Ratings based on 1,224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Der Service war super nett und hilfsbereit. Bei Abreise konnten die Koffer ohne Gebühr untergestellt werden, bis der Transport zum Flughafen zur Abholung kam.
Cons: Leider sah man dem Schreibtischstuhl starke Gebrauchsspuren an, die nach einem Austausch riefen. Zudem löste sich nahe des Fensters (mit Ausblick auf eine Wand) schon leicht die Tapete. Trotz allem waren dies Mängel über die man leicht hinwegsehen kann, daher nur 1 Punkt Abzug.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der 55th Straße, zu Fuß sind in wenigen Gehminuten Central Park, Subway Stationen und der Times Square zu erreichen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you found our location convenient during your time in New York. I am pleased to hear that our staff provided you excellent service. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to them. Again thank you for your review. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FRANCE Pyrénées Orientales

Accueil formidable. Chambre & calme. Le top !

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: La situation exceptionnelle de l'hôtel. L'amabilité du Personnel, très agréable, souriant et professionnel. La taille, le calme et les équipements de la chambre. Le petit plus avec une salle de repos toute équipée (coin canapé, coin restauration, machine à boissons chaudes, savoureux cakes chaque matin) très sympathique et utile. Le top !!!
Cons: La pluie new-yorkaise peut-être, mais l'hôtel n'y est absolument pour rien !
Location: Situation exceptionnelle : proximité de Brodway/Times Square, Columbus Circle/métro/Central Park, 6th & 5th Ave (avec le MOMA, le TOR, etc...).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Sev66, We appreciate your 5 out of 5 review! Thank you for finding our location convenient towards many local attractions within walking distance. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our guest lounge and found our rooms very comfortable. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff for the excellent service they have provided you. If you may, we humbly request that you share your feedback on TripAdvisor. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future. We promise to make the rain stop on your next visit:) Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Very close to Broadway shows, and Times Square. Area is very easy to walk, with many things to do.
The front of the hotel needs better lighting, or signage. It`s very easy to walk by. Staff was kind and friendly. They had issues with the elevator during our stay, and we had to take the stairs to our room on seventh floor. This seemed to have happened a few times before. Coffee and tea are served in 2nd floor lounge, along with fruit, and coffee cake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you found our location convenient towards many attractions within walking distance. We are happy to hear that our staff has provided you excellent service throughout your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our guest lounge. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with regards to our elevator. We hardly have any issues with it being functional and are sorry to hear that this happened during your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent personal service, great location!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
This hotel is in a great location and the service was faultless! Robbi on the front desk was friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful! I think the rooms are a great size for central Manhattan and the bed was comfy and huge. Cleaning done every day, including towels and linen. Only downside is that the breakfast we thought was included was only hot and cold drinks 24hrs in the guest lounge and cake and fruit in the morning. This didn't bother us though as we only really wanted to grab a coffee and get out and about. Excellent overall, would definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your 5 out of 5 feedback! Thank you for finding our location convenient throughout your stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our guest lounge. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Robbi for the service he has provided you. Again thank you for your review and we appreciate that you would recommend us to your fellow travelers. Kind regards, Sylwia K. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

타임스퀘어에서 가까운 호텔

Posted Oct 25, 2016
괜찮은 가격에 깔끔한 호텔입니다. 첫날 침구에 뭔가 묻어있어서 프론트에 얘기했더니 새벽임에도 불구하고 싹 갈아줬습니다. 여기저기서 다 가깝습니다.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate it! Thank you for mentioning our excellent location and great price. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Kind regards, Sylwia K. Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire uk

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: No views at all from the food window
Location: Perfect location for walking to Central Park, Times Square and all midtown with plenty of bars,diners and restaurants nearby
Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and all were throughout our stay. The guest lounge is comfortable and great for coffee and cakes. The best part is the location next to Broadway with loads of diners close by and very central to travel the city Hotel rooms were modern and clean with a very large comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient to numerous attractions throughout the city. I am also pleased to hear that our staff has provided you exceptional service. You can be assured that I will pass on your compliments to them. Again we appreciate your review. Kind Regards, Sylwia K. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Motherwell, Scotland

