Ratings based on 1,841 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Near the Whitney and high line.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Welcoming and plain fun to be there. I like this hotel bigtime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poland,OH

Quirky, Boutique Hotel in the West Village

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The quirky ambiance, I felt like I was in a 1920 era hotel before the depression hit. THE STAFF IS THE BEST BY FAR.
Cons: I like a firm mattress and got my wish. Others may not be approving. There are no hangers but they have plenty of hooks and shelves. Also a room safe.
Location: In the West Village,nyc. If you can't find anything to do, I pity you.
Had an overnight stay in NYC, went on Expedia's listings to get this place. First of all, it was wonderful and wonderfully quirky. The staff are dressed in outfits from the 1920's front desk best. They are pleasant, professional, and went out of their way to help. The lobby was decorated in old style but they have a modern eatery/bar. There is also a roof terrace that was wonderful, overlooks the Hudson river.The room was a single (granted only 50 square feet) but was very cozy and secure. There is shelving up and below the bed. HDTV at the foot of the bed. A fan near the ceiling as well as A/C, all operate by remote. They have a clock/radio, water in an old-fashioned bottle, a huge mirror. All rooms except for the captains rooms are subject to shared bathroom/toilets.They provide linens and big Turkish robes. Yes they are coed,but I maintained modesty and security. Toilets are enclosed by locked door, ceiling to floor. The showers are rainfall with the same security and modesty. Double sinks, hair-dryers provided. It was not a far walk from the room. The housekeepers are very attentive to needs. Located in the old meatpacking district, it is a gem. Prices are to die for in NYC. Walking distance to subway, cabs,etc. I will stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Loved the vintage feel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Would recommend the Jane to anyone who wants a hotel that's different from all the rest. Great vintage charm and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Awesome

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Such an awesome hotel I didn't want to write this and keep it a secret! But so cool. Old New York at its best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

A European budget hotel in great location in NYC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, price, friendly staff.
Location: West Village. Whitney Museum around the corner. Hudson River and great park area across the street. Subway stop a few blocks northeast.
Perfectly located in the West Village close to restaurants, parks, walking distance to everything in lower Manhattan and few blocks from the subway. Inexpensive. Cool rooftop bar. Friendly staff. Arrived at 9 a.m. and they put me right into a room. Ah: the rooms. Exactly as described: very small. But I'm 6'5" and it was fine. TV and A/C worked perfectly. Lots of outlets for charging things. Bathrooms were down the hall. Fancy? No. Great value? Yes! Definitely will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

An old-school New York gem!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
With a fascinating nautical history, beautiful decor, and fully-outfitted hotel staff, the Jane is a Village gem! Loved my stay here, especially the free vintage bikes, beautiful breakfast room and amazing rooftop bar. Rooms very compact but well designed; this place simply had a great personality and really enjoyed my stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MB, Canada

Room will be smaller than you expect

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Excellent location Staff are professional and aim to please Room hot. Maintenance came and fixed quickly. Excellent quality linens and towels. Disconcerting to share bathroom. Room smaller than expected. Once over that shock and realized it's manageable would stay here again. Can't beat the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Charming Jane

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The excellent staff and atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Greenwich Village, Chelsea, the Hudson River, the piers, Union Square and the Highline are all attractions nearby.
The Jane is a cute and adorable hotel right next to the Hudson, The Whitney, and The Highline. The location is not the only brilliant thing; the staff at The Jane are a huge asset. Charming, helpful and informative, they were a pleasure to interact with. The hotel has free bikes you can take advantage of and this is a huge plus point. The rooms are small but they are extremely pleasant and the communal showers/toilets, for the single rooms, are kept immaculate. I could go on about the rooftop bar with views over the Hudson, the great local areas of Greenwich Village, the Meatpacking District, and Chelsea but, like my recent stay, all good things have to come to an end!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Worried about shared bathroom? Don't be!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Shared bathroom is the best I've experienced.
Shared bathroom is the best I've experienced. This hotel has amazing character and I would definitely return to it again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S F

It's works for nyc

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Actually I was surprised simple sweet it works: but some how my remote controls were missing after my second night and " engineering " never made it back to me: that was just stupid! Other than that yea I'd do it again