Ratings based on 6,608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

In the Middle of the Action

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More drawer space.
The location of the hotel was the best part. The room itself was not anything extraordinary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Room dated , free internet was good, and TV

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Great location in Time square ,close to Broadway and Central Park not far away, close to restaurants and bars .
Dated but clean, would upgrade next time, no bar or restaurant , only continental breakfast available , staff friendly and helpful , would stay again .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice Place To Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: We liked the location of this hotel, the friendly staff, and the clean rooms.
Location: We enjoyed walking down Time Square and going to several places to dine.
We found the hotel to be very clean, staff very polite and helpful. The rooms are not real big but enough for two people. Hotel is close to everything at Time Square and easy to get to other places from this location. The hotel checked our luggage in before our room was ready and held our luggage after check out so we could visit some of the different attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

3 days at The Manhatten on Times Square

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: It's in need of redecoration
Location: Central location. Central park 15 min walk. Empire State building 20 min walk. Times Square 5 min walk.
I had read reviews about this hotel before I booked, and quite a lot were negative, but as it was centrally located I booked anyway. Yes the rooms are in need of redecoration and new carpets, but the beds were very comfortable. I and my 21 year old daughter were given a room on the 15th floor overlooking the front of the hotel, we could see the lights in Times Square! We had 2 large double beds, coffee machine, hairdryer and clean fresh towels every day. For the price we paid I was more than happy with our room. The staff were all extremely helpful, and gave us great advice, and couldn't have done more. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good position.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Very comfortable bed. Room and corridors need refurbIslington. Very spacious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Hotellet var helt ok, lite slitet men väldigt bra läge
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Manhattan time square

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The staff so helpful and could not do enough to make our stay a perfect one
Cons: The standard room was ok but will definitely upgrade next time
Location: The location was exactly what I expected verycentral
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The lobby was very nice, however always very crowded and difficult to get through to the elevators as a result.
Cons: The room, especially the bathroom was not very clean. The room was very old with rips in the carpet and wallpaper. There was also a very musty smell in the room, which was very unpleasant. The pictures online were very misleading as they did not resemble the room I stayed in at all. The air conditioning unit didn't work properly and the vents were clogged with huge dust balls, which led to respiratory issues for everyone in the room. Also, there was a mandatory tax of $27.21 per night in order to have wifi, long distance calling, fitness centre etc whether you used these items or not. This was not made clear at the time of booking and should have been included in the price of the room or at least added to the total at the time of booking so the costs were known upfront. I have stayed in much nicer hotels in NYC for less money. I would not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback. Although we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern lobby, it’s disappointing to hear that you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves on providing guests with excellent service and a comfortable environment so when we fall short on those things we take them very seriously. Please know that your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team right away. In regards to our facilities fees, we feel we do an excellent job of clearly presenting this information to our guests on our website and during the booking process. This information is also on all third party websites. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity to provide you with the wonderful service we are known for. Have a great day. Yours in Hospitality, Brendan Moraes - General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

this place is very convenient

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: clean friendly stuff and amazing location
Location: this location is very close to everything shopping bars and everything
i like this hotel bcoz the stuff is so nice the location is very convenient and its the heart of the city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Upgrade room

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Private lift for floor 18
Cons: Rooms need upgrading & you do not get a room what you see on the internet... very misleading
Location: Good location in the heart of Times Square
The room we were put in was smelly & dark had to pay to upgrade to executive
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback, Andrea. We are disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at The Manhattan. While we are glad you loved our convenient location and hope you were able to do some sightseeing, it is upsetting to see you were not satisfied with the room. We will certainly bring your concerns to our management team so we may improve for the future. If there's anything we can do in the meantime to accommodate a future stay, please let us know. We'd love another opportunity to prove to you just how amazing we are; we'd look forward to that, Andrea. Yours in Hospitality, Brendan Moraes- General Manager