Featured Image

Reviews of The Mansfield Hotel

3.5 out of 5
The Mansfield Hotel
12 W 44th St, New York, NY

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

3.7
Good
Rating 5 - Excellent. 290 out of 998 reviews
5 - Excellent 29%
Rating 4 - Good. 351 out of 998 reviews
4 - Good 35%
Rating 3 - Okay. 168 out of 998 reviews
3 - Okay 17%
Rating 2 - Poor. 130 out of 998 reviews
2 - Poor 13%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 59 out of 998 reviews
1 - Terrible 6%

4.0/5

Cleanliness

4.1/5

Staff & service

3.4/5

Amenities

3.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
NY at height of Coronaviris
We were on the 7th, top floor. There were two stairways that were open and a very narrow passage to get around them to the rest of floor. Hallways were all narrow. Bottled water was available, but you had to ask for it as well as washcloths. It seems like the expected was minimal. The location was very good and walkable.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Room comfort
Room lighting terrible. No hand towels provided. No mirror in room except in bathroom. Expected some charm from the era the hotel was built, but no charm except in library which was used as breakfast room.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Staff was professional and the hotel was centrally located, however, the rooms could use an upgrade, specifically the air conditioning unit, toilet, and ambient lighting.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Probably good for younger travelers, but not good for older ones..stairs to climb to get into hotel, tiny bathroom with marble step to get into (two black and blue evties to show for it), climb over bathtub to get into the shower, and no grab bars.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, room comfort
Very disappointed with this hotel. It took about 30 minutes to check in, rooms are extremely small and the photos on Hotels.com are misleading. Beware that the breakfast is nothing more than bad coffee and stale pastries.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Location for the Price!
Great location for the price. Rooms were neat and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will not hesitate to stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice service.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rooms were very quaint and clean. Room was very warm and a bit noisy from other guests.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Clean and convenient
Clean and comfortable. A very nice and affordable hotel close to Time Square. Simple amenities like 24 hour coffee and tea plus a modest fitness center.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
A chilly night in midtown..
Upon arrival everything was good. Location is great, staff was welcoming, check in was easy, the room was very clean and perfect for an overnight stay in the city. When we returned in the evening the room was very cold! There is no way to control the heat in the room. The front desk explained that the building uses a boiler system and the boiler sometimes shuts off but that it would be on again soon. They offered extra blankets which we accepted. This did not worry me so much since we live in a building with the same system. The problem was that the room never warmed up!! So either the heat never came on again or it was on and they didn’t have it on high enough. We were very cold and didn’t sleep well. I live in a building with same system but much bigger than the hotel and it is heated very well, there is no reason for the room to be so cold. Other than that the stay would have been perfect.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Old property, Coffee machine was not working, poor breakfast, the room was extremely hot, I try to put the heat down ,but didn’t work .Staff was ok !!!! The hotel is close time square and 5th Avenue.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service
The website was definitely misleading. The rooms are tiny and did not state restaurant was under renovation. The bathrooms were only equipped with 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel. You have to call for washcloths every day. The housekeeper is not allowed to give it to you. The 24-hour coffee that was supposed to be available was inoperable both days we were there. No alternative solution provided. Horrible valet service! It took 1.5 hours to deliver our vehicle. Front desk customer service minimal. Rick, who indicated he was the manager, was rude and lied to us several times when asked about the status of our vehicle. Otherwise, the bellhop, security and cleaning personnel were professional.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Room was very small, no windows to the outside. No hooks to hang coats. Breakfast offered in lounge was vey disappointing. Positives: good location and clean.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Small room, no closet. Had to change room. Property was old. Parking was inconvenienced
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The "go to place" to stay when in New York City
Giving kudos to night manager Rick, super nice guy and very helpful. Was having trouble with the television in my room and because the hotel was under going a new cable system, he placed me in a new room in seconds. Super friendly place that I always consider when I stay in the city. My fourth visit to The Mansfield, my go to to place!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Midtown Location
We had a lovely stay at the Mansfield. The staff was friendly and attentive.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service
I had no hot water for a shower in the am and when I called they didn’t offer later checkout. The manager was rude when checking out. He said they were having trouble with their boiler which was not my problem. I asked about late checkout and he said I should have called front desk back. I asked!!!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
No complaints 😊
My daughters and I arrived for a 1 night stay, and check in was seamless. They gave us time to get into our room before coming back down to decide if we would valet or self park. The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and had everything we needed.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location was great, I had an amazing experience.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked the old building and the history of it. Bathroom was a bit tight, would have liked a hook to hang a towel or robe on.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked the old-fashioned style of the hotel, but my room was cold, the water was cold and there was a lot of noise outside the ac. The tv barely worked.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Thumbs up.
Nice, well kept clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hotel is located in a location it is neat great restaurants and the theater district. We will be back.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a lovely boutique hotel in mid town. My room was ready when I arrived at 11. That was so nice.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
Unique style, but the hotel was probably in better shape twenty years ago.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The building was beautiful and very clean. Like everything in New York the room was very tight and compact, but served the purpose. The only thing that was disappointing is that I wasn’t aware that the restaurant and bar were out of service, so I picked this hotel because it had breakfast and unfortunately all they had were pastries and apples which they called a continental breakfast. Most places I’ve been to that has continental at least has cereals and bagels, not just muffins, donuts, and pastries.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Lovey old hotel with great character, excellent location and service, very clean, newer bathrooms, very comfortable and quiet. Not luxurious and the rooms and halls are small but overall a great stay at a great price.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Classic hotel with a contemporary atmosphere
This was first time staying at this hotel. Perfect location. It has a very classic feel. I loved the hard wood floors. Bathrooms (the most important rooms in a hotel) were very clean, spotless, cozy, contemporary. Will definitely stay again when I'm back in NYC next year.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Charming hotel in a convenient location! Small and clean with friendly staff.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a great hotel at a decent price not far from Time Square or the theater District. You can't beat the $45 / 24hrs valet parking. Bed and pillows very comfortable, only down fall was you can not control the temperature in the room because it's an older building.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A really good feel!
Hotel Mansfield was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I travel a lot and the three most important factors when staying at a hotel are, bed comfort, cleanliness and good staff. The Mansfield hit all three plus it had tons of charm! I’ll be booking this hotel again for my next NYC visit.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful and great history. The breakfast wasn't much of a breakfast and the rooms do not have microwaves for leftovers.
Stayed 6 nights in Jan 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It is a very nice place for the money. Real close to times square. the only complaint I have was the air conditioner was very noisy.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Hotel restaurant was under construction but hotel failed to disclosed it during reservation. So, breakfast that included in a room price was non-existent Hotel has happy hour from 4 to 5 pm. This is a JOKE. They run out of cheez in 10 min, and had very little vine.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Staff was nice and cordial. The room was clean, and funtional. Great place if your doing stuff in the city; location was perfect. More importantly the costs were upfront no surprises.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I dont like in this hotel brekfast brekfast( mini muffins ,apples and coffie or tea):-(
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing! Loved it!
Stay was amazing. Staff is always courteous and professional.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019