Ratings based on 7,505 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Terrible hotel with the price

Posted May 26, 2017
The hotel is so old and facitlities are not updated
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haddonfield, NJ

The lobby is the best part

Posted May 26, 2017
The hotel lobby was deceptive. It's bright, fresh, and up to date. As soon as you get off the elevator you will see how old the hotel really looks. The carpets are old and dirty. The hallways are downright creepy! Same goes for the actual room. Very dated. The bathroom was a bit unkept. Towels had stains on them( you can tell they had been washed but they were dingy from being used over and over). I had to call the front desk because the toilet was stopped up and wouldn't flush. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly! Everyone I encountered from checking in to checking out was extremely polite and professional. For me, customer service makes all the difference! I would not stay there again because of the appearance, however, I have only kind things to say of the staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nj

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: close to everything
I ordered a roll out bed and at the reception desk they said the room was too small for the roll out bed. They said it was against the fire code. We had to move to another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted May 25, 2017
Needs updating. Rooms are clean & staff are very helpful. The photo's on the web show the rooms to be much better than they actually are. It was nice that they let me change room for a disabled one & to have a fridge for my medication. In a lovely spot right near to everything going on in Times Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lago Vista, Texas

The Manhattan Hotel has a most perfect location!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location! Location! Location! Friendly staff, clean lobby and a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Cons: The beds are way too soft, and a tad lumpy.
Location: Everything is within walking distance; subway is right around corner, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music & many food/drink options.
We selected this hotel because of its perfect location to Times Square, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, lots of shopping all around you and walking distance to great food, bars and shops. The subway is also literally around the corner. We were traveling with our almost 80 year old mother and she was able to walk everywhere and see as much as possible in very few days. It was her first trip to New York and although she was overwhelmed with sensory overload, she had a wonderful time. The staff at the Manhattan Hotel were super friendly and everywhere we went, people was kind and friendly. Being from Texas, rumor is that New Yorkers are rude and unfriendly, I have never felt that way and I've traveled to New York many times.When we return, we will select The Manhattan Hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well worn, not worth the price

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel needs a complete renovation, inside and out.
I expected a lot more from a supposedly 4-star hotel. This hotel is in worn-out condition. I could have stayed at the much better Hilton a block away for about the same price, and stayed in a real 4-star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't meet my expectations

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The beds were comfortable.
Cons: More thorough cleanings. Clean out the drain in the tub. Train housekeeping to be a little quieter through the night.
Location: Convenient location.
The only positive about this hotel was that the beds were comfortable. Even the "room with the view" had a limited view. Our room wasn't very clean. The drain was clogged and I had to clean out someone else's hair and gunk. There was also something sticky on the carpet and the hair dryer was full of dust and quit during use. It was a very loud hotel. The walls must be extremely thin because we could hear every word our neighbors said... at 2:00 am. And the housekeeping staff was very loud in the hallway throughout the night; once it sounded as though they tipped over a cart. After checkout, we had our bags held while we waited for the train. When we returned, it took 20 minutes to retrieve the bags and we actually missed our train while waiting for our bags.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good Hallways dirty Evening staff rude

Posted May 21, 2017
I was not pleased with the evening staff rude and mean Room so small can't fit roll bed Smelly and unclean halfways
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Posted May 18, 2017
It was not the same room as shown on the website in the photos it very nice but real life unacceptable from what I see on the website. I booked the room because the photos on the website looks so Beautiful but that was not the case.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback. We're deeply disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider allowing us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we're capable of. Yours in Hospitality, Brendan Moraes - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC

Great location and staff but needs updating

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff was awesome! Super friendly and very accommodating. It was a horrible day with rain and wind. They didn't even hesitate to give us early check in at no charge. Very helpful and held our bags after check out. Quick check in and out. Wifi was always working. The location was even better. You could see time square from out front the hotel and easy to walk everywhere. The subway stop was around the corner as well making transportation easy. The only thing that would have been nicer was some updating. The bathroom was very dated. Very comfy bed though. I would recommend this to others.