Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Dec 27, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed the Mark. At check-in i was surprised by an upgrade and the suite was wonderful, comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect and well situated to walk to the upper east side, midtown and Central Park. i ate breakfast daily at the Jean-George restaurant and enjoyed every meal. I would definitely stay there in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not as Charming As it Used to Be

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Hotel and the Location
Cons: Service
This used to be my favourite hotel in New York and my only choice when I went there. I have been to this hotel over three times and before they used to provide great service and customer happiness. Nevertheless on my last visit, I was not happy of the staffs general attitude. It seemed as if though they started to not care as much about their clients anymore. For example, my fionces pyjamas went missing strangely and they just said it could have got mixed with sheets in the laundry, I got no response and no apology was even said. I hope they improve their service again as this is a great hotel with a great design and a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect except comfort of bed.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Cons: beds!!!
Outstanding except comport of bed, Ugh almost flawless.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsistent service at a high price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great location. Clean and comfortable room ( bed a little hard but shower great). Front door , front desk and room service inconsistent and thus not up to 5 star quality at 5 star price. Hotel service staff appears to be very present and attentive during bar and restaurant hours and less so at other times. Room service food excellent but service and delivery inconsistent. There are a lot of 5 star options at similar pricing that are better alternatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the location and relaxing room.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
We really wish we could have stayed here more than one day. It was great. We plan on going back and staying longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overpriced

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Nice location, good restaurant in the hotel, hotel staff
Cons: Rooms are small, our room carpet was dirty, bathroom need an update, sheets were harsh. Way overpriced...
Location: Great Shopping and restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, friendly staff but so disappointing!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The Mark is more like a 4 star hotel. The best thing about it is it's location on Madison Ave. You definitely do not get what you pay for. I called ahead to request early check in by 1:30pm instead of their usual 3:00pm, and our room was not ready until 4:30pm...unprofessional! We had to wait for hours so we had lunch at their Mark restaurant. It was supposed to be great given that it's by Jean Georges, but that was a huge disappointment, very average nothing special at all. The room I got was also disappointing for $650 no breakfast per night. They told me they had given me an upgrade but our room had a blocked view. All views are appearantly not nice. After being in the room another half hour, our bags were not yet sent up. I emailed ahead to request a hair appointment at their Frederic Fekkai salon in the hotel, they gave me an appointment pending on sending them my room number which I said I will send as soon as I check in. Once I checked in, I asked the concierge to notify them of my room number and he told me it was done. The next morning before my meeting I went to do my hair and they told me that I don't have an appointment, that I never sent them my room number! They were now full, I was stranded! Who didn't do their job also why didn't the salon simply call down to get my room number...unprofessional! They ended up sending me a couple of blocks away to another salon, where I ended up paying a rediculous $360 and was 20 min late to my meeting! Mgr. compt our lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful hotel, very well located, friendly staff and comfortable bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethany, OK

First time in NYC

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The staff was very helpful and friendly. They answered all our questions and helped us plan activities. Don't take the shuttle service through Expedia because they don't drop off passed 63rd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The Mark is a great hotel on the Upper East side o

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The intimate lobby, he fun bar, the Fredric Fekkai salon, the helpfulness of all of the staff.
Cons: Update some rooms maybe
Location: On the upper east side of NYC, there is excellent shopping. The hotel is on Madison Avenue.
Although I arrived at the hotel after 3PM, my room was not yet available. No one likes that. In fact there were other guests in the same boat. But, I only had to wait 15 minutes and o make up for it, the hotel bumped me to a better room type which was great. I had to do room service only and it was really really good!