Ratings based on 3,137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Good value on Upper West Side

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, free internet access, and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: They should catch on to the trend of using duvet covers so that bedding is entirely fresh and clean.
Location: Close to museums, shopping, great neighborhood restaurants, and Central Park.
As a former upper west sider, I often come to the city. I used to stay at the Excelsior, but I felt we were "nickeled and dimed...internet access, sofa bed had zip ties on it. The Lucerne has free, and, pretty good, internet access. They also provide a 15% discount to Nice Matin for breakfast which is a fair deal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean and tidy rooms that were not too small

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The room was a nice size and was clean and tidy. The subway was about a minutes walk and Natural History museum was about 5 minutes away. All in all we had a great time in New York and this hotel was a great base. The only thing I could be negative on was the staff were not the friendliest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Helpful and friendly front desk

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The hotel is close to subway station and lots of fine restaurants nearby. The room looked outdated at first glance, but then we found it very clean and comfortable. Will definitely recommend it to anyone who like the proximity to Manhattan but expect a quieter zone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Hotel Lucerne is an extremely classy hotel with the best hospitality I've ever had in NYC.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close walk to the Natural History Museum, great shops and amazing restaurants. East access to 2 subway lines makes getting anywhere in NYC easy.
Our family stayed at this hotel over the weekend. The location is perfect. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful. And it's a hotel I would stay with just my husband on our next trip to NYC it's so perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Perfect location, near park and many great restaurants near by. Close to train
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lucerne is great spot

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Always enjoy the Lucerne. Wish they could have upgraded me from Queen room, but worked fine for one night bus. stay. Found a hair on my sheet which was upsetting but I know it can happen. Otherwise room and bathroom clean and room pretty quiet - NYC version of quiet. Lots of great dining for dinner (Tessa), coffee, bagels, pressed juice within couple of blocks and subway 1 block away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room was spacious and very clean. Beds were comfortable. The hotel is very close to Central Park and one block away from the red subway line so you can quickly get to Times Square, the Empire State Building, Macy's etc. You can get very a good breakfast sandwich at a good price at Amsterdam Gourmet right across the street. We will definitely go back to The Lucerne on our next trip to NYC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamm, NRW

Lage ok

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Auf die Zimmer Kaffeemaschinen und Kaffee. Hatten wir bisher kostenlos in allen Hotels und haben wir jetzt schmerzlich vermisst.
Location: Upper West Side. Mit der Subway, Linie 1, nur einen Block entfernt ist man schnell am Times Square, bzw. am Colombus Circle zum umsteigen.
Ok, Upper West Side ist nicht Midtown, aber das Hotel liegt nur einen Block von der nächsten Subway entfernt, die einen ohne umsteigen zum Times Square bringt. Die Ausstattung ist etwas altbacken, aber sauber. was wir schmerzlich vermisst haben war die fehlende Kaffeelounge und auch auf den Zimmern war keine Kaffeemaschine. Die Bedienung war freundlich. Und wenn man etwas braucht- nicht mit dem Councierge reden sondern mit den Portiers an den Türen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate

Great hotel. Close to Central Park and museums.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Hotel was clean and staff was courteous Offered to help with whatever we requested
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Minutes from Central park.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great location, minutes away from Central park and subway