Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very accommodating, the room was lovely, and the overall atmosphere was very quiet and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

Perfection in the city

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Small hotel, intimate setting on a quiet street in mid town.
Location: 24 hr pharmacy across the street, Grand Central within a block, theatre walking and restaurants galore.
Step out onto 41st and looking west was the publc library. Just a block from Grand Central and easy walking! Wonderful hotel with a quiet reading room, continental breakfast and a wine and cheese afternoon reception. Beautiful, comfortable theme rooms filled with books and welcoming advanced copy books at check in. It is a gem in every way. I have never encountered a friendlier staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

WONDERFUL STAFF, LOCATION. EXPERIENCE

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Everything and especially snacks all day long
Cons: NA
Location: Shopping, parks, library, excellent restaurants ... all right there
I will always stay at the Library Hotel whenever we are in NY. Staff, Cleanlines, Location, was all wonderful. Loved the snacks all day long..... outstanding experience.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Little European like gem if a hotel in great locat

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
I love this small European vibe hotel. Love the library theme and motifs that carry it thru -- room names and book offerings, Christmas trees made of books in reading room. Love Library walk between it and Public Library -- brass plaques in sidewalk with literary quotes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Superb location, fantastic staff who can't do enough for you. Breakfast a real treat, as was the complimentary wine and cheese reception each evening. Rooms excellent, clean tidy and great condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, great find

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, library
Cons: Nothing
This hotel is located on Madison and 41st, very central. Breakfast is included as is an evening wine and cheese event. They have a lovely roof top area (with a fire in winter), which is available to guests where there isn't an event. The staff were excellent. Library theme is excellent - you won't need to bring books! The room was small but we were in one of their smaller ones and aren't all rooms small in NY?!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, stylish hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great themed hotel right near the NY Public Library.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute and Intimate Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The service from the personnel at the hotel was warm and friendly. A lot of attention was paid to the guests. The Reading Room which offers all day coffee and snacks, plus a cheese and wine session in the evening and breakfast in the morning was a brililant spot for guests to relax outside their rooms. The service staff who manned the room were all superb and cheerful. It is a small intimate hotel and the rooms are not huge but functional. It had shelves of books and each room had its own name. Cute! One tip: The entrance to the hotel is not exactly on Madison Ave as per address. It is facing 41st Street at the corner of Madison Ave. Highly recommended for those who does like huge hotels. I would stay there again on my next trip. Thanks for looking after us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

terrific three days in New York

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Location staff restaurant and bar
Cons: Bathroom a little small, only one person at a time could fit in but not a problem for three nights
Location: Lots of places to eat in area Bryant market is fun and it's close to good shopping
Great hotel in nice area everything In good taste very helpful staff and the free breakfast was more than the usual continental