Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

What a wonderful time!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Loved everything. Everyone was great. The pool is fantastic.
Cons: iPhone docks in all rooms would be nice (although we were brought one upon request..it was old though). The TV remote and setup was strange.
Location: We had both been to DB Kitchen (amazing!) so we did dinner in Chinatown, which is very close and delicious.
From the moment we checked in the hotel and staff were beyond expectations. This is a VIP hotel with Expedia Gold Status rewards available. We were upgraded to a very chic and trendy corner room with great views of the city. A few other "special" perks were provided and were greatly appreciated. The hotel is very clean and unique. The rooms are great. The hotel is great for a staycation ( we live nearby) as it has gorgeous rooms, wonderful amenities, excellent restaurant, a pool and 3 different places for recreation (drinking), inside and outside. I love the James!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Great hotel in a wonderful location. Staff was friendly and the room was very nice! Wish I could have stayed for the weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna beach, ca

back in the 'hood

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: genuine attitude of staff - very personable
Cons: no drawers for clothes! [petty thing really]
love the location ... easy to walk to some of my favorite soho haunts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Great location, nice staff, Expensive

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location, rooftop & Staff
Cons: Improving facility's up keeping a
Hotel location is great and the staff is well trained and very friendly. The exposed top of "the glass elevator" as well as the elevetor shaft exposed junk, dirt and peeling drywall. The dark wood floor in our room had residu of white paints and left a visual impression of "not clean" The view from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking, especially at night. The rooms are rather small but efficiently appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Overall, somewhat disappointing based on price and general ratings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2015
I stayed in this hotel only one night. The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated. Big windows make it bright and feel bigger. Beds comfortable the linens are clean and good quality ~ cool to the touch. Initially there was too much noise coming from the road construction outside. After complaining to the reception they moved me to another room which was nice and quite all night. I slept very well and woke up happy :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Ideales Hotel, um New York zu erkunden

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Lage; Mitarbeiter; Roof-Top mit Pool
Cons: Der Roof-Top Pool ist nur bis 14 Uhr zu benutzen. Das geht gar nicht, denn die Hotel-Gäste sind ja gerade deswegen gekommen.
Location: Perfekt!
Ideale Lage in Soho. Wege zur Grand Street, Green Street, Broom Street und Broadway sind optimal. Zum Ground Zero kann man zu Fuß gehen. Mitarbeiter sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Das Zimmer war für New York-Verhältnisse groß genug und gut ausgestattet (u.a. auch ein Kaffee-Kocher im Zimmer). Kleinere Mängel im Zimmer wurden sofort behoben. Die Fenster kann man öffnen!! In unmittelbarer Nähe befinden sich Restaurants und auch ein Schnell-Restaurant; dort kann man zu günstigen Preisen Frühstück und Essen kaufen - und das schmeckt auch noch prima - wie gesagt: wir sind in New York und der Euro steht gerade nicht so gut da! Der Hauptgrund, weshalb wir (2 Doppelzimmer, 4 Personen) das Hotel gebucht haben, war aber der Roof-Top Pool und die dazugehörige Liegefläche. Dort hat man einen Super-Blick auf die Skyline und den neuen Freedom-Tower. Doch leider - und das ist der einzige Kritikpunkt - mussten wir und alle anderen Gäste des Hotels die Pool-Anlage am Freitag, Samstag und Sonntag verlassen (!), da man Vorbereitungen für die abendliche Pool-Party durchführen musste (also alle Liegen in Sitzposition bringen). Da hatten wir also Pech mit dem Relaxen nach dem morgendlichen Stadtbummel und dem Kräftesammeln vor dem abendlichen Programm. Sehr schade! Viele Gäste haben sich beim Manager beschwert und erhielten dann ein Gratis-Getränk. Das fanden wir sehr schwach!! Und dann gab es also ab 17 Uhr die abendliche Party für geladene Gäste mit harter Disco-Musik bis 1 bzw. 2 Uhr.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Room was not cleaned The I asked for bucket of ice and water took Two more Phone calls and one hour.TT
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Noisy Room

Posted May 14, 2015
Just stayed there for two nights. The good news: They allowed me to check in early after a redeye flight. The bad news: they gave me room 1706 right below the roof top bar and next to the kitchen. It is very noisy from 8p to the bar closes around 2a?. I asked several times to get another room. No success. I suspect booking via Expedia didn't help my case. The location is great and the hotel is super nice but at $500/night I'd like to have a reasonably quite room. Looking for another place to stay next time I'm in NYC.