Ratings based on 4,052 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

The Jewel Hotel is well named

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Great location, lovely staff and some nice little extras
Cons: A continental breakfast buffet in their living room like their rivals The Pearl in W49 Street and a safe in your room
Location: St Patricks Cathedral, Top of the Rock, Radio City Music Hall all walkable in 1 minute or less. Broadway Shows 5 mins away. Central Park 8 mins walk.
Had room with a Balcony what a treat and thank you Tiffany for organising that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

All about the location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
This hotel was absolutely perfect for what we needed. It's location was outstanding, I don't think I could have placed it better! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. I was disappointed by the gym, which had no more than 23kg dumbells but this was a minor detail. The staff were helpful and I'd recommend this hotel to everyone! A big thank you to Hugo for sorting our twin rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Lovely, clean and comfortable hotel in a great location. Staff helpful and polite at all times. I had emailed in advance to see if they could accommodate a request and they responded positively straight away. Location was excellent, and despite being in the heart of the city it was not noisy so you could sleep well at night. I would recommend The Jewel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Convenient Location and great for shopping

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location Convenience with public transport
Cons: Change the mattress!!! Install a fan in the bathroom!
Location: Rockefeller Center Fifth Ave shopping
Like most NYC hotels, the room is a little compact. The mattress was pretty hard but OK if it's a short stay. They have in room coffee but they definitely skim on the creamer. Should leave more coffee and tea in the rooms. There is a water filter on every level but they run out of the bottles so bring your own or keep one handy. Overall for the price, it's worth the convenience and plus they validate ticket for parking at Central parking a block down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pro: centrally located, fast wifi, helpful staff Cons: small room, dated interiors, no safe in room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Excellent comfortable room - and I was lucky to get a view of St Patrick's
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth western australia

Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Location saved us money as we walked everywhere with ease. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Thanks to Renae and team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Loved the location and the simplicity of the hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: I like that it was small and quiet. Loved the cold water dispensers. They have little bottles to fill but we brought our own. Friendly staff.
Location: Rockerfeller Plaza, St. Pat's Cathedral, Saks 5th Avenue MOMA, Broadway (15 minute walk to our show).
At the The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center, you are close to everything, but feel tucked away from the chaos. Right across the street is the beautiful Rockefeller Plaza.When you are too tired to walk at the end of the day and the sun is still out, you can go there and chill. The sister hotel nearby has a very good restaurant. We spent only $50 USD for dinner for 2 and were quite satisfied. You get a 20% discount there if you are a guest of the Jewel. We took the superior room with the kitchenette so we'd have more space and didn't regret it. Bought some milk and cereal for a quick, cheap breakfast (from a little store on the same street). Often there were muffins and orange water in the lobby. The hotel is not the luxurious or lavish NYC experience but I wasn't looking for that. I wanted clean, neat, comfortable, and well located and that's what I got. They don't show many pictures of the bathroom but it's quite nice and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

First time at this hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Cons: Housekeeping: watch the detail. Telephone: 2 phones in room, 1 didn't work Umbrellas not offered to guests
Location: Very convenient if you need a mid-town location
Easy check-in Really nice room size Nice staff Nice touch on the flavoured water and treats in front of the elevator Quite quiet, given Manhattan chaos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional hotel, clean and in superb location.

Posted May 24, 2017
Cons: Safe in room. Small one in wardrobe for passports,keys etc
Location: Brilliant location
Hotel is ideal if you just need a clean and tidy base to explore New York. Hotel is in a superb position. Opposite Rockefeller centre. 10 mins from Times Square. Rooms contain coffee machine and ironing facilities. The only negative I would point to this hotel would be lack of room safe, in this day and age a must I think. Doesn't have to be big just enough to place passports keys and money. That was the only negative. Staff were great when needed, free wifi and water. Would I use again, yes I would.