Ratings based on 3,086 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Nice and clean hotel, large room (for NYC standards), good value overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Tourists from the left coast enjoying Manhattan

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Food choices were lacking but a great wine bar made us forget.
Location: Easy walk to Times Square, Broadway shows, Subway, great restaurants all nearby.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was spotless and furnished with every need. Better yet was the royal treatment provided by staff. From hotel manager to doorman, each went out of their way to assist us in every way. On a rainy day the doorman insisted that we take a complimentary umbrella. The manager and desk folks were great. They were especially helpful with dinner reservations, tourist info., etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsbridge UK

Wife's 40th Birthday

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness , how comfortable it was , helpful and friendly staff location.
The rooms where very clean and comfortable . We had an amazing time only for it to be made better , by one man in particular Joseph . We had told the hotel that it was my wife's birthday , he gave us a room upgrade and on her birthday sent a bottle of Prosseco to our room . And when it was time to check out at noon you could leave your bags at the hotel . But when we asked Joseph what time we had to check out he said what time to you want to check out 3,4 or even 5 if we wanted . The hotel is on time square but far enough away from the hustle and bustle just 300 yards down the road . We would recommend this hotel and will go back if we ever go back to NYC . Mr and Mrs Wood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Close to the heart of the city

Posted May 4, 2017
We stayed in The Michelangelo for the first time and were excited: peaceful, quiet and very functional – a real boutique hotel. Internet, TV and showers were working smoothly. Our room was to the 7th Avenue and we were not disturbed by traffic. Friendly and long-term employees. After the 2nd day the concierge opened the door with a smile and mentioning our names. The maids did an excellent job. Inhouse Bar with real Italian coffee. Times Square and theaters can be reached in 5 minutes. A walk to 5th Avenue or Central Park doesn’t take longer than 10 Minutes. We are pleased to recommend this hotel and will return in fall. Congratulation to management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Tranquility in the midst of madness

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Very good location. Quiet ( although our room had nosiy air-con -it was quiet in all other areas). Comfortable bar/lounge. Nice decor. Clean.
Cons: The noise in room 731!
Location: Times square, Broadway theatres, Rockefeller Centre, Central Park etc all within walking distance
The Michelangelo is an elegant hotel around the corner from Times Square. We had a good sized room (room 731), facing a brick wall, with a very noisy air con system. We managed to sleep ok despite the noise - probably because we were exhausted! The receptionists were friendly and courteous. The lady who checked us in noticed it was my birthday when she checked my passport and when we returned to our room that evening there was a plate of complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries and a card which was very much appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Below expectations

Posted May 2, 2017
I opted for the Michelangelo to have peace of mind. I have been told by an Expedia agent it is a 5 star hotel so zero risks. It turned out it was a 4 stars hotel. I have found the room dusty and the bathroom greasy and hair on the floor. The night was terrible as there was a continuous noise coming from somewhere in the building, it was like you have a vacuum cleaner on continuously. What is more is that the air con system is too loud. Add to that that the bed was wobbly... Although the general setting was great, we had a terrible night. The manager was understanding and did apologize. He took the initiative of refunding me $35 covering the resort fees. I frankly appreciated but i thought it was not enough for such a terrible uncomfortable night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

We Will Come Back!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Great room, Exceptional staff & Fantastic location!
Cons: Since we are from Seattle, it was a little tough not having a coffee maker available in the room!
Location: The hotel is located in mid-town which makes it centralized to all things:Times Square, Broadway, The Rock, Central Park & much more...
The hotel staff was extremely courteous & friendly from the time of our arrival to our final departure. They provided us with great tips in making our first time trip to NYC a memorable experience. We enjoyed recommendations of off the beaten path restaurants, non tourist sight's and managing our way through the subway with ease! The hotel is in a great location, everything you want is within easy walking distance. The room was very comfortable and much larger than we expected. We want to thank the entire hotel staff for making us feel at home during our stay! (Names we recall include: Asha, Bernie, Henry & Caesar)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: location and manager
Location: times square , broadway
Stayed at this hotel 4 nights. It was wonderful. The hotel is walking distance to Times Square and Broadway musicals. Upon arrival we were allowed to check in a little early as my daughter was not feeling well after a long flight. The manager Marco was most very kind and considerate. We were there to celebrate two very special occasions, one being my daughter's 13 birthday. He arranged for balloons and treat to be sent to room. What a thoughtful detail. Vanessa at consignor desk was wonderful as well. Walter and Henry too. I felt safe and comfortable in this hotel. Plan on returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice but Noisy

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The hotel is very nice (location, service, room and setup in general). The problem is mainly the noise even when the air-condition is off. Ear plugs help somewhat but it still is annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Old World Charm...Unbeatable location...the friend

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location, room decor, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Sorry to see turn-down service go.
Location: Don't like the noisy crush of Times Square, Michelangelo is just far enough away to avoid that, yet easy walk to every B'Way Show and great restaurant
We're not "one-timers." We've been staying at the Michelangelo for over 15 years (several times a year,) In all that time it hasn't lost a step. the rooms are beautiful, and clean, clean, clean. The staff is unbelievably friendly from the doorman to the front desk staff, to the bellmen...all first rate, all first class. We'll continue to stay here each and every time we visit the city.