Ratings based on 3,476 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
This is a great hotel, well placed for metro station, Central Park and has loads of restraunts near by. Hotel staff are polite and I had to get my room changed they did this with no objections.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate visitor

My room had no view.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Staff and restaurant adjacent were excellent. Fitness center as nice.
Cons: Coffee maker in the room. Temperature display on the air conditioner.
Location: Close to central park.
Small room and bath with no view.... not quite what I thought I was getting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking, UK

Good for Upper West Side

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby and staff, rooms were comfortable
Cons: Have coffee/tea facilities in the room without the need to request them
Close to the Museum of Natural History and the W79th street entrance for Central Park; one block from the 1 train and some nice cafe's and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel, well located in the Upper West Side.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was nice and very quiet. We were very close to the Metro station and Central Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Typical Brownstone building close to metro

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to metro and in a quieter area
Cons: Air con and plumbing
Location: The American Natural History Museum and Central park are a short walk away and the metro (1,2,3 lines) is very close
The hotel is in a really nice area, close to Central Park and the Metro making getting about easy. Plenty of options close by for eating and drinking. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel clean and nicely decorated. The aircon in the room was noisy and the shower dropped power regularly. Only minor issues and to be expected in an older building but if you want full mod cons this is not the hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent Hotel in quieter area of NY

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Overall friendliness of all the staff
Cons: Air conditioning was a bit noisy
Location: 5 mins from Central Park, Hudson Park and Museum of Natural History. 15 mins from Met and Zabars Deli is worth a visit - 3 mins away
The staff at this hotel were excellent. It was my wife's birthday and I mentioned this to the reception staff when asked why we were in NY. They arranged a card and bottle of wine for her as a surprise. Maids were all friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we always had enough toiletries, towels etc. and kept the room in great order. The concierge was very friendly and knowledgeable, pointing out loads of things we could do for little or no expense. The room was fairly standard hotel fare, the bed comfy and quiet when the windows were closed. It could get a bit noisy from traffic, but we were facing a main avenue and it really wasn't that intrusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to nice area of Central Park

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful.
Location: One block from Central Park and Natural History Museum. Lots of restaurants in the area. 1-2-3 subway is less than a block away.
A nice hotel for the price point. We would stay here again. The rooms aren't big by the standards of most cities but they're fine for NYC. A Lyft from the Lucerne to LGA cost us about $45, so not too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
for the price it is a great find. very clean , great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Restaurant.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Close to Central Park, subways, the Hudson, delis, restaurants, shops, etc.
Great location. Nice restaurant. Food was very good. Comfortable room. Great shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Central Park

Posted May 17, 2017
My experience was not as good as the first time I stayed there. Having to request the basic essentials each day gets old.