Ratings based on 1,511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old character hotel.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The hotel is knitted out in dark rustic wood. So hotel is darker than the modern white hotels. cleaners came everyday, new towels and bedding. They clean where they can see. Under beds and between radiators need a bit of extra cleaning. Room was cold but no problems with obtaining a portable heater. Bath robes received after requesting 3 times. Roads are very noisey with New Yorkers beeping horns. Didn't eat or drink in hotel so can't comment. M bar looked dark but looked nice. Games room was a lovely extra and free tea and coffee, I would have liked hot chocolate but no option for that. going up to reception was 5 steps. Which are not steep. We have a doorman on arrival and always seen someone to help. Staff all polite and friendly. Yes I would stay here again and would recommend. You have to want old style not modern to appreciate this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Two Day Stay

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I looked at this Hotel when our flight was cancelled and didn't want to spend a lot for a room. First it looked much bigger in the photos, but after my initial shock it wasn't to bad. The room is small to say the least but for just the two of us it worked fine. The bed was comfy, wasn't ready for the steam heat but again it was fine. The shower was great with plenty of hot water. If your looking for a place that's got some history behind it stay here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charged my credit card 3 times for 1 night.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
They charged my card 3 separate times over a 1 night stay. Locking up $450 I could no longer spend while on vacation. Hotel was decent at best. People were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Jan 23, 2016
it was comfy, staff was amazing, coffee was awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel. Very close to Times Square.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious. Gym was small, but sufficient.
Cons: Internet was $15 per hour. The bathroom was a bit small, but it's New York, so we weren't expecting anything massive.
Location: Near Times Square.
We loved the hotel. It was extremely convenient. The front is under construction right now, so it will be prettier from the outside once that's done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Warm friendly and personable. A beautifully maintained property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Excellent location , just blocks from Times Square but quiet. Steps from 5th Avenue. This is an older facility. Once day we had no hot water in the a.m. Business center includes one computer. My room was very clean every day. One night room was quyite cold (hallway was very warm) but nothign could be done so they brought me a space heater.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Birthday celebration

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The location and the quaint of it all was awesome ... Near everything no complaints
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

horrible experince. No hot water in the morning

Posted Jan 18, 2016
No hot water in the Morning and no heater in the morning. I wake up in freezing and by the way there is no hot water for to wash up after you get up. No temperature adjustor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerzenheim Rh.- Pfalz..

Gutes Hotel nahe Times Square.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Nähe zum Zentrum.
Cons: Nein
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der 44.th. Strasse und nach 200 mtr. ist man mitten im Geschehen.
Wir waren 10 Tage in New York. Es hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Hotelpersonal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit Kaffee gab es rund um die Uhr kostenlos.