Ratings based on 2,028 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Tiny rooms with a brick wall for a view

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very dark room and very small, great location. Bell boy very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prime Location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedding, lighting & better communication re. the deposit that was taken without warning as international fees were incurred
Location: Breakfast: Le Pain Quotidien - $20 p/head, everything from croissant to avocado toast Dinner: John's Pizzeria - always a queue but SO worth it
We stayed at the Mansfield for 5 nights and overall were pleasantly surprised. The location could not have been better, literally a 3 minute walk to Times Square/Grand Central station. Whilst we were right in the centre of NY, the room was incredibly quiet. The room was equipped with everything we needed, but is in need of some TLC - the surfaces needed a dust, the bedding was threadbare, the bathroom sink had a dodgy looking repair, & the toiletries were nothing special, but to be honest, after a long day of sightseeing, we barely noticed these imperfections. I agree with others re. the lack of lighting, however there was a small illuminated mirror in bathroom which was enough for makeup etc. The library in lobby is perfect to sit in and rest after a long day, and has free wifi/tea & coffee facilities. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others, if only for the humongous comfy bed & ideal location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The most important thing is the location!!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Is near almost to anything is not that fancy, the rooms are small but that is not the issue if you are planning to visit NY
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Good value for the price. Comfortable bed and great shower. Quiet location. Furnace is not controllable and needed to open a window. Would stay there again. good location close to shopping on 5th ave, grand central, Central Park or Times Square and broadway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Description of the room doesn't match reality

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: the listing online should be accurate
we booked our trip on expedia , it was a last minute deal . we arrived at the hotel , and an awful room was presented to us , no safe , a minuscule window , very sad room . after complaining at the reception they moved us to a nicer room . we did appreciate the effort of the staff to make us happy but i really disliked the fact that a deal was a deal , they gave us the worst room of the hotel at first (nothing like the picture available online.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The room was very clean and comfy. The staff was helpful and quick when I requested a few things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location - dusty but clean. No water in rooms

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Staff in bar/cafe great. Desk good. Cibdistions dusty but over all clean good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in very central location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Had a really fantastic stay in the Mansfield. Very central location with friendly staff. The downside was the scaffolding across the room window which meant there was no natural light coming into the room what so ever - but we felt the price we paid for the room made up for that. Also being in a room facing the street it could be quite noisy through the night and first thing in the morning. Overall though the hotel was very clean and had a nice feel to it. The room felt modern and stylish and as said above was in a great location. Would definitely recommend and stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice Historic Hotel for the money.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: right in midtown. Historic boutique hotel Updated décor and bathrooms.
Cons: Mold/mildew in the shower
Location: Close to Grand Central, Bryant Park, plenty to do and eat.
THE GOOD: Small, boutique hotel. Very old (ie beautiful and well made), and maintained w/ 24 hour coffee, etc...The rooms feel larger than the pictures...but the rooms are small..so be prepared...I find that charming and didn't mind. It's quite nice. The décor is updated and include updated bathrooms. And the walls and floors of the hotel are lovely. The elevators are small so be prepared. it's a quick wait and quick ride. The hotel is right in midtown so it was easy to walk to Grand Central, Bryant Park, etc...We found parking on the street right at the hotel for the weekend. THE BAD: BUT, we had to pay to park on the street on Saturday and it was $21 for 6 hours. On Sunday it was free though, so that was nice. (Front desk wasn't helpful in directing us where to park, except to say we could park in a deck that was $45 every time you entered.). Couldn't figure out the heater (and didn't ask), so we just opened the windows, which was nice. But it gets noisy sometimes. And even with the windows closed, it's somewhat noisy (We were on the 5th floor). THE UGLY: The only thing to note was there was mold/mildew in the bathroom shower over maybe 10% of the grout. Easily fixable...Just needs to be cleaned better. I enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel Centrally Located in Time Square Area

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Heat/Air Conditioning
The hotel rooms are so smashed between each other that you can hear the people next to you breathing. There is no heat, so I slept in a sweater and warm pants with 2 pairs of socks. One blanket is definitely not enough. The "sitting room" downstairs is the only warm spot in the hotel. There is a fire going and you can get coffee or tea.