Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Getting a little shabby, but fine

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location, suite size
Cons: new furniture and decor. A bit shabby.
Location: Fabulous
ADA compliant suite was wonderful! Very roomy and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice staff, excellent service.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms, it was hard to find switches.
Location: excellent location to 5th avenue shopping, grand central and time square and subway station. We walked everywhere.
They where able to check us in extra early and didn't even charge us. Everyone was polite and greeted us every time we walked by and very helpful with directions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Nice facilities.
Cons: Poor A/C control, noise level from street, room not equipped as shown on website. Need additional elevators -- two elevators for the entire high-rise
Location: Good access to subway, some shows, restaurants, Central Park. Good walking neighborhood.
I still question that we got the rooms we had booked and paid for. Most people there were on timeshares but we had booked and paid full price as a regular hotel guest. Our rooms were changed from the type we had booked and we were told it was an "upgrade". We found they didn't contain the facilities we expected from the website. When I questioned the staff, they insisted it was an upgrade and there were no rooms such as I described. That may all be perfectly true but I still have this nagging feeling that the larger rooms with more facilities went to the timeshares and we got smaller rooms that were left in spite of having reserved larger rooms. Our rooms were second floor, on the corner, looking out on two busy streets. Some would say that is great. But the all-night noise level was very loud from the streets. We had requested quiet rooms and these were the exact opposite. Sirens, traffic, horns, etc. Otherwise, very well cared-for facilities, well equipped, friendly staff, good location, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel depending what room you get.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The location is great.Elevators are fast but can be crowded.
Cons: Update all of the rome and clean them better. Mold should not be in the showers.
Location: It is just a few blocks from Times square and good restaurants. Central park is also a few blocks north.
I booked 2 rooms for a weekend stay with 3 women. My room on the 16th floor was in need of cleaning and major upgrades. Wallpaper was peeling off at the seams. One of the bathrooms had mold growing in the grout and on some of the tiles. My daughter would not step in it. The pullout couch frame had chipped paint and the mattress was unbelievably worn. I slept on many pullouts but this was the worse by far! We asked for a cot for my daughter to sleep on and they initially wanted to charge us $30 for it but when we described the couch they waived the fee. The carpet also was quite dirty. Our other room we booked was on a lower floor and updated and clean. The couch was much nicer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

Disappointing

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location and comfortable bed.
Cons: Staff attitude. Facilities in the converted rooms.
Location: Close to Central Park and lots of subway lines. Short walk to Times Square and other surrounding areas.
There are only a few good things I can say about the Manhattan Club. The location is excellent, the bed is very comfortable, some of the concierge were friendly, and housekeeping were good at initial problem solving. But that is where it stops. A four star "kitchenette" property with only plastic cups and plates, and no other utensils you would expect with a minimal kitchenette, initially a dirty room, a used robe (hanging up like new), filthy windows, temperature control with no control, and a leaky toilet. You add that to the lack of staff care and terrible attitude, and it is defiantly not worth a recommendation. We were really looking forward to our stay at this property. It is so very disappointing. Especially as, 90% of the issues could have been easily fixed or improved by staff, but they simply didn't care. It is often said that when one thing goes wrong for a customer/client, then everything does, and it is essentially true. With experience in the service industry ourselves, we know things can go wrong. But when lots of things go wrong, and virtually nothing is done to make the situation better, then a business fails to deliver. We were told (through sighs and eye rolling) to just fill out a comment card. We were spoken to with such distain that it marred our NYC stay. And I have to add, that this is the ONLY time we experienced rude service during our entire trip to the US. And that is saying something for any trip. Value for money... absolutely not
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very convenient to the Plaza and other 5th avenue

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Staff and guests were so friendly and helpful
Location: The Plaza, 5th avenue shopping, central park, great restaurants
We had the most lovely suite. Perfect for a weekend stay. Although we were there just for the night, we will be back and hope to book this suite or a similar one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel was in a great location, the staff were very helpful, but to charge $12.84 aus for a bottle of water in the room was expensive, overall it was a nice place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The Manhattan Club

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Look for another hotel.
I have heard about The Manhattan Club for some time. I have never heard anything negative, but knew that it has been around for a very long time, and I thought had a good reputation. I was thrilled when I was about to get a room, at holiday season for a reasonable price (not cheap by any stretch). Our room had an extremely "old" smell to it, an odor that did not go away for the entire stay. The furniture and fixtures were from the 70's and has never been updated (We are not talking new retro, these are the original items). I am not sure why, but everywhere there was wall space, they have placed mirrors. To the point it got creepy. There were what I can imagine as beautiful French Doors between the rooms that have become floor to ceiling mirrors. I am sure if they were to be restored it would add a great deal to the decor of the room, but instead they threw mirrors on them. Like I said, very creepy. I would not recommend this hotel, unless you were desperate and could overlook a great deal. I know their image is tarnished in my mind forever, and I would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So close to time square!!!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We had the best Christmas vacation here. Truly a perfect hotel for being near all the fun!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WiFi does not work

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Wi-Fi
We had a 2nd room floor and the Wi-Fi never worked. We called on it a few times and the IT guy said he would boost the signal. It was all BS. I'm not sure they even have Wi-Fi. That's a problem.