Ratings based on 2,951 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

convenient and clean

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Less noisy air con,better double glaze and breakfast expensive.
The hotel is convenient for shops and metro,abit noisy. Opt for higher and back rooms . The air cons are old and noisy ,which can be put on to deafen the outside noise of traffic and police cars.The staff are very polite and helpful . The terrace at the top is excellent place to have your own drink. The breakfasts are expensive at $18.00. Recommend the Bagel express opposite the hotel on the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Daughter Visit

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: elevators
Location: Great location, Gramercy Park is centered in a great shopping,eating and park areas. A beautiful part of NYC, and the weather is always perfect.
Our daughter lives in the area so the location is perfect. We have always enjoyed our stay, and I'm sure will be back. The 10th floor has really improved , and we enjoyed the patio area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by A Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Momma Bear, We are delighted to welcome you back and that you enjoyed your stay once again. We counting the days for your return. Thank you for being a loyal guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Solid and clean for excellent value. Parking deal too. 25/
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Ana L, Hotel Management
Greeting from the Marcel Hotel, Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay. We are delighted you had a memorable experience and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

good location, helpful staff at desk and doorman

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Mainly location, helpful staff, lunge area
Cons: Queen size beds
Location: Restaurants and shops nearby, within walking, were appreciated.
Pleasntly surprised. Location excellent, early check in was pssible, lounge very nice feature. Room a bit too small and would have apprecxiated a queen bed, a double is too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Ana L, Hotel Management
Greetings from The Marcel at Gramercy, Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a wonderful and memorable experience . We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do. We do have other room types that have king size and queen size bed. Please come back to visit us again and we will guarantee you a 5 stars experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minehead, UK

Lovely hotel, great location, great staff

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful
Cons: I feel for what is on offer breakfast was a little overpriced.
Location: Good location close to many attractions.
This is a lovely hotel in a great location in New York City. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The room I had was quite small and compact but comfortable for one person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Alopez, Hotel Management
Greetings from The Marcel at Gramercy, Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a wonderful and memorable experience . We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do. We do have other room types available that are more spacious. I'm sorry this time we were not able to upgrade your room. We do hope to welcome you back to our property. I will ensure a 5-STAR experience on your return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Clean hotel, good location, TINY rooms, respectful and nice staff, a bit noisy due to traffic,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by AL , Hotel Management
Greetings from The Marcel at Gramercy, Thank you for your review and I am glad you had a wonderful stay. We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do. Please note that we do have other type of rooms available that are more spacious. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. We will guarantee you a 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Smart well-sited hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The location of this hotel suited us perfectly being a few blocks away from family. This part of Third Avenue is pleasant with plenty of local facilities including some well-regarded restaurants and coffee houses. Union Square is nearby and accessing cross-town transport services is easy. The hotel is modest in size but quite smart and offers good value across the board. Our room was modern and well-equipped. Staff were extremely helpful at all times. The ability to order and print tickets and to check in online (for free) was much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Alopez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am glad you had a wonderful stay! We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do. We do hope to welcome you soon. We will ensure a 5-STAR experience on your return
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very bad experience

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I arrived at the hotel at midnight to check-in when the receptionist informed me that they have no electricity in my room and they have changed my reservation to a sister hotel in uptown "hotel ameritana". I have booked in this hotel because it was cery close to my car rental agency to return the car early morning and it's much closer to the airport. Part of the very bas experience is that they didn't bother to call or email this change so after driving for 5+ hours coming from Washington DC , i had to drive again for 30 more minutes , as well as losing more time in the morning to return my car!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Alopez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we apologized for the inconvenience of walking you to our sister property. Yes we should had called you before. This was a last minute emergency that happened and our team was working hard on rectifying the problem. We do hope you give us a second opportunity to welcome you soon. We will ensure a 5-STAR experience on your return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Small hotel clean and convenient

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location, quiet, roof deck.
Cons: Coffee could be better than single-serve package type.
Location: Gramercy, near Union Square. Not right on the park, however.
Stayed here for location, which was close to Union Square and within walking distance of Stuytown and East Village. Was clean, accommodating, reasonably priced. Small room, few frills, but fine for sleeping. Surprisingly nice "guest lounge" with OK coffee but great views from roof deck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by alopez, Hotel Management
Greetings Jazz from The Marcel at Gramercy, Thank you for your review and I am glad you had a wonderful stay! We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do. We do hope to welcoming you back to our hotel. We have other options for room type that are more spacious than the one you reserved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Md

Issues

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location, roof
Cons: See above
Air conditioner sounded like a freight train starting and stopping. People came 3 times to work on it finally replacing it so got one good night's sleep out of 3. Two times came back to the lobby hot, sweaty, and thirsty, but there were no cups anywhere to be found to be able to drink the cold water that was so nicely there in the lobby. Staff was nice but unable to solve the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by alopez, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and room product it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.