Ratings based on 2,716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joanne from Washington, DC

Nice room, attentive staff & great roof access!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great NY "bargain" in a terrific area- 2 blocks from Gramercy Park and neighboring restaurants, Ate sushi, shopped in vintage stores, took a phenomenal yoga class, enjoyed High Tea, and strolled historic streets. Will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Great distance, VERY comfy beds & fantastic hotel!

Posted May 10, 2016
Cannot fault this hotel one bit. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful; they even arranged transport for the return trip to JFK at a fixed fee, and looked after our bags at no additional cost. The rooms are of an exceptional standard; we had a queen size bed that was the best bed I have ever stayed in. The temprature was about right. The room (216) was sound proof, a decent size for getting ready and sleeping in and was equipped with a mini-bar (at extra cost), safe (no extra cost) umbrella, and hairdryer. TV was working with many US channels (even showing British football). The bathroom was satisfactory; sufficient toilet paper, complimentary toiletries, clean towels every day and working extractor fan. No outside view however due to scaffolding, but that wasn't an issue whatsoever. Wifi was available on a separate floor with complimentary tea and coffee that was ideal. 10 blocks away from W 34th St (Times Sq) approx 15 min walk from central so ideal getting about; you pass lots of bagel shops on the way! Closest metro station was on E 23rd St approx 10-12 min walk and cheaper than chips! I would 100% return and stay and recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC.
4 out of 5
by Ellen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Clean, comfortable, convenient & affordable!

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable beds, great location for our needs and accommodating, friendly staff.
Cons: Street noise is very loud, but I'm not sure what they could do to fix that.
Location: Subway at 23rd to the uptown/downtown 4, 5 & 6 trains is only a few blocks away.
The Marcel at Gramercy was conveniently located at the corner of E 24th & 3rd Ave. Our room, #507, with two double beds was spacious for NYC and very clean. The hallways of the hotel are a bit of a labyrinth, but once you locate your room, it's not difficult to get back to. The beds were very comfortable, and we loved the shower head and the tub which were perfect after our long days of walking across the city. Our window faced 3rd Avenue and noise from trucks and emergency vehicles could be quite loud. It didn't bother us, however, because we were expecting this from the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from out of towner

great boutique hotel

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: very helpful staff, 10th floor lounge, décor
great boutique hotel, one of the best parts is the 10th floor lounge that has an outdoor balcony with a terrific view of the city, totally recommend it for a stay in a quieter part of the city that is near the big time big apple happenings
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Pa.

One of NY's Finest

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Nice area of NYC. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by Charlotte from Florida

Thanks for a great stay!

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was wonderful! Very friendly and accommodating. We were thrilled to stay at the Marcel at Gramercy, and look forward to staying again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marcel at Gramercy Stay 2016

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Id recommend this hotel after our recent stay. If you like to walk it's only 2 miles from Times Square area or about $10-12 taxi or uber ride. All the staff were very helpful and I look forward to staying here again.