Ratings based on 3,225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Location & Service - First Class

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Close to Central Park, away from the noise and lights of midtown but less than a block away from subway transportation to anywhere in NYC.
Helpful and friendly staff. Concierge service very helpful, both before and during my stay. Bigger room than I expected. Well kept, clean and neat everyday. Close to Central Park, away from the noise and lights of midtown, which was great for a little downtime and relaxation after go, go, going to see the sights. But less than a block away from subway transportation. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location: easy walk to museums

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: See above
Clean and comfortable.Staff unobtrusive but responsive when needed. Room amenities ok but lacking vanity mirror and could benefit from larger ice bucket,and curtains that close.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Good hotel, clean and friendly staff who are very helpful. I have not given full marks as little things were missing such as coffee making facilities (this could be requested but I'm guessing would have cost extra as the bottle of water in our room coat about $6 when in general a bottle cost $3 or less in the shops), I also requested a street view on a high floor and was given a room on the 11th floor facing a building in the process of being built, considering our stay was for 10 nights getting woken up by builders nearly every morning was not a good experience, besides these things the I would rate our stay good but not excellent as these little consideration were not taken into account.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA


Posted Oct 10, 2016
Hotel is only average, finishes and furnishings are dated, not worth the high room rates
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise. Changing out windows to double pane would help with outside noise at night.
Very nice hotel. Only complaint is noise both outside and between rooms. Plumbing noise is a big problem especially if neighbors take showers late at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland, UK.

The Lucerne goes the extra mile..

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable. Had a fabulous city view. Free wine hour was a superb bonus!
Cons: We didn't dislike anything about this hotel. Maybe in need of decorative update.
Location: Great location on Upper West Side. One block from subway very close to both Central Park and Hudson River Parkway. Good restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy construction

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: One block from the Subway and close to Central Park. A little bitter quieter area than staying down at one of the Times Square Hotels.
The building adjacent to our hotel was undergoing renovations which we didn't know before booking at the Lucerne.Hotel. The workers started working at 6:30 a.m. each day which woke us up. The place had a complimentary wine from 4-5 but we were never informed by staff. Stayed there 5 nights. Rooms are small but clean. Front desk staff are okay but didn't find they went out of their way to be helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Great hotel in the Upper West Side

Posted Oct 6, 2016
We just returned from our trip to NYC and the Lucerne had a lot to do with making it a great trip. The hotel staff was wonderful and the location was great. We were about two blocks from both Central Park and the Hudson River either direction and a block away from the red line for easy access to lower Manhattan. Our room was great and the separate bedroom/living room area allowed us to put kids to bed early with ease. The door staff helped us figure out our travel arrangements to the airport without us having to worry about anything. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Repeat customer

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Have been many times for business and feel happy, relaxed and comfortable in the hotel. Good bed and good shower pressure. For NYC I sleep well at night and don't hear much noise. Great upper west location with one block walk to subway. Enjoyed breakfast and afternoon snacking at Irving Coffee Roasters on the same block. Very much appreciate the upgrade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Value on Upper West Side

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The staff was very courteous and helpful. I felt this was an excellent value for the level of quality
Cons: Needing exact change for the vending machines was annoying.
Location: This hotel is only a short walk from the Natural History museum. There are some lovely restaurants and interesting shops.
I traveled with my 20-something daughter who was doing some graduate school interviews at nearby Columbia University. This hotel made a great base of operations for our extended girls weekend of museums, Broadway shows, and fancy dinners. The neighborhood was safe and quiet as we walked home late at night from restaurants. Everything at this hotel is clean and comfortable and well maintained, but not flashy or hipster. The staff are very courteous and helpful. We were able to store our bags after we checked out, but before our evening flight out, so we could enjoy one last jaunt around town. I particularly enjoyed my breakfasts at the adjoining restaurant each morning. Many of the clientele seemed to be older European tourists.