Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Decatur, IN

Treated like royalty every moment of our stay!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: I wish could have written more above about the staff but I will just say here again what amazing they are!
Cons: I cannot think of a single thing! I wish Id have been better at asking their names so I could compliment them personally here!
Location: Location is perfect, you are close to Times Square but far enough away that its quiet and as 'unbusy' as you can get in Midtown.
I could go on and on about the hotel, our room, the amenities but instead I just want to focus on the people that work at The Peninsula Hotel in NY. The moment we arrived our doors were opened and our luggage was whisked away to our rooms. The doormen almost fought to get the door for my wife and I. We got inside and they were immediately helping us find our way to check-in. We got through that and the person at the front desk personally took us up to our room and showed us around. He left and then our bags arrived and the gentleman doing that chore bent over backwards making sure all our bags had arrived and asked where we wanted all 3 of them and deposited them around the suite. When he left the housekeeping service was at the door making sure we didnt find any issues with the room. It went on like this all weekend. We'd leave for the evening and no matter what time we came back the bed had been turned down and the room tidied up. I have to say that our favorite person was the doorman or door staff person, not sure what they are called these days. He not only knew us by name but was always ready to ask us where we were going this time as we headed out on one of our 'adventures' and he was more than willing to help us with directions. You might say sure, they did all this because they wanted a tip...and you might be correct BUT they never acted like they did it for any other reason than they just liked doing their jobs and really cared about taking care of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in NYC, ever.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is our fourth stay, this time with our 6 year old. Just the very best, without being over the top stuffy. Really good service all the way around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for making The Peninsula New York, your home away from home. We look forward to your fifth stay with us very soon. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Best of NY

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Service, room setting
Cons: door knobs are wiggly
Location: it is in the heart of the fifth avenue, 4 blocks from central park and shopping all around
Outstanding service, in the best location possible: the fifth avenue. Hotel facilities are top of the line, while the restaurant is not a three star venue it serves its purpose. Salon de Ning Bar offers very nice views of the NY Skyline. Staff is attentive and very serviceable, rooms extremely well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear R, We appreciate your detailed positive review of your visit to The Peninsula New York on Expedia. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Verrrry comfortable

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Staff was super attentive. Room was spotless. Bed and pillows were the best ever!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear awesome, We are delighted that you had a good night's sleep at The Peninsula New York. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was excellent.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Stayed one night for a show. Should have extended our stay. The hotel was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again and stay longer at The Peninsula New York. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills, CA

over rated and over priced, older hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: the location is great
I will not stay inThe Peninsula New York in future , I used the SPA couple of times and each time the person in charge rushing me to go back to the room because the spa was closing at 10 PM
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry for your rushed experience at The Peninsula Spa which has been addressed. Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We just returned from a 2 nights stay. It was simply amazing. Check in was a breeze and we were taken to our room which I thought was good but not over the top. My feelings quickly changed throughout our stay as the staff and service were nothing short of amazing! I'm not sure if it was because of the holiday season but the staff treated my 1 year old like a princess. When the crib was brought up she was given her own robe and slippers, baby toiletries, and complimentary tub toys and a stuffed animal. When we went downstairs to exit the hotel my daughter was offered a tour of their candy shop all complimentary! I've travelled to many places and never seen this kind of service. I will definitely be returning. 5 stars all the way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Friendly staff, excellent location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
My daughter and I had a lovely time at the Peninsula Hotel. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. There is definetely room for improvement though. The spa closed @ 9:30pm every night so we never got to use that amenity whatsoever which was really disappointing to us. We were out and about town so by the time we returned to the hotel it was closed. That was very disappointing to us. Also there is no coffee maker in the room so we couldn't fix ourselves a hot cup in am or pm nor fix hot tea. The hotel should offer a complimentary continental breakfast in the Gotham Lounge but they don't. It's an old hotel and kept up nicely but I think they could do better with updating it a bit. The location is the best part of it...incredibly close & walking distance to all the city highlights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Perfect location, to walk around. The staff -super

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: bathrobes
Location: All the sights on fifth, which was magical at Christmas time! Also easy to access the theaters.
Everything was wonderful. If I had to criticize, the only thing I would say that the bathrobes were hard and not comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peg, Thank you for your review of the superior service and product of The Peninsula New York on Expedia. We hope you will visit us again in the not-so-distant future. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

An awesome place to stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The location of this hotel is awesome. Just off 5th avenue you have shopping, 2 blocks from Central Park, and not far from the subway!
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is beyond the hotels control which would be the nearby construction (Dec. 2016) which is typical for NYC.
Location: Central Park is 2 blocks north. Plaza Hotel 2 blocks north, Apple Store 2 blocks north, Lots of shopping on 5th avenue.
We visited NYC during the Thanksgiving Day Weekend. This hotel was absolutely perfect! We literally walked down the block and we were right along the parade route within 5 minutes. The night before we were able to get a pedicab to take us to the balloon inflation which was within walking distance of the hotel. From the moment we arrived at the Peninsula we were treated kindly and welcomed. The manager asked us about our stay, gave us tips for NYC, and walked us to the elevator. The man who brought our bags up was friendly, answered our questions and made us feel very comfortable. Throughout our stay, various staff members from the front desk, concierge, bell men, etc. knew us and asked us how our visit was going. Our room didn't have a view, but New York has so many things to do that we didn't miss out! The room was very clean, had mood lighting, and a nice and reasonable mini bar. The bathroom was very clean with a tub/shower, nice sized vanity and plush robes. While our room wasn't large, it was very clean, the bed was nice, and we had just what we needed for an enjoyable stay! The location of this hotel was perfect for us! We could walk around the corner for 5th avenue shopping, a couple of blocks north for Central Park, a nice walk from Broadway, and easy access to the subway. This really is an awesome place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to provide for the guests. I will choose this hotel to stay at again when visiting!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steph, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay on Expedia. We are happy you had the opportunity to enjoy both New York City and your accommodations. We look forward to your next stay, hopefully in the not-so-distant future. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager