Ratings based on 2,845 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton GA

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We were in NYC visiting my daughter. The Marcel was a great place to stay, rooms were clean and nicely done. The staff was excellent and helpful. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Washrooms way to small. Suitable for a midget. Good area but would look somewhere else next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by gm@marcelhotelnyc.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Perfect for a short stay in Manhattan. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and comfortable. Parking was affordable and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

8 out of 10

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Everything was good. Only negative thing is room and bathroom are really small
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, close

Posted Jan 24, 2017
From our greeting when we entered the hotel, I knew our stay would be great. Close location to shopping, restaurants, theater. The room was clean and comfortable. If you are not a sound sleeper, a bit noisy with street traffic. The roof top view was perfect. Kudos to an efficient, friendly, smiling staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by gm@marcelhotelnyc.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your return! We love team Marcel!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Needs a refresh

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice decor and clean rooms but they miss the mark by overlooking the details. I would not stay here again. My low rating is for the following reasons: - dingy wallpaper - scuffed cabinetry - poor patch job on broken shelf in bathrom - lobby smelled like a gas leak was present - poor insulation of rooms (.kept awake one night by loud yelling and banging from another room) Also the online pics are misleading. Pictures make hotel look spacious when actually it is very closed in and clostrophobic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
This is my 4th visit to this hotel and they have never failed to deliver. Excellent friendly staff, always a good morning from any you passed and nothing is too much trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by gm@marcelhotelnyc.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Merci Marcel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: great location, great views & great staff
Great hotel & really great service. The hotel staff helped out with some last minute requests that made the trip amazing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well Priced

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The Price, It was clean, great location
Cons: Staff could smilw
Location: Perfect location
The room was small, but priced well and met my needs
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Wonderful staff, clean room

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Had a great stay. Staff were friendly and offered suggestions. Room was renovated and clean. We personally didn't hear any train noise or our neighbors. Very central location. Only negative for us was that the room is pretty small - but that just means to get out and explore, not sit in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by JPD, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your time and thank you for choosing The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel.