Ratings based on 3,444 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
for the price it is a great find. very clean , great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Restaurant.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Close to Central Park, subways, the Hudson, delis, restaurants, shops, etc.
Great location. Nice restaurant. Food was very good. Comfortable room. Great shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Central Park

Posted May 17, 2017
My experience was not as good as the first time I stayed there. Having to request the basic essentials each day gets old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxed hotel. Quiet, comfortable

Posted May 12, 2017
I feel lead on by your invitation for 4 questions. I have already answered 5 questions and now you are asking me 4 more questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3rd time at hotel!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, upper west side, close to public transit.
Centrally located, hotel staff fantastic, very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, dated interior

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location, comfortable bed, good restaurant beside the hotel.
Cons: Dated interior, replace the shower curtains!
Location: Easy trip to Lincoln Center, Central Park, shopping in the Upper West Side
I loved the location of this hotel; it's in a great area. I love the Upper West side and it was a short walk to Columbia, Central Park, the Lincoln Center, great restaurants and bakeries, etc. But the room itself was dated, the shower curtain yellowed and torn, and I found a small band aid stuck in the drain of the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Classic, old fashioned hotel. Clean. Pleasant staff. Hotel provides 15% off coupon for breakfast at restaurant next door.
Cons: Addition of coffee maker would be an improvement.
Location: Close to subway, restaurants. Walking distance to Lincoln Center. Many stores. Great area of NYC.
Staff very welcoming. Easy check in. Quiet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a trip with grandchild

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This is the 3rd time we have brought a grandchild to NYC and stayed at the Lucerne. The rates are reasonable and it is close to many museums and Central Park. The restaurant connected to it is great and a nice convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My go-to hotel in NYC

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I have been staying at The Lucerne for about 12 years, any time I am in NY. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable, the staff is always great, and the location can't be beat. Close to the subway, Duane Reade, Irving Farms for coffee, and tons of great restaurants along Amsterdam Ave... I love it. I have never had a single complaint! It's at the point now where I recognize the doormen, and some of the people behind the counter, and it's nice to have a warm, familiar place in the bustle of the city. My daughter will be going to college in New York starting in the fall and I am looking forward to more stays at The Lucerne when I visit her (if she'll let me :-) ) and when she graduates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

class A hotel in upper west side

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: location i is only a few block walk to catch the one train to Lincoln center where i spend most of my time in nyc. it is not fancy but very comfy.
Cons: it is an old building so when it is cold outside the pipes for heat are VERY noisy...the hotel management says they cant fix this.
Location: Just a few block walk to central park and the American museum for natural history. Many excellent restaurants near by
situated close to #1 subway and next door to Nice Matin a very pleasant place for breakfast or lunch...especially if it is raining .as it was for most of the time i was in NYC..so.you just go from the lobby to into the restaurant..As a hotel guest you get a discount for breakfast. the rooms are comfortable although not big. the staff was knowledgeable and helpful..there is a concierge in the lobby to help with tickets to theatre and musical events and routes on public transportation to take to your destination. i am not good about getting around by bus so the desk staff marked out several routes for me to get to a Broadway play. i would definitely stay there again.