Wee gem in a great location!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Staff and the location
Cons: Just the location of the safe.
Location: Very good location - a five minute walk from Times Square, Hell's Kitchen and Columbus Circle! Very close to the subway network. Very quiet at night
We were delighted with our stay at the Moderne. All the staff were great and very welcoming. We felt we were in safe hands. Our room was 'compact and bijoux' but perfectly adequate for our needs. The bed was so comfy! We really appreciated the use of the guest lounge on the second floor and we were pleased that our family and friends were welcome to use this facility as well even although they were staying elsewhere! Only small critique - could you please put the safe on a shelf - difficult to use on the floor, especially if you have problems getting up and down! We would highly recommend the Moderne to anyone who is looking for a good value hotel, with good staff in an excellent location. Thank you for making our stay so special - and for acknowledging our wedding anniversary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, We highly appreciate your review. Thank you for finding our accommodations comforting throughout your stay. We are also pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and that you found our location convenient towards many attractions within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downingtown PA

Great stay in NYC! Great Location!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, updated rooms.
Cons: Nothing - this place is great!
Location: Perfect Location!! Everything is nearby!! The bar that inspired the "How I Met Your Mother" tv show is RIGHT across the street - for fans of the show
This is really a great hotel to stay in New York City. It has a perfect location, within walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, etc. The hotel is clean, updated, and the staff is fantastic! There is a parking garage right next door, and they have a special rate with the hotel. There was a mini fridge in the room, and updated bathroom. Reading the other reviews, I knew exactly what to expect - the room is small, yes - but it is NYC. There is no view out the window - but why would you stay in the hotel room instead of going out and about in the city?! It is a perfect spot to stay - and they have a nice guest room with a really fancy coffee machine (free) on the second floor lounge that overlooks the street. I have no complaints and only compliments for this place!!! We will definitely stay on our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Brian, We highly appreciate your 5 out of 5 rating! Thank you for finding our location convenient towards many local and famous attractions within walking distance. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodations enjoyable during your stay. Again thank you for the 5 out of 5 review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Small & Simple But Comfortable

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The bed. The second floor lounge. The location. The staff.
My boyfriend & I took a red eye from LAX to Newark. We arrived at our hotel, exhausted, around 11am. Without even asking we were checked in early & sent to our room within minutes. The room was a little smaller than we expected but it still had everything we needed. The bed was super comfortable. After walking around the city all day we'd collapse into it at night & just sink into the comfy pillows & bedding. At first we thought there was no window which was kinda weird. We ended up finding one behind a decorative wall hanging but we were facing the side of another building so there was really no point in looking out. I'm not sure if other rooms had windows but that's really the only thing we were missing. The second floor lounge was helpful in that it had coffee & water. We drank plenty of both. The staff was very friendly, giving us directions when we needed them & new keys when ours stopped working. It's so easy these days, the second a key comes into contact with a phone, it's done. The location was great - a half a mile from Times Square & Central Park. There was a subway stop about 5 minutes away that we used often & a CVS around the corner when we needed supplies. All in all, I would recommend The Moderne.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Tiffany, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you earlier than our check in time considering your red eye flight. We appreciate that you found our accommodations comforting after your long flight. I am pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming during check in and that you found our location convenient towards many attractions within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Castel Maggiore (BO)

Ottimo hotel in ottima posizione.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Ottimo hotel soprattutto per rapporto qualità prezzo rispetto al resto di Midtown. Camere molto spaziose. E anche molto apprezzabile la lounge room aperta 24/24 con te caffè e acqua fresca e torte la mattina. Unica pecca forse il troppo rumore intorno ma a New York penso sia quasi impossibile trovare una zona "tranquilla". Molto bene anche il personale alla reception sempre disponibile a dare suggerimenti su luoghi da visitare o dove mangiare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sylwia K., Hotel Management
Dear Marco, We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for finding our property at a great value and our amenities comforting during your time in New York City. We appreciate your compliments regarding our guest lounge.