Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Eccentric hotel but forget basic comforts

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: Beds!
The place is full of history which makes it a very interesting stay. The location is superb as well. However, it is certainly not to everyone's taste. I stayed in a cabin room and the bed was uncomfortable beyond belief. In fact I would not even call it "a bed". What you get is basically a tiny wooden chest with a thin mattress, tiny pillow and sheets. I struggled to turn on it and I am a petite five feet female. It would suit you if you are interested in something different and not bothered about basic comforts. Be warned about the "bedding" arrangements! Also only 2 showers and 2 toilets per floor and you will be sharing with 20+ people. At the same time, the bathrooms and the room were very clean and the staff very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We were referred to this hotel by friends, but what a disappointment. They supposedly have this beautiful bar and ballroom, but none of that was available to us for the three days we were there. "Booked for private parties." (We did sneak back to take a look right before we left. It WAS beautiful back there. Too bad hotel patrons were not allowed in.) The rooms were small, HOT, sparse and overpriced. When I asked where I could get some ice, they said they would bring some up. I waited and waited; finally went down to the lobby and they were all standing around joking. I asked for the ice and they handed me a bucket from behind the desk. The "cafe" was large and charming, but all they had was coffee and stale pastries. I asked if we could get the heat turned down, and were told to open a window or turn on the ceiling fan. By the way we were treated, they obviously don't need our business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach CA

Charming hotel in a beautiful quiet neighborhood.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: I love that nothing is wasted on the design. It's form meets function. It's also clean and even the shared restrooms seem discreet.
Cons: I wish the restaurant was still fully serviced for breakfast. Someone needs to take it over from the hotel, now it just looks like an afterthought.
Location: Lots to do in the neighborhood, great restaurants, shopping and galleries.
I was in New York for one night to catch up with friends and see some galleries. The Jane Hotel is perfect for the quick in and out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

great location in the heart of the west village

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: location was super central. we walked everywhere.
Cons: not really sure, i think the shabbiness is part of the charm, it is an old hotel after all.
Location: quick walk into soho, chelsea, even down to times square.
hotel had tons of character, but felt shabby. rooms were basic, relatively clean, but beds weren't super comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad Stay

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Plenty of restaurants and amenities within short walk
Bad hotel: room was about 8 x 5 feet in size, tiny bed I didn't even fit in, room was a sauna way too hot , and 1 shower / sink to share per floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: It was everything I needed for my stay. Comfortable and a great location.
Cons: I don't mind a small room, but it was quite tiny. I'm a short women but even I struggled to fit in the bed, so it might be a pain for others.
Location: I absolutely.loved the location with the Chelsea Market down the road and 2 subway stations nearby it was always easy to get round the city
Great hotel in a fabulous location. The staff were always extremely helpful and accommodating The room was small but you don't need much in a city with so much to see! I absolutely.loved the location with the Chelsea Market down the road and 2 subway stations nearby it was always easy to get round the city,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classy hotel fulfilled my simple needs.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I arrived early and was met with a cheery bellman and lobby clerk who were accommodating to my arrival. The room was definitely small but was all I needed for sleeping in. I ended up staying out late for theater shows and felt safe outside returning to the neighborhood at 3 AM. The shared bathroom was clean and easily accessible and I was grateful for the supplied towel, bathrobe and slippers for my use. Overall very pleasant experience and I would highly recommend to everyone!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic, remodeled hotel.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great room. Small -- very small -- but immaculate woodwork and finishings. Immaculately clean. Shared bathrooms but also immaculately clean!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting Experience

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Really small room, however it was ok for the price. Bit of a walk to the subway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So small but so fun

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was tiny tiny tiny. The shared bathroom was tiny, but clean and nice. Loved the rooftop bar, bikes, cafe and the booming nightclub in the basement. The guy that checked me in didn't tell me about any of the amenities including the elevator (he directed me to the stairs and i climbed 6 flights with my luggage!) Really enjoyed my time at the Budapest hotel, I mean the Jane!