Ratings based on 1,455 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Quiet, & nearby Rockefeller park.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Our experience was fine. The staffs are friendly & will come back there!!!👍👍🇺🇸🇺🇸
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York UK

Superb location, friendly staffs, pity the noise

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staffs, superb location, great free coffee.
Cons: Noise. I don't know front of the hotel room have noise problem, but back of the hotel all might have. At least 6th and 13th floor have it.
Location: Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, St Patrick's church, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Hall is everything walking distance. Nice delis in 7th Avenue not far.
This hotel is our ideal location for Carnegie Hall concert, only 10mins walk away. We booked via Expedia offer, also late checked in, the staff allocated us Room 1503 which was top floor, back of the hotel (have only opposite office view) and next to Machinery Room. It was bit noisy, we had to change the room to 604. It was noisy too. We looked down from our window, there were few massive air condition or ventilation fans were on 24h. Other than noise, we were sort of happy the room. Comfortable bed, decent wardrobe, nice shower temperature but bit wetty bath room due to walk-in shower. At ground floor reception, always somebody was in. Rene(male) gave us efficient service, and most of all, Nicky(female) was superb! We had to confirm to Go Airlink (Airport transportation) the day before our departure. She did for us. I can't tell how much appreciate her. This hotel's most good point is, their 'Living Room' at second floor. there were few chairs, free coffee machine (just like shop has, you can choose expresso, café latte, cappuccino and also few type of teabags) and two computers for customer to use. Check-out time is 12 noon. Once checked out, Nicky stored our suitcase till Go Airlink pick up time. We came back to hotel, still we had a time, Nicky offered us to go Living Room to have a coffee. What a great service. I was annoyed about noise initially, but I love this hotel. I might go back next time going to NY. Thanks Jewel Hotel. Please keep going good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great hotel next to Rockefeller Plaza

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, comfortable rooms, good staff, reasonable rates.
Cons: The mattress needed to be changed. Get a room with 2 beds.
Location: Rockefeller Plaza, Rockefeller Center, Starting point for the Big Bus Tours 2 blocks away.
We stayed 3 nights at The Jewel and thoroughly enjoyed being in a nice hotel that was right in the center of many attractions. It is a small hotel with no lobby but it does have a second floor business center where we could wait for our transportation back home. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We enjoyed our stay in NYC to a large part due to the hotel. There were good restaurants nearby and the tour buses left from just 2 blocks away. We will stay here again on our next visit to NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel - Great location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Our room was compact but clean and well designed. The staff were very nice and the location can not be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Close to everything

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Very big rooms nice and clean close to all the attractions would recommend to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel steps away from Rockerfeller Center

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Mostly everthing
Cons: The heating
Location: Perfect location right in downtown Manhattan
My fiance treated me to a weekend in NY for my B-day, I wanted to go ice skating in the famous ice rink at Rockerfeller Center, we wanted to get as close as possible to the rink so we read the reviews on The Jewel Hotel which read it was facing the Ice Rink, we took a chance because we where not familiar with this hotel but turns out it was exactly as advertised we only had to walk across the street and we where right there & in the heart of Manhattan. The staff was friendly and professional, rooms were very clean. The only bad thing was that room # 704 was a bit chilly, although the thermostat was turn all the way up it never got really warm. Other than that it was perfect,we will stay again. It's name is appropriate it is a nice little Jewel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Location: Everything within walking distance
Courtesy staff, safe building, convenient to theatre district, Rockefeller Center, Radio City and great restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Very centrally located, steps from Rockefeller. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway theatres and other attractions. Hotel itself is so-so, not luxury by any stretch of the imagination, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

NYE in NYC

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: No
Location: 5th Avenue and the Rockefeller Centre are pretty much on the door step, with Central Park and Times Square a relatively short walk away
The hotel was pretty much perfect for our needs ... while the room was slightly small, this did not affect us as we're out visiting NYC and not 'living' in the hotel. Central to some of NYC's major sites including the Rockefeller Centre and 5th Avenue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: nice location
had a good stay but one slip was that when we got in the room there were 2 large bags full of trash that the maid had left in the room...other than that its was fine