Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great Location but very small rooms

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Better air conditioning system
Our room was very very small with a treacherous step up into the bathroom. The air conditioner was a window box that turned on and off continually. Perhaps the most annoying was to find an extra fee on our credit card- for internet, "free" breakfast and the "free" bottled water. after taxes and fees had been included in the total Expedia price. The staff told me that is normal for any Expedia bookings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just visit

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very small room No cleaning service Awful breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Center of Manhattan

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location and price was excellent. Also continental breakfast was FREE with apples, tea, coffee, and delicious muffins....so great price!!
Cons: The bad odor in bathroom. If not for the bad smell. This hotel was an amazing bargain for the price, location, comfort and breakfast muffins.
Location: Near subway/metro walking distance to EVERYTHING including shopping, restaurants, cafés, drugstores etc.
Great location. Nice staff. Great muffins for continental breakfast. But very, very small room but very comfortable bed. Very clean sheets and towels. Bathroom was newly renovated with clean towels and nice cute toiletries BUT the bathroom had a very BAD odor/smell of sewage. However, the smell did not extend to sleeping in bed so I slept well and bathroom looked really new and clean despite the stench.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated hotel, we were not impressed.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Ok, the location of this hotel is great, no complaints as it's close to many attractions! The bathroom in our room was also a good size compared to the room. I don't let keep to leave negative reviews but in this case I think our experience justifies it. We found some of the staff unfriendly and uninterested to answer questions. Our room was dirty on arrival, we has dirty used cotton buds (ear cleaners) in our bathroom bin, disgusting! There is no housekeeping in this hotel, expect to clean your own room! Rooms are so so small, even by new York standards, we could barely move! Air conditioner in room rattled and shaked all night, very noisy, hard to sleep. Shower was barely hot. This hotel does also not store your luggage, we had a late flight on our check out day and had to leave with our luggage, over 20kg each. We had to find a luggage storage company online, get in a taxi and pay a fee to leave it for five hours. To be honest there is much better value in NYC, we have stayed many times and in fact have stayed in better hostels. Think carefully if you are considering booking this "hotel".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Should be priced at $50/night given room condition

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location is nice though, right under the Empire State Building and close to the 230 Fifth rooftop terrace which has great views of the city.
Cons: Everything! Do not promise customers a king size bed and give them a full bed. Hygiene and smell is a huge issue. Fix the phones in the rooms!
Location: Location is nice though, right under the Empire State Building and close to the 230 Fifth rooftop terrace which has great views of the city.
We are very disappointed by our 1 night stay at this hotel. We would like to get a refund from the hotel as they gave us a small, crampy room with a very small bed (not big enough for two people to sleep comfortably), even though we paid for a room with a king size bed (our Expedia hotel reservation says king size but we definitely did NOT get a king size bed). We could not even call the reception to change the room as the phone in the room was not working. We were so tired after the journey, we just crashed. The bath robe had stains on it. The room was not only small, it was quite smelly. One side of the bed was against a wall so it was not ideal for 2 people. It felt like we were in a smelly college dorm room even though we paid more than $200/night. So not worth it! Due to the room being overpriced, dirty, smelly, small and cramped, and with a full size bed instead of a king, we request our money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Sydney

Very central position we loved the boutique hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: I just said above.
Cons: Water could be a little warmer in the showers.
Location: No not now if you know this place you would not be asking and I Amin NYC where I am very hot eventhough we are now staying in the High Line.
We found the staff very obliging in every way, could not help us more with directions, etc., and of course we would recommend The MAve but the bedroom was small but we were comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Too noisy couldnt sleep well

Posted Oct 10, 2014
The curtain doesnt block the brightness and shower water too slow cant take a good bath
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Limited Budget Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This is a fine hotel if you are on a limited budget. The rooms are tiny and the staff mostly 20-30 who are somewhat clueless. The rooms are clean the bathrooms fine and the neighborhood great. Forget the free breakfast -bagels and coffee you can get on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Rooms aren't huge but they comfortable and clean. Hotel is modern and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is excellent. Great hotel for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie

Convenient to nearby attractions and subway

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly. They were helpful in recommending places to eat, provided directions to the subway, and upgraded our room for free.
Cons: The cable went out during every night of our stay, but this was an issue with the cable, not the hotel itself.
Location: There are two subway lines a couple blocks from the hotel. Walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden.
We had an overall pleasant experience at this hotel. The rooms are a bit small, but that was to be expected for New York. The details said that there was a continental breakfast, but it is very limited, and there isn't really anywhere to eat it unless you wanted to take it back up to your room. The staff are very friendly and the rooms were kept clean.