Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

OK for biz trip

Posted May 12, 2017
It's quite a bit off the beaten path (94th and 2nd) and the neighborhood is on the verge of dodgy; but good if you are trying to beat the typically ridiculous NYC hotel prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Lisa , Hotel Management
Good afternoon John, Thank you for your recent stay at the Marmara. I truly appreciate your honest feedback. Our property is dated, however next year the hotel will go through renovations. The subway project is finally completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover, NH

Spacious rooms at reasonable price in upper Manhat

Posted May 10, 2017
Located right next to the new second avenue subway the Marmara has spacious suites with full kitchens. The subway makes it easy to get to midtown. The neighborhood-Carnegie Hill- is a real neighborhood with children and families. The hotel is close to shops and museums and a wealth of restaurants along 2nd ave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time for you refurbishment was yesterday

Posted May 4, 2017
The only attribute to this hotel was the room was spacious for New York City standards. Peeling paint, dated wallpaper, stained furniture, doors missing from cabinets, I felt like I was in the van Bandan room from the 1980s. I find me advertising for this hotel extremely misleading. Also the hallways were so dark and I was wondering what type of cosmetic scars they were hiding out there as well. Overall a creepy feeling and I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Massachusetts

Rare Upper ES Find

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Particularly liked the staff. No one seemed to be stressed.
Cons: Was a little stuffy.
Location: This is not a very happening neighborhood. But it is near the East River and Gracie Mansion, nice park, walking. Loads of restaurants.
This place feels more like an old-school NYC apartment building than a hotel. The staff was courteous, friendly, helpful, good-humored. I was given a free upgrade to a suite with a huge living room, full kitchen, ginormous TV, decorated in 1980s Grandmother Chic. The new Second Ave Subway is conveniently right outside the door. WiFi is free and nearby parking garages are much cheaper than midtown. It's old fashioned, but friendly and homey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious.
Views of city from room on this high floor were spectacular. Unfortuantely, the carpet was stained and room was in desperate need of a makeover. It was worn and tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice efficiency apartment right next to the new Q

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: I can't say enough about how nice and accommodating the staff was. The location was perfect for what we were there to do.
Location: Easy walk to Central Park and the museums. Nice neighborhood feel which was what we were looking for.
Our room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. We arrived a few hours early, but they allowed us to check in. The apartment was clean and neat and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the neighborhood with lots of small restaurants and stores. It was quite convenient to hop on the Q line and head downtown. We had a very nice experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great deal. So convenient. Spacious.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The location. The size of the room. Fast elevators.
Cons: A tiny crack of light came through the edges of the window shade in the morning. If you could get better fitted shades that would be nice.
Spotless rooms in a high rise right outisde the 2nd avenue subway. NY Times in the morning. Nicely appointed kitchen. Great space around bed with big closet and great selection of tv channels. It's about the cost of an Airbnb room in the same neighborhood, but rather than struggling to find a spot to put down your suitcase and wondering if you can use the milk in the fridge for your morning coffee, you have your own place and space! Housekeeping left the room beautiful after each day too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convinient Location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Sooth check in and check out process, staf very professional and friendly. Clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Huge suite in apartment hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Can walk to 5th Avenue museum mile (not a short walk, but quite doable). Adjacent to 2nd Ave. subway entrance, near cross-town bus.
For the price of a typical cramped hotel room in Manhattan, we had a suite with two bathrooms (!), stocked kitchen, dining areas, large bedroom, large living room. The living room and dining areas had a large expanse of glass with great views of the city. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Near many restaurants, pubs, cafes. Adjacent to 2nd Ave. subway entrance, which gets you to Times Square in 12 minutes, Penn Station in 15. The facility is fairly new, very clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. Free Wi-Fi worked well. There's no restaurant in the hotel, but the kitchen that comes with your room and the many nearby dining choices easily make up for this. There's a gym in the hotel, but we didn't have time to visit it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Terrible wall color in corridors. Feels like you are in a subway tunnel.