades. No discounted parking. Nothing. What's the point. Could have stayed anywhere. and the pillows are awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

James in the hub of it!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Amazing, staff location and facilities! First time in this hotel, lobby staff and reception staff were frienldy, helpful and always with a smile! Nothing was too much trouble and when there was a slight problem Morgan Kelly was quick and efficent in solving the problem. Ideal location for soho and surrounding areas, chose a corner room which was great views of the city! Would highly recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so kindly for rating us 5 stars! I am pleased to see that Morgan went above and beyond as usual to make our guests feel welcome and at home. I will be sure to share your feedback. Thanks again! Hope to see you soon. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great design and location

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Room, service, view terrific as always even during the small renovations. Restaurant was closed but there are so many others in that area it didn't bother me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind review and for choosing The James Hotel. We do our best to make all of our guests welcomed and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in SoHo

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Modern
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Modern facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback of your stay. Its great to hear you enjoyed our central Soho location, our modern design, but most importantly our fantastic staff. Come back soon! Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent in ALL!!!

Posted Jan 14, 2016
I love it, two persons was over good with me " Morgan and the girl who speak Spanish" (sorry I don't remember her name) they was very helpful and excellent customer service and made me feel very very comfortable. Be sure I will be back since Expidia still giving us a good price. THANK YOU!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Adriana, We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. Our team is our greatest asset so thank you for acknowledging their hard work. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Morgan and Elaine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool yet comfy, great location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Nice upgrade without even asking, great decore, good views of downtown NYC out of huge windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The James Hotel - your home away from home. Its great to hear you enjoyed some of our best features including our central location, and our comfortable loft-inspired guest rooms with panoramic view of the city. Hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager Anna Shakhovskaya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

best hotel in soho!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: location and décor
Cons: nothing that I can think of
Location: shopping, brunch, drinks at the jimmy
sleek, clean, fancy and cozy all in the heart of soho. its right in the middle of it all, the best restaurants, the best shops and the hippest bars. The room service is from the amazing Burk Kitchen and tastes yummy! the staff is sooooo amazing, they really care about the hotel and its guests. WILL BE BACK!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Anna , Hotel Management
Dear anna, It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho. I’m happy you enjoyed some of the best features of The James, including our central location, amazing food from our restaurant David Burke Kitchen, and stylish loft-inspired rooms. Most importantly thank you for acknowledging our hardworking team members. I’m glad they left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager, Anna Shakhovskaya