Ratings based on 1,251 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, not far from time square and Broadway.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Clean comfortable hotel close to many attractions, friendly staff,enjoyed our stay would recommend to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Teresa N., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We're delighted to hear you've enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Nice, quaint hotel. Close to our destination.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: I got a great deal on Expedia. Was just in for an evening for my daughter's college audition.
Location: Great restaurants, enjoyed Bare Burger.
Friendly, welcoming staff. We were only there overnight, but a nice, quick experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Emily N., Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback! I hope you had a fabulous time in NYC and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
The location is perfect as it is close to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, etc.; and more distant locations are easily accessible by public transportation. We found the room to be very clean and the personnel to be pleasant and accommodating. I think we have found our new favorite spot to stay in NYC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient towards many attractions and means of transportation while you explored the city. Thank you for finding our rooms clean. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff for the service they have provided you. We hope to welcome you back in a near future! Kind regards, Sylwia K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, ON

Great find

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, quiet room, great price.
Cons: I don't actually have any criticisms, loved this hotel.
Location: Close to everything - easy to walk to Central Park, Times Square, Broadway. Close to several subway options too.
Wonderfully unique hotel with a fantastic location. I couldn't have been happier with my experience, from the friendliness during my check-in, to the quiet comfort of my room. The hot drinks and morning cake in the lounge were appreciated as well. Definitely a great find and I would love to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Gillian, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Moderne Hotel with your fellow travelers. Your wonderful compliments of our guest lounge, rooms, location and customer service are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time! Kind regards, Sylwia K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome staff and great location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Staff's attitude, bed, bath robe and bath products, shower and location.
Cons: Make sure the heater/air conditioning works properly before assigning the room.
Location: Great location near all the hot spots.
I never write reviews but I owe it to the staff to take the 2 minutes to say that they made my experience amazing. From the first moment they were super friendly, and not in a fake way. Their positive and accommodating attitude was genuine - very rare to see these days. When the heater was not heating the room properly they had a guys come at 3 am to fix it. He wasn't able to but they moved me quickly to another room. And when I called them several hours after I had checked out because I had forgotten a business brochure that my client gave me in confidence, they actually found it (even though they already had guests in the room). At any other hotel, the brochure would have been thrown as the brochure looked like any other promo magazine. Another thing that I loved is that they have an awesome lounge that is open 24 hours and you can get single serve coffee, tea, hot chocolate and even cappuccinos. The rooms are small and do not have a view but the bed is super comfy. Love the shampoo/conditioner - Bigelow brand. I almost always use my own but theirs were better. I almost purchased their bath robe - soooooo good. And of course - the location cannot be beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for a stellar review! I am pleased to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations during your time with us! I will be sure to pass on your compliments to them for the service they have provided you. We appreciate that you enjoyed our guest lounge and found our location convenient. We hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, but nice hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Need a gym
Location: Between theater district and Central Park. Can walk easily to several theaters and Times Square.
Hotel was very small, but rooms were clean and the facilities were nice. The lounge on the second floor was nice with fresh fruit each day and automated coffee maker (not a Keurig, but some fancier type that you can brew all kinds of things including espresso). Staff was awesome. We had two issues in our room (heater and tripped breaker). Service person was there within 5 minutes and was able to fix the issues immediately. In other hotels we've had to wait 30-45 mins for service. Robbi at the front desk is awesome! Great attitude and certainly wanted to help. Overall, nice hotel, and we would have no problems staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Darrin, Thank you for your stellar review! We appreciate that you found our location convenient and our staff accommodating during our time with us. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to them for the service they have provided. If you decide to stay with us in future, you have complimentary access to the gym located in our sister property (Ameritania Hotel) no more than a block away from us. Again thank you for your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
This is our second time staying here and we love it. It's close to Times Square and Columbus circus. Staff are great and the rooms are lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moderne Hotel with your fellow travelers. Your wonderful compliments of our rooms, location and customer service are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time! Sylwia K. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You won't be disappointed.

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. For the price, location, and hospitality, you will not find one the same as the Moderne. Amazing staff know their stuff and are very helpful. Great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! From the looks of your review, you truly did enjoy your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our entire Team, and they are all appreciative!! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Sylwia K. Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Very close to Broadway shows, and Times Square. Area is very easy to walk, with many things to do.
The front of the hotel needs better lighting, or signage. It`s very easy to walk by. Staff was kind and friendly. They had issues with the elevator during our stay, and we had to take the stairs to our room on seventh floor. This seemed to have happened a few times before. Coffee and tea are served in 2nd floor lounge, along with fruit, and coffee cake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you found our location convenient towards many attractions within walking distance. We are happy to hear that our staff has provided you excellent service throughout your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our guest lounge. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with regards to our elevator. We hardly have any issues with it being functional and are sorry to hear that this happened during your stay.