Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Perfect Location - Most comfortable bed!!

Posted May 23, 2017
We had such an amazing stay here, this hotel was over the top and incredibly comfortable!! Super clean and awesome rooftop patio for delicious drinks, we LOVED our stay here and would stay again, so Central to everything too!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great hotel and location!

Posted May 16, 2017
Cons: I requested thinner pillows on numerous occasions (couldn't sleep with the regular room pillows), but they never came.
Ideal hotel for for walking, shopping and restaurants. lose to all important places to visit when in NYC.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Angelo, Thank you for being a guest of The Peninsula New York. We do have a variety of pillows to offer guests to make them more comfortable. Your preference can be noted in your profile to ensure that you are accommodated on all of your future stays with us. We hope you visit us again soon. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Kiddy corner to Trump tower

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Very luxurious setting with a spectacular bathroom. I loved the tub and could not pass up an opportunity to soak.
Cons: Unfortunately the current environmental circumstances can't be changed
Beautiful majestic hotel right in the middle of 5th Ave. The hotel and all of its amenites are over the top but the current barricades and security of the surroundings is disconcerting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, We are sorry the Presidential Visit of May 4th distracted from your stay at The Peninsula New York as our hotel is in the vicinity of his residences. We hope you will be our guest again during normal circumstances. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Elegant, comfortable and central

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Location, service, room comfort
Cons: Lobby is small/ nonexistent but that is an architectural feature that cannot be changed
Location: On Fifth Avenue and 55th Street. Cannot ask for better proximity to major NYC attractions. Nearest subway station is two blocks south on Fifth Avenue
Compared to other Peninsulas around the world the New York Peninsula is relatively small and lacks a grand lobby. Reception area is likewise small and located on mezzanine which requires walking up the stairs. There is an elevator and staff eager to take your luggage but still it might be a mild hassle for people with walking difficulties. Staff however is otherwise super professional, helpful and quick to please you in any way. Our room was impeccably clean, comfortable and decorated in a timeless classical style. Marble floor bathroom was surprisingly large and offered separate tub, shower and toilet, the latter two behind separate doors. I should also mention perfect sound proofing (our windows faced busy Fifth Avenue), large flat screen TV, business desk complete with a printer, quiet, efficient A/C and comfortable pillows. Overall the hotel is classy, cozy and very functional. If you hate packed elevators and crowds milling around in he lobby this Peninsula is certainly a good choice. One note of caution: the hotel is only several hundred feet from Trump Tower so Police barriers and extra security measures may be a hassle on certain days. Overall, the New York Peninsula lives up to its international standard and reputation and I wouldn't hesitate to return any time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for providing your detailed feedback of your experience at The Peninsula New York. We appreciate your many observations on the architecture of our Beaux-Arts era landmark hotel but more importantly, we are delighted to have provided you the superior service our guests have come to expect from The Peninsula Hotels brand. We look forward to you being our guest again. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Things gone awry

Posted May 1, 2017
The bathroom door fell apart, electrical outlets went out at midnight had to call an engineer, the bathroom television didnt work until an engineer came, and there must have been a pet before us; terrible allergies and they still didnt exchange rooms or somehow compensate
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry that your stay was not as seamless as it should have been. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to discuss your stay further by contacting our offices. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location and amazing fitness room, nice pool and great views! The food is just ok- and very expensive for the quality. But to be honest- there are so many great places to eat right outside the door- I can overlook the food and give it 4 stars. Every staff person I met was incredibly friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Peninsula New York on Expedia. At the Peninsula, it the relationships established with our staff that we value most. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable, please do let us know. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern England

Very expensive drinks and food.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Staff , room very clean,and good location.
Cons: Reduced prices on food and drinks,then people might go back here after a day in the city.
Location: Good access to lots of sightseeing places.
A good hotel in a great position in the city with very attentive staff. However prices of food and drinks here are exorbitant!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Monica, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We were happy to have you as our guests and delighted to have meet your expectations. While there may be concerns of the cost of food and beverages at our hotel, it is in line with the Five-star hotels in the area and within New York City. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you return to The Peninsula New York in the near future. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, worthy of 5 stars

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Perfect location, within walking distance of Central Park, Times Square, right on 5th ave. Staff was outstanding and extremely helpful catering to our every need. I would definitely recommend staying here as we will be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Phatboogie, Thank you for being our guests and for reviewing your experience on Expedia. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation! Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest

Elegant alcove amidst the exciting energy of NYC

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Sincerely everything.
Location: Perfect location within walking distance of 80% of what you want to see and do in NYC.
Simply stated, old world elegance and service with the appropriate contemporary touches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your experience at The Peninsula New York on Expedia. While we are proud of our classic product, it is the superior service that we provide that we value the most. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Lovely hotel right on 5th Avenue

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were all very polite, friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, either just outside or within the hotel itself.
Location: Hotel was in the center of everything. 20 minute walk to the Empire State Building, 5-7 minutes to Central Park. Could not have had a better location!
We had the best time. The trip was a surprise for my husband's 30th and I was very impressed with the location, the attentiveness of the staff and the general atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emma, We are happy that you chose The Peninsula New York to celebrate your spouse's special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted to have left you with fond memories of your stay and hope there are many more great occasions for you to visit our hotel again. Kind regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager