Ratings based on 1,386 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, mid-town location.

Posted May 26, 2017
Nice, midtown location. Common areas could use some updating. Friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A Japanese hotel in central Manhattan

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything was first class: the service, the accoutrements, the ambience.
Location: Close to Grand Central, the Morgan Library, the New York Public Library; within easy walking distance of Central Park, MoMA, the Frick, the Met, MSG.
We decided that since we had never been to Japan, it would be nice to try a Japanese hotel in Manhattan. We weren't disappointed. It seemed a very Japanese place, which while expensive, cost much less than a trip to Japan (and came with Manhattan attached). It seemed a favorite of Japanese businessmen, and the lobby was filled with men in suits bowing to each other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Posted May 5, 2017
Location: Morgan library, nice restaurants, walking distance from train Station to get us to visit family at Yale!!
we had a very good experience, will return to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

very comfortable stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: proximity, comfort
I booked this hotel because it was close to the location of my meetings. The staff was gracious and I was even upgraded to a junior suite. (The room had more lamps than my house, I think.) As you can probably tell by the name, it's a very Asian influenced hotel, right down to the bidet in the bathroom and the miso soup, rice, salmon etc. that comes with the free breakfast. Overall I spent very little time in the room but I came away impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for seeing the city

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Cons: Every hotel rooms should include a mirror close to an electrical outlet in the bathroom AND room, so 2 people can get ready at the same time.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Kitano. It is located close to public transportation and is a fairly quick and very cheap subway ride away from JFK. It is centrally located for seeing all parts of the city. The hotel staff are accommodating. We arrived on an overnight flight and got to the hotel at 8:00 am. Even though their book-in time is 3:00 pm they were willing to give us a room. Unfortunately, we decided to wait for another room as the view from the one offered was of an airshaft! Instead we checked our bags and explored the City until our room was ready. They ended up giving us a wonderful Park Avenue view room! We have also been fortunate to travel to NYC when the Kitano offers discount room rates. Comfortable and classy hotel for a great price. What could be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Always a pleasant experience

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I keep returning to this hotel. The staff is always courteous and efficient. The Japanese restaurant Hakubai is truly excellent. Rooms are comfortable. It has become my favorite NYC hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Well appointed hotel in quieter part of mid town.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
This is a traditional hotel with well appointed rooms, it sits in a prime mid town location just outside the centre. The hotel appears to predominantly cater for Japanese and business guests, lacked an informal bar for a working guy like myself who would have enjoyed a few beers in the evening; that said there's a couple of local places nearby. Reception staff were friendly, door staff maybe have to remember all guests are fee paying and deserve equal treatment; don't judge a book by its cover. Room was immaculately maintained which deserved generous gratuity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel, with very polite and helpful staff.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Just back from 4 days in New York. We booked the Kitano on the strength of good reviews and it was excellent. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was nice with a good shower. The location of the hotel was good too. It wasn't too noisy or busy and only 4 blocks from the Empire State building and about 3 from Grand Central Terminal. This allowed us to plan our evening visit to the Empire State without having to contend with a long trip back at night. It was also only about a 15 minute walk to Times Square. The only location downside was in relation to JFK Airport if you wanted to get their by train (it could take 2 subway journeys and a train), so we went by taxi (about $70 each way including tip). As we had cases to carry this was possibly the most sensible option anyway, but needs budgeting for. If you stay here and fancy breakfast out, we'd recommend Scotty's Diner on Lexington. It was good value and also only a 5-10 minute walk. Overall we had a fantastic trip to New York and the Kitano made the accommodation stress free, reliable and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location ideal for our needs

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Upon check-in front desk staff recognized me as a prior guest and arranged a high floor request. Doorman went out of his way to find a hard to get taxi.Room very comfortable at a reasonable rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pre-St. Patrick's Day visit

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: location staff and included breakfast
Cons: no
Very welcoming staff both by phone and at frony desk. Lovely well appointed room. Nice toiletries. Excellent breakfast included in rate. Great location on Park Ave. for parade line up. All in all a wonderful up-scale experience!