Ratings based on 2,600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We stayed at the marcel for 3 nights. It's was the perfect location if your looking to explore lower Manhattan, and trying to stay away from the Times Square tourist trap. Lots of great restaurants, bars, and coffee shops close by. The room was very small, but it was clean and all the hotel staff were very friendly. Would go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manduria (/TA) Italy

Ottimo hotel in una posizione ottima

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Cons: L'unica piccola cosa da migliorare è la rumorosità del climatizzatore in camera.
Il personale dell'hotel è stato molto cortese e disponibile, i comfort (the o caffè gratis, wifi, computer e tv) della sala al decimo piano ci hanno coccolato per non parlare della vista.. la posizione dell'hotel è ottimale per raggiungere facilmente diverse zone della città.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barbados

great holiday in manhattan

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: staff
Location: just walk around ,took in the sights and sounds
from the time I arrived at the Marcel the staff at the desk even the Doorman warmly welcomed me .when I saw my room I was very pleased . the staff that I interacted with help when I needed directions to go and explore , everyday I went somewhere different , didn't let your COLD weather keep me on the inside ,met up with friends (from Barbados) and travelled to Brooklyn ,saw Time Square ,the Empire State Building , where ever the tourist went I did too. totally enjoyed my self
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes, sauberes Hotel in zentraler lage

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Das Hotel hat insgesamt einen sehr netten, freundlichen und sauberen Eindruck hinterlassen. Das Personal ist hilfsbereit und hat auf Probleme gut reagiert. Das Zimmer ist sauber und gut ausgestattet. Leider sind die Fenster nicht gut isoliert, so dass der Lärm 1:1 im Zimmer war. Auch ein Zimmerwechsel in die 9. Etage hat das Problem nicht lösen können. Das Problem ist bekannt, da das Hotel Ohropax zur Verfügung stellt. Das Frühstück: Croissants sind leider nicht frisch, ansonsten war alles okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

small boutique hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: location
location was good. small rooms very small bathrooms. staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Perfect place to stay for our first visit!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
We had the absolute best time! It was always nice to come back to a comfortable and quite hotel so we could relax after a long day. Very clean, friendly staff and such a cute hotel over all. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Comfortable hotel in Downtown Manhattan

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: The hotel is on a great location close to subway, shops and good restaurants.
Cons: Make sure everything is perfect before guess arrive
Location: the hotel is near subway, and really good restaurants.
I had a good experience besides that the air conditioner didn't work and the shower wasn't draining fast enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gute Basis für Stadterkundung

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Lage, Lounge, Dachterrasse
Location: Flatiron Building, Empire State Building, Gramercy Park (closed to the public), Madison Square Park
Das Hotel liegt in Kips Bay, ca. 10min zu Fuß vom bekannten Flatiron Building entfernt. Die nächste Metro-Station ist 23rd St, Ecke Park Avenue (local 6 trains), ca. 5min zu Fuß; zusätzlich gibt es am Flatiron noch eine Station der gelben und orangen Linien. Für die Stadterkundung ist das Hotel daher eine gute Ausgangsbasis, da man recht schnell überall hinkommt und vieles auch noch zu Fuß erkunden kann, wenn man keine Probleme damit hat, auch mal 10 Blocks zu laufen. Das Hotelfrühstück kann man sich (zu dem Preis) auf jeden Fall sparen und sich für deutlich weniger Geld bei den Läden in unmittelbarer Umgebung eindecken. In den Zimmern gibt es kein kostenloses WLAN, in der Lounge im 10. Stock allerdings schon. Dort wird auch ganztägig Kaffee kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt, und die Dachterrasse bietet einen schönen Ausblick aufs Empire State Building. Die Mitarbeiter des Hotels sind freundlich und hilfsbereit, die Zimmer für New Yorker Verhältnisse recht groß, wenn auch nicht mehr die allerneuesten. Insgesamt ein guter Deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location but bad price/quality ratio

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Its convenient location to go up and downtown without too much hassle.
Cons: Cleanliness and design of the bathroom.
I had been to this hotel before and loved it for its convenient location and lovely staff. Three years later, those two things remained. The room is as comfortable as ever. However, not much light comes in as we got a room in the back. We were apparently upgraded but the room's window faced two other rooms, not much of the city could be seen. There is a pretty great 10th floor shared space but not worthy of a 4 stars hotel. Also, this might seem like an odd comment but as I had been to this hotel I was surprised: the bathroom was not nice at all, very plain, and slightly dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointed

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Room was very small, photo was deceiving. Whole hotel (halls, elevator, etc.) was unusually narrow and cramped. Air conditioner was not working, even after servicing, so room was hot an stuffy making it difficult to sleep! Sink plug didn't work and had to be unscrewed and taken out for sink to drain. No Bathtub, only shower (bummer). The cost of the things in the refrigerator (including bottled water) was astronomical, and it really adds insult to injury, to know your hotel sees your basic needs as a chance to price gouge (fact that a lot of hotels do this does not make it any less disturbing!), especially when the restaurant was out of service (which they did not let us know in advance) and nightly rate fairly high. So no, I would not return.