Featured Image

Reviews of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

4 out of 5
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
790 7th Ave, New York, NY

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

2.9
Rating 5 - Excellent. 487 out of 4046 reviews
5 - Excellent 12%
Rating 4 - Good. 983 out of 4046 reviews
4 - Good 24%
Rating 3 - Okay. 1008 out of 4046 reviews
3 - Okay 25%
Rating 2 - Poor. 793 out of 4046 reviews
2 - Poor 20%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 775 out of 4046 reviews
1 - Terrible 19%

2.9/5

Cleanliness

3.4/5

Staff & service

2.7/5

Amenities

2.6/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Lady at front desk was super rude, bathroom tub and hand wash would flood with water. Ac did not work. Rooms total catfish.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're disheartened to hear about the challenges you experienced during your time with us. We regret that our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate your needs or to make you feel valued. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope to host you again soon so we can demonstrate the high-caliber service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Hotel is very outdated
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location is great, that's it.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. While we're glad you enjoyed our prime location, your experience is not up to the quality and standard we usually provide for our guests. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with our accommodations and that our hotel failed to exceed your expectations. We hold ourselves to a much higher caliber of service so we'll be sure to discuss your concerns moving forward. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location is perfect, but the building is to old, just 2 ligth got on, the telephone didn’t call.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we're glad you enjoyed our prime location, it's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We strive to offer quality service and convenience for our guests. We're disheartened our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to discuss your review and concerns moving forward. We do hope you allow us to host you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loaction is good but hotel is dated and not very clean
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
We appreciate the feedback, While we're glad you enjoyed our prime location, we are disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that our accommodations didn't exceed your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The view was great, the A/C does not work also the ice and water machine, had to go floor on floor looking to find one available
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad you enjoyed our stunning views, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience with us. We are dedicated to providing our guests with quality service and accommodations. It's unfortunate to know that you felt we could have done a better job, but we're confident that we can provide you with a more positive experience in the future. We'd love to host you again and give you the wonderful experience we have become known for here. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Does not fit the 4 star rating, and not even close. Rooms were ok, dated but clean. The hallways are bad and the worst part of the hotel. Stained rugs, marks on the walls are that of public housing(not exaggerating). Staff was pleasant though. Fast masks are required but not enforced.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 24, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're deeply disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. We hold ourselves to a much higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team to help us rectify these problems moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The property seems like an old building, carpet very old, people left their trash outside the rooms and it did not have water at vendor machine. Staff was gentle, but I also did not have much contact with them.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Liked: close to public transit. Disliked: Outdated, Dirty, Tiny walls in the rooms, Price what is offered.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
The hotel room was big and comfortable but needs updated/clean rugs.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff was rude. Air conditioning didn’t work. Required $50/day security deposit.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 21, 2021
We appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the one of kind service we provide. It's very disappointing to see your experience with us was not the standard we're accustomed to sharing. We always strive to exceed all of the needs of our guests. We'll be sure to address your concerns internally and we would love to show you how hard we work to give our guests the best service in the future. We hope to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location is great but the overall quality of the actual hotel and room is quite below expectations. The hallway carpet is all ripped that causes me to trip. The carpet in my room feels sticky thus you need to wear slippers all the time. My room has the “non smoking sign” but it smells strongly like someone just smoked in there everytime I come in. I think the only redeeming quality is the staff. The receptionist, bellmans, housekeeping staff are all polite and very accommodating.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
First off the free parking is not really free, you can park for free 1 time but after you take your vehicle out you can not park again unless you pay $50 a day , the bathroom was disgusting ( mold ). Room was very dated. Location was great. Staff was great.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 19, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This place is a dump.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 20, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret that we couldn't provide you with a perfect experience. We do hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the high standard of service we're accustomed to providing. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
The front desk crew was great. The room itself looked a bit worse for wear. There weren’t any towels when we first got there, and when we tried to call the front desk none of the phones worked.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
Unfriendly front desk...Poor wi-fi
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My whole stay there was no A/C at all and they never offered to change my room. They gave me a box fan. Horrible hotel!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 17, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We regret that your time with us didn't meet your expectations. We apologize for the issues regarding the AC in your room. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we do hope you allow us the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The air conditioners did not work. It took almost half hour to catch an elevator.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 17, 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's unfortunate to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your recent experience, as we strive to provide all of our guests with a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Please know your feedback regarding our accommodations will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with the quality experience we're truly capable of sharing with our guests. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disgusting dirty hotel
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 15, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're deeply disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. We hold ourselves to a much higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team to help us rectify these problems moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked the location Quite and clean
