Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

Perfection in the city

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Small hotel, intimate setting on a quiet street in mid town.
Location: 24 hr pharmacy across the street, Grand Central within a block, theatre walking and restaurants galore.
Step out onto 41st and looking west was the publc library. Just a block from Grand Central and easy walking! Wonderful hotel with a quiet reading room, continental breakfast and a wine and cheese afternoon reception. Beautiful, comfortable theme rooms filled with books and welcoming advanced copy books at check in. It is a gem in every way. I have never encountered a friendlier staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

WONDERFUL STAFF, LOCATION. EXPERIENCE

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Everything and especially snacks all day long
Cons: NA
Location: Shopping, parks, library, excellent restaurants ... all right there
I will always stay at the Library Hotel whenever we are in NY. Staff, Cleanlines, Location, was all wonderful. Loved the snacks all day long..... outstanding experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Superb location, fantastic staff who can't do enough for you. Breakfast a real treat, as was the complimentary wine and cheese reception each evening. Rooms excellent, clean tidy and great condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, great find

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, library
Cons: Nothing
This hotel is located on Madison and 41st, very central. Breakfast is included as is an evening wine and cheese event. They have a lovely roof top area (with a fire in winter), which is available to guests where there isn't an event. The staff were excellent. Library theme is excellent - you won't need to bring books! The room was small but we were in one of their smaller ones and aren't all rooms small in NY?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

terrific three days in New York

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Location staff restaurant and bar
Cons: Bathroom a little small, only one person at a time could fit in but not a problem for three nights
Location: Lots of places to eat in area Bryant market is fun and it's close to good shopping
Great hotel in nice area everything In good taste very helpful staff and the free breakfast was more than the usual continental
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very friendly and helpful

Posted Nov 25, 2016
it was an overall pleasant experience, warm and cosy. It was very understated. The breakfast and daily food service was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Not as quiet as a library

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Excellent physical condition; excellent breakfast
Cons: Room was noisy from street traffic.
OK. Not likely to return unless room is off the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: I really love the second floor guest lounge where you can always enjoy a cup of tea and a sweet treat. Library always feels safe and homely!
Location: Location is perfect with most NY attractions in walking distance.
Library has well appointed and superbly comfortable rooms. Love the rooftop bar too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A home away from home

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: We liked the friendly helpful stafff the most. The breakfast was great and the wine and cheese was a great way to cap off a day. The location was excellent. Theatre district and great restaurants -all walkable. Great access to subway at Times square, Bryant Park and Grand Central Station. So many things closeby, a very convenient location.
Cons: The only thing I can say is that the room was a bit small and bed could have been bigger, but then it would have not fit in the room! But we were hardly there and common spaces more than made up for it.
Location: Location was excellent. Great access to the subways at Times Square, Bryant Park, and Grand Central Station. Theatre district closeby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent mid town hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Its distinctive and individual character.
Cons: It has found an approach that appeals to many people so should not change too much.
Location: Near Grand Central Station so well placed for everything New York offers.
We stayed for 3 nights in October and found the hotel well located and comfortable. The library theme is intriguing and interesting. I even found an obscure book that captured my interest. The petite suite was indeed petite and the breakfast was continental so if you need a lot of space in your room and meat for breakfast those might be factors to bear in mind. We particularly valued the opportunity after a day in the city to relax with a glass of wine and some cheese between 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. and to make ourselves hot drinks or help ourselves to a snack at any time of day or night (all included in the room rate). Others have commented that the hotel has a "club" feel which is true and makes the hotel a welcome place to return to.