Ratings based on 2,902 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Stay!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I was really pleased with my stay. Great location, great nights sleep. Swanky furniture- Will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, JPD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Doorman,Mohammed,was unbelievably helpful. Maid was also very helpful. Only gave it a three for condition as the computer system created endless problems with check in and one of two elevators was not working the last day. The staff tried hard to help and gave a complimentary breakfast to make up for the check in problems. The staff were great and the hotel was a place I would be delighted to stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am glad you had a wonderful stay! We are so fortunate to have an outstanding team here who are very helpful and truly enjoys what they do like Mohammed. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in new york

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean and conveniently located
Cons: shower head
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, the staff were excellent and very hepful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, JPD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Nice modern hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, comfort of the room
Cons: Cant think of anything at the moment
Location: Situated very near Madison Square Park and near Union Square, Flatiron Building, Empire State Building, shops, restaurants, bars
The Marcel at Gramercy made our stay in New York perfect, the business centre on the 10th floor was very useful and nice to go onto the terrace to views of the Empire State building, liked the décor of our room and the common areas, found all the staff to be very pleasant. Nice touch having chilled water available in reception and on the 10th floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We were upgraded to a bigger room and were given a complimentary bottle of wine. Connosieres were very helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: not much
the hotel is very noisy, but they were without water and when it went back on, it was brown...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Cons: Clean the carpets in rooms
Location: Lots to do.,but no museums.
I will be very careful booking next time as we ended up with a double bed in a room the size of a closet. The kind person at front desk - even though they were booked was able to move us over to an equally tiny queen -
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fab location with helpful and friendly staff.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and is now always my first choice for New York visits. Emailed ahead and asked for a room with a view since it was my 8 year old son's first visit to the city and they kindly obliged with a view of the Empire State Building that he was thrilled with. Yes, rooms are small but only compared to other cities; for New York they are relatively spacious. The rooftop lounge is excellent with free wifi and tea/coffee/water. Can also bring food in here which we did on a couple of occasions for breakfast - good bagels one block away. Booked car through hotel for return to airport and left luggage all day without any problems. Staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Only a five minute walk from nearest subway and on line to Grand Central and Union Square so easy to get anywhere in city fast. Also an easy walk into East Village and Madison Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton GA

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We were in NYC visiting my daughter. The Marcel was a great place to stay, rooms were clean and nicely done. The staff was excellent and helpful. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
5 out of 5
by Vu

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great service!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.