Ratings based on 2,950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bisley, Surrey, UK

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff (especially Henry the porter) and a great location for Times Square and Central Park. Thoroughly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

I booked Grand Suite, but they gave me another rm.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The price and hotel is 4 stars, but the customer service is only 2 stars.
Cons: No more cheating to customers in the future.
Location: Location is good, close to Time Square.
I stayed in Michelangelo for a week. It was good. But on November 27, 2016, I had a terrible experience in this hotel. In the morning of November 27, 2016 I went to the front desk, I told the front desk staff that I need the grand suite for a party. He checked it was available. He told me the price was $472. I asked him if it is as good as the picture on the website, he said it is the best and the only in Michelangelo. I gave him my credit card, he charged on my visa card. In the afternoon after 3pm, I checked in for the grand suite. When I opened the door, it was not the grand suite. It was not clean and small, not nice. I checked the with manager, James. He told me the grand suite was given to somebody else. No solution was given to me. At the last minute, I had to book a suite in the Chatwal hotel. It was a horrible experience. I don't understand how they could sell one room to many people. What they did to me made me feel we stayed in a wrong hotel for a week. In the future, I won't give them business any more. Very bad experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury?

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Service and amenities
Location: This was only real plus-located about halfway between Times Square and Rockefeller Center it was easy to walk places.
Would not stay there again. Very few amenities, asked for coffee pot in room and old one brought with no coffee or cups. Desk clerk not helpful in getting us a room with two beds. Room we had was so far off from elevators it was like running a maze. Friend took wrong turn several times. Had sliding doors in bathroom which were a pain to open and shut. Complimentary coffee in lobby for a couple of hours in morning but didn't start till 7 and stopped 9 or 10. $10 room allowance wasn't used since only $5 each and it would only buy a cup of coffee or juice each day. We could have stayed at a more modern hotel for less and been treated like we were valued guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.

Super

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Hotel tradicional, súper acogedor y con una ubicación privilegiada. El personal muy servicial y atento. Las habitaciones son espaciosas, cómodas y limpias. Tiene. Una decoración muy agradable. Súper recomendad!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, excellent service

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: Wifi speed
This is the second time we stay at the Michelangelo. My wife and I really like it. It is very well located, close to the main subway lines, and also to Central Park, where we love a morning run. The hotel is well appointed, has a very friendly staff, and our room was ver nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson, United States of America

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Great location, spacious and comfortable rooms, friendly and professional staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Great location, small and friendly feel about the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Most comfortable bed I ever slept in

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Room was comfy. Bathroom was outdated but bathtub was impressive. No complaints.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: location, friendly staff, beautiful decor
Cons: nothing
Location: near great theatre ,restaurants and shopping
We always stay at the Michelangelo. It is great!! We love the location since we go tho the theatre a lot. The staff always remembers us and is very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from crieff

Good choice

Posted Nov 26, 2016
If you want a hotel that is so central to the action then stay here. Very pleasant staff checked us in very quickly and room was big, well appointed, clean, with comfortable beds and very comfortable pillows. Just perfect after a hectic day and night in the city. You can see Radio City from the entrance and the theatre with School of Rock is less than 200 yards away. Ellen's Stardust Diner where Michael Portillo visited on his railway journey adventures is also just over a hundred yards away. The singing waiters and waitresses are fab and the food is most acceptable too. We will definitely come back to NY and most definitely will stay in the Michelangelo hotel when we do.