Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Lovely if you know what you're getting

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I booked this without much research (all my own fault) but have to say for two guys on a jaunt it worked out well. Not too far from Greenwich Village, and two blocks away from the Highline, you've got a lot of access available. If you choose to walk north to Times Square you'll see many things of interest, but let me also add that one block east and one north youll find a fantastic deli takeaway that serves decent coffee and breakfast for on the go eating. Ran by a conversationalist minimalist, but don't be put off. The contents are excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting experience

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: location, architecture
Cons: It is what it is!
I expected minimal comforts, but didn't expect uncontrollable blaring heat in the room and noise in the hall. I liked the location and the unusual, historic feel of the building - like an old ocean liner. I feel I'm a heroine for having survived the night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens,NY

Historic Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Great hotel, could be a little cleaner, staff could be a little more accommodating, but love the history and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel in NYC

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Location: Great location close to Whitney Museum, Highline & Chelsea galleries.
Fun stay at the Jane Hotel. Tiny, cozy room was very comfortable & stylish, with everything you need close at hand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western NY

Great for a solo traveller!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, welcoming. Every time I came in or out, there were friendly bellhops to open the door and greet me.
Location: Greenwich Village and Chelsea Market are great places to shop, eat, and people watch. The subway is 5 blocks away. Cabarets and speakeasys, too!
I was on a rare trip to NYC without my family, and I was looking for an inexpensive place that was in an interesting part of the city. The Jane was perfect! For an incredibly low price, I was steps away from the Chelsea Market and Greenwich Village. I walked all over the neighborhood, and could travel 10 minutes on the subway to see a Broadway show. Don't let the idea of shared bathrooms scare you--they were always clean, and I never had to wait for a shower or bathroom break. Also, the charm of period bellhop outfits, a swanky and vibrant bar, and a surprisingly comfortable twin bed made the hotel ideal for one. If you want a small, private nook in a big place, this is your choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Budget Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The Jane Hotel was a great choice for my friend and I. We were travelling to New York over the festive period on a budget and were fortunate to come across the Jane Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was pretty basic and small, but still clean and comfortable. The hallways sometimes smelt of smoke but otherwise we had no issues whilst there. Another bonus was that the hotel was very close to the Subway and a large variety of stores and shops. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location of hotel excellent. Helpful and friendly staff. Daily water provided.
Cons: The heating system - able to adjust in the room. Was very hot some nights. More shared bathrooms.
Location: Easy access to the most important places.
Cleanliness was good. More shared bathrooms would be useful. Inability to control heat in the bedroom was a problem (on cold nights the room became way too hot). The bunk beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers provided were changed regularly. The daily free water was welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

A Manhattan hidden treasure

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The Jane Hotel is my favorite spot to stay over in Manhattan. I can't wait until the cafe is open!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from x

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Room central heating is a nightmare can't be controlled I slept with the wind open and a/c on and room fan on and it was -4 outside the room was still bake in hot if you can bear the heat it's ok !!! Very dated there is also a night club in the hotel which is noise and the bouncers at the main doors are a pain !!! if you want to get in the coffe shop don't take cash but the girls are super helpful it's a cheap and cheerful place to stay for a few nights no more then tat !! A hot bed and room for the night !!!! Plus points great location subways close by and and also some great bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice, quaint, and cosy hotel in West Village

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The neighborhood, the affordability, and the ambience.
Location: The Greenwich Village neighborhood is among the prettier and still quiet areas. Plenty of small cafes and restaurants in the area.
Really love the Jane. While it is a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway station, that can be a call to explore the neighborhood and its countless quaint cafes and restaurants. The Jane itself is a timepiece - a piece of history crystallized in amber, so to speak - what with the decor and the uniforms worn by the staff. At the cost of resorting to a cliche, the Jane feels like a Wes Anderson movie set. The staff are friendly and eager to please. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience.