Ratings based on 1,328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hope, PA

WONDERFUL!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Only one complaint... never get a room on the second floor above the nightclub! Too much bass!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Perfect for solo traveller

Posted Jan 20, 2016
I stayed for 3 nights at the Jane Hotel, January 15-18. I arrived before check in time, but the front desk got me right into my room - thanks!! The rooms are very small, but very clean and well laid out for a single person. The staff were all very friendly. Great hotel, in a cool neighborhood, and close to the subway. I will stay again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dresden, Germany

Great location, awesome atmosphere

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The location is excellent - just a few minutes to E train on 14th street, the High Line around the corner, view to One World Trade Center from the bathroom. Tiny room but clever furnished. Matress was comfortable. Room and shared bathroom were always cleaned. Great atmosphere thanks to old wooden interior in the lobby. Staff was always very friendly. Unfortunately there is no regulator for the heating in the room. But opening the window fixed this problem ;-) I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Old-fashioned but charming!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: The rooms are nice and the bed we had was huge, with super soft sheets.
Cons: Coffee makers in the rooms please!
Location: There is good shopping and mp nice restaurants in the meat packing district nearby. The highline and the Whitney museum are only a few blocks away.
The Jane is a quirky but comfortable place to stay. The wood panelling and period lighting fixtures give the place an old timey vibe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay ...

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Few staffs
Cons: Cleaners, heating system ...
After reading so many good reviews, and the location is close to where my daughter lives in West Village. I booked the hotel for 6 nights. Checking-in was fabulous with the front desk Kevin, who was very pleasant and helped to choose a room with a view of the Hudson River. 2nd night, I woke up with freezing cold feet and realized there was no heat in the room. I contacted the front desk, the front desk (2 am) was room and only offered a blanket. I put on extra socks and fleece ... until the day light. My daughter called for me, a friendly Jose came with space heater, and checked on the radiator and said they were closed!!!! Then the room was either too cold or too hot. I don't think anyone should pay for a hotel and dealing with such problem. Also, the room has small flying bugs in the bathroom or next to the bed. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location but rooms may be very small!

Posted Dec 21, 2015
I was in a bunk bed cabin room and it was extremely difficult to move around. The space is very very small, so be prepared for that if you choose this room. But the location was fantastic and staff were awesome, so if that's more important to you, then you'll love this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Jamie, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi L, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. You might like our Captains Cabins which offer a Full, Queen, or King sized bed in a 200 sq ft space with a private bathroom your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, UK

Tiny spaces, massive service!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
I usually stay in hostels, but I was taking my 73 year old mother to New York for a fortnight. The Jane was cheap, and all I needed was a couple of beds for the nights. I loved the images I saw online, the classical stylings of the buildings interiors. I also understood the rooms were very small, and was well prepared. The greatest asset to the Jane is the absolutely wonderful staff. Every morning we were greeted with a smile by the reception staff, doorman or anyone else we bumped into! Same on our return after a long day out in the city. The rooms are small, not even room for your luggage, but the front desk took our bags into storage and there was plenty of room under the beds in a couple of drawers, along with an electronic safe. There is a restaurant within the building with some fantastic food and great service. It is very reasonably priced for the area, but there are some other amazing places to eat with a few block radius. The other thing of note is the high line park starts a few streets up, and runs all the way to 34th street. You can take a very lovely walk into the hart of Manhattan and avoid all the road traffic! There is a subway station a 5 minute walk from the hotel if you prefer. All in all both my mother and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Jane. I would actively look to book my stay there again in the future. Thank you to every single person working there, you are all amazing people!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2015
There for two nights and it was generally nice but didn't want to take a shower in the shared bathroom. Definitely bring flip flops for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by Jamie, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for writing, it is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. We proudly offer all of our guests complimentary towels, robes and slippers for the bathrooms. If you prefer a private bathroom you might like our Captains Cabins which are furnished with a Full, Queen or King sized bed. We look forward to your next visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very small

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Good location. Being in Manhattan in the West Village area it was very easy to get to a subway stop and get anywhere in a timely manner. Lots of stores, restaurants, and bars nearby. In Friday and Saturday nights, the Jane is crowded as it is a lounge. The bad part is it is tiny. We had a bunk bed and no way anyone can come visit or hang out. Community bathroom is ok but in the morning there's a wait while everyone showers and brushes their teeth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

New York experience

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff and economical.
Location: Walked everywhere as it is easy. Checked out the High Line, some delis nearby.
This is my daughter's favourite hotel. Quaint and clean and staff are friendly. A really pleasant experience at a great price!