Ratings based on 2,681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kleines Zimmer, stadtnah mit freundlichem Personal

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Kaffee und Tee kostenlos
Cons: Es ist kein Platz für die Koffer vorhanden.Das Zimmer ist so klein, dass man wirklich Probleme damit hat nicht ständig ans Bett zu stoßen.
Location: Guter Ausgangspunkt, nettes Diner in der Nähe.
Wir haben uns im Hotel wohl gefühlt. Das es in NY überall laut ist , kann man nicht leugnen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Great distance, VERY comfy beds & fantastic hotel!

Posted May 10, 2016
Cannot fault this hotel one bit. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful; they even arranged transport for the return trip to JFK at a fixed fee, and looked after our bags at no additional cost. The rooms are of an exceptional standard; we had a queen size bed that was the best bed I have ever stayed in. The temprature was about right. The room (216) was sound proof, a decent size for getting ready and sleeping in and was equipped with a mini-bar (at extra cost), safe (no extra cost) umbrella, and hairdryer. TV was working with many US channels (even showing British football). The bathroom was satisfactory; sufficient toilet paper, complimentary toiletries, clean towels every day and working extractor fan. No outside view however due to scaffolding, but that wasn't an issue whatsoever. Wifi was available on a separate floor with complimentary tea and coffee that was ideal. 10 blocks away from W 34th St (Times Sq) approx 15 min walk from central so ideal getting about; you pass lots of bagel shops on the way! Closest metro station was on E 23rd St approx 10-12 min walk and cheaper than chips! I would 100% return and stay and recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Clean, comfortable, convenient & affordable!

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable beds, great location for our needs and accommodating, friendly staff.
Cons: Street noise is very loud, but I'm not sure what they could do to fix that.
Location: Subway at 23rd to the uptown/downtown 4, 5 & 6 trains is only a few blocks away.
The Marcel at Gramercy was conveniently located at the corner of E 24th & 3rd Ave. Our room, #507, with two double beds was spacious for NYC and very clean. The hallways of the hotel are a bit of a labyrinth, but once you locate your room, it's not difficult to get back to. The beds were very comfortable, and we loved the shower head and the tub which were perfect after our long days of walking across the city. Our window faced 3rd Avenue and noise from trucks and emergency vehicles could be quite loud. It didn't bother us, however, because we were expecting this from the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lindo y bien ubicado

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Ubicación y amabilidad del personal
Location: Excelente ubicación.
un poco escuetas las habitaciones, pero muy limpio y bien ubicado.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern Friendly Hotel in Gramercy District

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The staff The bed The decor The location
Cons: The key entry system
Location: Corner of 3rd Avenue and East 24th street. So everything within walking distance or a short metro trip. Great restaurants
Our welcome was great. Warm and friendly. All of the staff were so helpful. On arrival we were offered an upgrade as we were staying for 5 nights and our allocated room was a bit on the small side. Our only reservation is that the noise from the street did beep us awake. But then I guess if you go to New York you don't expect to sleep!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Comfy base to explore NYC

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Coffee and The NY Times were available in the 10th floor lounge w/ Empire State Bldg view.
Cons: The room was small but functional--like many places in Europe.
Location: There was a delightful breakfast and dinner comfort food restaurant, The Bluebell Café, within 100 yards and a couple of good pubs nearby as well.
We were welcomed efficiently on a rainy April day. The front desk loaned us a sturdy large umbrella for the next four days. As first time visitors we were delighted in the location: minutes from Hop-on/Hop Off Bus or subway at the Flatiron Building. We were 30 minutes walk from Times Square, the UN HQ, Greenwich Village, and restaurants in SoHo. The hotel was clean, the room small and bed comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F.

boutique hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
I love a simple , modern, boutique hotel that provides just enough comfort in all the right places as in pillows, cleanliness , friendly and young atmosphere that caters to professionals !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Some strew noise at night.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Very helpful staff. Rooms are small and there is steer traffic noise at night. Typical New York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Location is good but the room condition is bad. During our stay, cleaniness was bad. No matter how much more tips we paid, but there was no much difference
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Estuvo muy agradable

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Me gustó mucho el vino q ofrecen gratis en el hotel