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service
Good location not the cleanest place though.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Я работаю, плачу вам деньги и отелю, а вы мне угрожаете. Ни отель ни чего ни сдела ни вы, когда я должен был ехать на работу. Спасибо что вы мне ультиматум . Думаю вы попрощались со мной.
Stayed 20 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 14, 2021
Благодарим вас за то, что вы нашли время обратиться к нам. Мы глубоко разочарованы, узнав, что вы остались недовольны своим пребыванием. Мы гордимся нашим гостеприимным и добрым персоналом, поэтому нам неприятно слышать о таком сервисе. Мы сообщим нашей управленческой команде о вашем опыте и посмотрим, что мы можем сделать, чтобы этого больше не повторилось в будущем. Если мы можем что-то сделать для будущего проживания с нами, пожалуйста, дайте нам знать. Мы хотели бы еще одну возможность показать вам, насколько мы замечательные, поэтому мы с нетерпением ждем возможности снова принять вас в ближайшее время. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hotel lobby ok. Staff not welcoming.. rooms need updating. Hallway carpet old and dirty wrinkled and dangerous.. very disappointed..
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 13, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This place need a total renovation it’s disgusting the air conditioner doesn’t work for one full day I don’t have AC in the room and stuff be lying to you saying they will send someone. The carpet on every hallway dirty I want all my money back for real
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 12, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We regret that you had such difficulty during your time with us. We strive to offer quality service and comfort for our guests and it's unfortunate your room wasn't cleaned to the high standards we aspire to provide. We'll be sure to address your feedback with our team moving forward. We do hope you allow us to host you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
El servicio es muy lento y no te explican por noche lo que incluye
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Sucks , trash
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 10, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Your experience is not up to the quality and standard we usually provide for our guests. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with our hotel and that our accommodations failed to exceed your expectations. We hold ourselves to a much higher caliber of service so we'll be sure to discuss your concerns moving forward. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The rooms could b better unless u on the 18th floor and up those were beautiful look like u was in another place my floor the 17th looked better in pics Mayb they should get rid of the carpet other than that it was fine
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Location
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
Overall OK .The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were no frig and Microwave in the room and the Ice Machine was not working on 5 different floor.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The location of the hotel is perfect.But the cleanless of the bedroom was disgusting.The dont change the sheets of the bed They dont have enough towels.The rug ws t inside the bedroom abd outside.Te personal
Stayed 9 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 10, 2021
Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate your time with us didn't measure up to the high standards we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. We do hope for the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
While the staff was so professional the heat in the room didn’t work at all it stayed cold the original towels in the room where dirty
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 8, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're disheartened that your time with us was less than ideal. We regret that our accommodations failed to meet your expectations. We will be sure to alert the appropriate members of our team to rectify these issues. We care deeply about our guests and want to provide the best service possible. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope you give us another chance to host you soon so we can share a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 16, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Free water bottles and the view was great. The only thing is there weren’t enough towels or toilet paper
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Resort fee should not be charged since there are zero amenities during covid. Also this hotel has certain floors being used for homeless people. Not quite the vacation we were expecting. Noisy. Smells of weed everywhere. Room was filthy and decor is old and dingy. Has to switch rooms as air was not working and they couldn’t fix it. Not going back.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 8, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This hotel is super old and run down. Dark rooms. Peeling wallpaper. Scratched up furniture. Carpet curling up. Thin walls so you can hear your neighbors talking. The only positive is its proximity to Times Square.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 6, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
todo bien la atención es buena
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 13, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate our services didn't meet your expectations. We hope you give us another chance to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
location and view from the window
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I’m not sure if part of the hotel has been renovated but my room looked nothing like the pictures. The wall paper was peeling and the hallway looked like something out of The Shining. Also the AC was so loud that I couldn’t use it. Thank goodness it was a relatively cold weekend.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 3, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was very average. Wasn’t very nice or terrible. The bathroom was pretty old
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location is amazing. Very central in Manhattan. However, the hotel is not well kept. Big spots of mold in the bathroom, old towels, A/C working with difficulties. It seems trapped 30 years ago... without maintenance. Again, It is worthy only because it is a few blocks of everything in Manhattan.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from Customer Service on Jun 2, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. It's unfortunate your time with us was less than ideal. We care about the satisfaction and happiness of our guests. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. It's important to us that we offer our guests a quality experience so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I like that someone can make international calls but the promise to provide microwave and fridge on demand but when i demanded microwave they say they don't have it, which make eat cold food. Was very disappointing
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
The hotel is definitely a get what you pay for hotel. It's in a great location but the rooms are very outdated and old. Wallpaper was falling off, smoke alarm was hanging down, ac barely worked and really old. The bathroom was very twenty years ago with the faucet leaking. I'm not super complaining because our rate was decent with free parking.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Staff, location and free parking were great. Rooms are very dated and could use an update. Room A/C didn't work and the room stunk like weed.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Amenities
WiFi was very weak in the room.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021